We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
16
43
25
23
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
43
25
23
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bar private parking a stones throw rump steak hotel is in a great location listed building star hotel roast dinner big room lovely atmosphere short stay single room train station full english breakfast visiting rochester graduation
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Evening visit to Rochester we found ourselves in The Gordon House Hotel. Amazing dining room wit h painted panels from c.1700s? Told that building had been a coaching inn and possibly this had been a smoking room. Pleasant staff, traditional menu, food well done and plentiful, whats not to like?

Stayed: September 2017
Thank rogerdD7511JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Right in the middle of the high street and a stones throw from the Castle. The room was clean and tidy the Staff were friendly and very helpful. There is private parking available. The hotel is looking a bit jaded and in need of some TLC however don't let this put you off.
I would certainly stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank happydog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my mate stayed in a twin room ( room 2 ) last Saturday it is a very reasonably priced hotel very nicely decorated room clean fresh en suite bedroom has all the amenities and then some plenty of room high ceilings nice TV on the wall trouser press ironing board and iron it had everything we needed and more for our night, plus a very nice breakfast in the morning all the staff are very nice and friendly and the owner is a pleasure to deal with, this was not our first visit and will not be our last

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eamon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

beautiful hotel. some people may say it was basic. But we were given a room at the front looking down on the high street it was beautiful... with a view of the cathedral.
The only down side was the shower it was FREEZING COLD.

We were supposed to leave by 10am however for £30 we were allowed to leave by 6pm the following day FAB!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank nataliewoodsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Lovely atmosphere, comfortable room, every amenity, helpful, friendly staff. A hotel of character with convenient parking, which is no small benefit in the centre of old Rochester. Breakfast menu gave lots of choice and what I had was well-cooked.I was there on a Friday night of a 'festival' day so took ear-plugs in case of noise from the street: the hotel is a listed building and therefore no double glazing ruins its 'ambience.' If a visitor is a very light sleeper it might be an idea to ask for a back room?) I didn't eat in the hotel but there is a restaurant and bar; the immediate area offers lots of choice for dining out. The location is excellent, in my opinion. I look forward to going back there one day.

Room Tip: Front room views splendid, to the cathedral and ancient (pedestrianised) high street.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews