We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be deceived at the Gordon house hotel”
Review of Gordon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When booking this hotel I did know this was only a 2 star hotel but proceeded anyway as the location in Rochester was absolutely spot on for the wedding we were attending in the town. Firstly we arrived at the rear of the hotel entering through the rear security controlled door left wide open for anyone to gain access. Walking through corridors that were dark and dirty looking finally arriving at the modern updated reception and bar area .I admit that seeing this I was more encouraged and maybe it was going to be better than first impressions . Eventually getting to our room, again your heart sank we couldn't get into it as the bathroom door behind had swung open and jammed to the back of the main door because it had no locking mechanism. The room had obviously seen a heck of a lot of use and abuse ,thread bare carpets cobwebs hanging form the ceiling and where your complimentary tea /coffee biscuits were stationed well let's just say it wasn't in the cleanest of conditions. As for the bathroom the toilet seat rocked from side to side and the shower would only deliver freezing cold water how ever it was set. 1 point to make the bed linen was clean although the under sheet was obviously a bit small for it and the bed was actually reasonably comfortable. As for breakfast the restaurant was very grubby food remnants on the floor from the previous nights function. My impression of it was as if i was Oliver twist and i would be asking for more food please sir but when i received it after a very long wait I am glad I didn't the food was really rank.
A lonely sausage that looked as if it was anaemic 1 piece of bacon if that's what you can call it the cheapest baked beans (tasteless ) 4 tiny slices of mushrooms and 1 tinned tomato that looked as it had seen better days oh must not forget the toast as my wife nearly wet herself laughing as It made so much noise when chewing it (obviously been reheated a few times ) so in summing up my visit to such a well placed hotel it really could do with a major refurbishment.it is in a wonderful location but because of all the bad points listed I don't believe the should be charging the rates they do.

Room Tip: Go a little further out of Rochester town and stay some where more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night at this hotel we had what was meant to be a full english, lets just say i dont even think a homeless person would be impressed.it was disgusting.most of the staff were lovely apart from one, the rooms were abit dirty n thrown together the lamps were stuck back together with glue it was dusty the phone was filthy.i would not recommend this place especially not for FOOD.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jemma26041985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Gordon house hotel on Saturday night. The welcome we received was friendly and all staff were equally helpful and friendly during our stay. The room was well maintained and in a quiet location which was nice compared to some other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folkydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having read some of the past reviews we nearly cancelled but decided that as the hotel is in such an excellent position we would take a chance. Thank goodness we did. It is true that the decor is a little tired but that is more than made up by the charm of the staff. We had extremely comfortable beds and a large sunny room. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble - on the Sunday night we were very late coming in and the restaurant was closing - but in the owner's words - "your comfort is our top priority" - we only expected to get sandwiches but got a full roast - freshly cooked! Some of the reviews have been unkind and scathing - I wonder what people expect for £70 per night, 2 stars. Thank you all for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rochester is a vibrant city so the front of the hotel can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Having stayed in this hotel several years ago my recent visit was a total pleasant surprise, the whole of the hotel has been totally refurbished to a very high standard. The reception area and bar was extremelly well done and made for a pleasant evening if one wanted a quite night in away from what can be a very lively high street, especially at weekends.
I enjoyed eating in the period decorated restauraunt and the food was of a high standard with very pleasant waiter service.
The bed room was tastefully decorated and very very comfortable including quality bed and furniture.
I would recommend a re-visit from anyone who has previously stayed and were not overly impressed i can assure you the transformation is one of sure surprise. an eccellent place to stop wether on buisness or pleasure

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are a lot quieter and are recommended if stopping at weekend with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Mc572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Great Ale for Sweeps festival had a great time. Not a folk person but I enjoyed the music.
I will start selecting Ale from now on. great section from all over Kent.

The staff were very nice, excellent location from the city.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BLACKSTARSOFAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This place is not to be missed. The owners and staff make this a really enjoyable stay. The rooms have a character all of their own and the recently refurbished reception area and hallway make for an eye opening welcome. If the owners could update the bathrooms in the same manner then perfection would be achieved. Situated in the most ideal location within the Medway towns this hotel boasts great tourist attractions on its doorstep as well as being close to some superb restaurants. Talking of the latter, for those keen on far eastern cuisine, you must try the Singapora Lounge about one hundred yards away for a taste senstion. Nim the chef is master of his craft. The hotel has a lovely quiet and snug bar, ideal for romantic evenings. Beds are amazingly comfortable and breakfast is fit for a king. The owner is a doctor by profession but there is no need for any fixing here. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Take a four poster and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoolyMOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.4 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
333 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
1.7 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House Hotel

Address: 91 High Street, Rochester ME1 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: £73 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gordon House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rochester Hotel providing accommodation for Kent, Medway and Maidstone. Our Rochester hotel accommodation is perfectly situated for those wishing to visit Kent, Maidstone or Medway. You can visit the many antique centres, art and curio shops or Rochester Castle. The hotel is an ideal base to explore the surrounding countryside as well as the many historic places of interest within the Medway, Maidstone and Kent areas. Rochester is also famous for its many festivals throughout the year such as Dickens and Sweeps.The Cathedral bar on the ground floor of this Rochester Hotel, opposite reception is available throughout your stay and is guaranteed to offer a warm, pleasant ambiance to help you relax after a days work or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Rochester
Gordon House Hotel Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing