We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
16
43
25
23
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
43
25
23
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bar private parking a stones throw rump steak hotel is in a great location listed building star hotel roast dinner big room lovely atmosphere short stay single room train station full english breakfast visiting rochester graduation
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We booked this planned two night stay by phone and no mention was made of any disruption at the hotel. We arrived to find the ground floor is a building site. Five or six workmen,pulling the place apart plastering,knocking walls down,sawing,hammering,painting. Dust and dirt everywhere and lots of safety issues. The whole place really does need renovating and cleaning and refurbishment but not while I' paying £70 a night. We refused to stay I the first bedroom we were offered,the bathroom smelled of mould and damp. The room we stayed in smelled of air freshened. To get to the dining room this morning was an obstacle course over builders' materials and rubble. The food was carried through all this with dust and dirt falling on it. We checked out!

Room Tip: Don't go there please!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Upon arrival we were allocated Room 10, which was dated, but nicely presented. The shower was only a trickle despite the impressive looking shower head! Upon pointing this out to the very pleasant Duty Receptionist, she inspected the shower for herself and disappeared to get someone (who it later transpired was a waiter!) He stated the shower did work, to which we had to agree, but only trickled sufficiently to fill an egg-cup in 3 minutes!!! Eventually we were moved to Room 14 which was much better, but still had cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, broken sash windows, chipped furniture and was also very dated in decor. However, both rooms were at the back of the hotel and were therefore quiet.
Other family members were also staying for the same week-end and upon inspection of their rooms, numbers 1 and 2, I was surprised to see the large size and slightly better furniture, although there was a lot of noise from the street below.
We did not eat at the hotel, apart from breakfast which was delicious on Saturday morning, but not quite so good on Sunday morning. What appeared to be the senior waiter on Saturday was friendly, cheerful and helpful. The Sunday waiter did not appear to want to be at work, but was OK.
At only £70 per night per room, it was a value hotel for the area and the proximity of The Corn Exchange where we had all attended on the Saturday night for a family wedding. It was also opposite Rochester Cathedral and Castle which are well worth a visit whilst in the area.
The hotel needs a lot of TLC and a bit of money spent on it and it could be a lovely old place. The restaurant advertises itself as a steak house and we did observe quite a few diners so it may be alright as a restaurant, but lets itself down as an hotel.
Would only stay again if another family occasion was held locally and accommodation was necessary.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel, although smaller and dated, appeared to be quieter than those at the front. Rooms 10 and 14 were personally experienced and room 14 was the better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We managed to get the price down to £50 and to be honest I wouldn't of paid £20 a night the place is pure dirt throughout a lot of the rooms don't have cold water two of the rooms that share a bathroom are basically broom cupboards some of the staff are very rude and ignorant would advise to AVOID

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mucky187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Had a great one night stay at this hotel. The decor is vintage but I felt this gave the hotel a great atmosphere. The hotel was clean, as was the room and the bathroom. We thought the breakfast was great, with a range of options. The staff were also friendly. Really didn't understand the hugely negative reviews!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The best bed had experienced for a long time (including the one at home!), great mattress and crisp wholesome sheets. So a fantastic nights sleep. The room could have done with a deep clean, the remotes were filthy, the tv unfathomable and surfaces in the room and ensuite were clearly left out of the cleaning schedule. Repairs had been botched. The hotel was a mix of old style charm and later incompatible additions. Electrical sockets need a serious overhaul, floppy contacts in several plugholes, cracked and wobbly, metal box fitted proud of the wall when it should have been set into the wall (is this safe?) When the breakfast coffee ran out we had to use sachets of instant as the waiter wouldn't brew any more and the food was poor, tinned tomatoes with ?vinegar added to make them keep, inedible sausages, nice kippers though! The place needs better management to make it run more efficiently. I would stay again though on account of location and good beds. The castle and Thames estuary are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews