We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gordon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rochester
Immingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“friendly”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

i found the hotel clean and tidy and the staff so friendly . for a family run hotel they looked after me and treated me like a person not like the big hotel chains which you are just a number . they really went out of there way to help me .... really enjoyed my stay and a good nights sleep .. m bonner

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    20
    20
    31
See reviews for
17
56
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

oh my word, please don't stay here .. I arriveud to a typical Rochester high street greeting, namely a woman profusely vomiting directly outside, the hotel had a funny smell to it ( think mould/damp covered up with glade and febreeze)

The room was a disgrace and the mattress appeared to have a ginger stain on it, I wouldn't like to comment what this was. Not wanting to come across confrontational I didn't complain but left by first light the following morning.

This place really has gone downhill, I stayed here once before around 2 years ago and it wasn't nearly as bad as it is now, The WORST and I mean the WORST part of the stay however had to be the man in the room next to me who after arguing profusely with a woman over payment ( one can only imagine) proceeded to make a LOT of noise.

Bottom line here, don't stay at this place unless you literally have no other option.

Room Tip: Sleep in the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kent_Foody_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochester hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The first room we were shown had not been cleaned - at all. The second had no bath light to reveal the paper signs taped to the dirty wall stating that the water was unsafe to drink. The hard lumpy bed had the 4 poster cover roughly cut out. The floor had been soaked. The walls chipping or rotting. Only 1/2 the lights worked. The shower pan is 2' x 2', really! If that doesn't sound small picture all the controls in there with you and a shower head at 6' high. No WiFi. The owner wouldn't put food or drinks on the room tab. The food was poor, ill prepared and over priced. I didn't receive the discount for guests. The owner even had the nerve to grab the napkin rings off of our table obviously concerned that we might steal them. After explaining to me how to use a napkin in a condescending manner, he actually stood 5 feet away and stared at us through the whole meal. My wife slept, as much as possible due to the drunken street people, clothed over concern for bugs. The building deserves better. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When booking this hotel I did know this was only a 2 star hotel but proceeded anyway as the location in Rochester was absolutely spot on for the wedding we were attending in the town. Firstly we arrived at the rear of the hotel entering through the rear security controlled door left wide open for anyone to gain access. Walking through corridors that were dark and dirty looking finally arriving at the modern updated reception and bar area .I admit that seeing this I was more encouraged and maybe it was going to be better than first impressions . Eventually getting to our room, again your heart sank we couldn't get into it as the bathroom door behind had swung open and jammed to the back of the main door because it had no locking mechanism. The room had obviously seen a heck of a lot of use and abuse ,thread bare carpets cobwebs hanging form the ceiling and where your complimentary tea /coffee biscuits were stationed well let's just say it wasn't in the cleanest of conditions. As for the bathroom the toilet seat rocked from side to side and the shower would only deliver freezing cold water how ever it was set. 1 point to make the bed linen was clean although the under sheet was obviously a bit small for it and the bed was actually reasonably comfortable. As for breakfast the restaurant was very grubby food remnants on the floor from the previous nights function. My impression of it was as if i was Oliver twist and i would be asking for more food please sir but when i received it after a very long wait I am glad I didn't the food was really rank.
A lonely sausage that looked as if it was anaemic 1 piece of bacon if that's what you can call it the cheapest baked beans (tasteless ) 4 tiny slices of mushrooms and 1 tinned tomato that looked as it had seen better days oh must not forget the toast as my wife nearly wet herself laughing as It made so much noise when chewing it (obviously been reheated a few times ) so in summing up my visit to such a well placed hotel it really could do with a major refurbishment.it is in a wonderful location but because of all the bad points listed I don't believe the should be charging the rates they do.

Room Tip: Go a little further out of Rochester town and stay some where more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night at this hotel we had what was meant to be a full english, lets just say i dont even think a homeless person would be impressed.it was disgusting.most of the staff were lovely apart from one, the rooms were abit dirty n thrown together the lamps were stuck back together with glue it was dusty the phone was filthy.i would not recommend this place especially not for FOOD.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma26041985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Gordon house hotel on Saturday night. The welcome we received was friendly and all staff were equally helpful and friendly during our stay. The room was well maintained and in a quiet location which was nice compared to some other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank folkydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having read some of the past reviews we nearly cancelled but decided that as the hotel is in such an excellent position we would take a chance. Thank goodness we did. It is true that the decor is a little tired but that is more than made up by the charm of the staff. We had extremely comfortable beds and a large sunny room. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble - on the Sunday night we were very late coming in and the restaurant was closing - but in the owner's words - "your comfort is our top priority" - we only expected to get sandwiches but got a full roast - freshly cooked! Some of the reviews have been unkind and scathing - I wonder what people expect for £70 per night, 2 stars. Thank you all for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rochester is a vibrant city so the front of the hotel can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House Hotel

Property: Gordon House Hotel
Address: 91 High Street, Rochester ME1 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gordon House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rochester Hotel providing accommodation for Kent, Medway and Maidstone. Our Rochester hotel accommodation is perfectly situated for those wishing to visit Kent, Maidstone or Medway. You can visit the many antique centres, art and curio shops or Rochester Castle. The hotel is an ideal base to explore the surrounding countryside as well as the many historic places of interest within the Medway, Maidstone and Kent areas. Rochester is also famous for its many festivals throughout the year such as Dickens and Sweeps.The Cathedral bar on the ground floor of this Rochester Hotel, opposite reception is available throughout your stay and is guaranteed to offer a warm, pleasant ambiance to help you relax after a days work or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Rochester
Gordon House Hotel Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing