We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
16
42
25
23
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
42
25
23
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bar roast dinner roast potatoes private parking a stones throw rump steak hotel is in a great location listed building star hotel big room lovely atmosphere short stay single room train station full english breakfast visiting rochester graduation
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night at this hotel we had what was meant to be a full english, lets just say i dont even think a homeless person would be impressed.it was disgusting.most of the staff were lovely apart from one, the rooms were abit dirty n thrown together the lamps were stuck back together with glue it was dusty the phone was filthy.i would not recommend this place especially not for FOOD.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jemma26041985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Gordon house hotel on Saturday night. The welcome we received was friendly and all staff were equally helpful and friendly during our stay. The room was well maintained and in a quiet location which was nice compared to some other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folkydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having read some of the past reviews we nearly cancelled but decided that as the hotel is in such an excellent position we would take a chance. Thank goodness we did. It is true that the decor is a little tired but that is more than made up by the charm of the staff. We had extremely comfortable beds and a large sunny room. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble - on the Sunday night we were very late coming in and the restaurant was closing - but in the owner's words - "your comfort is our top priority" - we only expected to get sandwiches but got a full roast - freshly cooked! Some of the reviews have been unkind and scathing - I wonder what people expect for £70 per night, 2 stars. Thank you all for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rochester is a vibrant city so the front of the hotel can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Having stayed in this hotel several years ago my recent visit was a total pleasant surprise, the whole of the hotel has been totally refurbished to a very high standard. The reception area and bar was extremelly well done and made for a pleasant evening if one wanted a quite night in away from what can be a very lively high street, especially at weekends.
I enjoyed eating in the period decorated restauraunt and the food was of a high standard with very pleasant waiter service.
The bed room was tastefully decorated and very very comfortable including quality bed and furniture.
I would recommend a re-visit from anyone who has previously stayed and were not overly impressed i can assure you the transformation is one of sure surprise. an eccellent place to stop wether on buisness or pleasure

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are a lot quieter and are recommended if stopping at weekend with children
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Mc572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Great Ale for Sweeps festival had a great time. Not a folk person but I enjoyed the music.
I will start selecting Ale from now on. great section from all over Kent.

The staff were very nice, excellent location from the city.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BLACKSTARSOFAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews