We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great staff , good food”
Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #7 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, great staff , good food”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 27th July to celebrate a family birthday. Upon arrival got to our room however the toilet didn't refill after flushing and the tube into the shower head had a large split so water just gushed out of everywhere but the showerhead. Spoke to I think was Stacey (who had just finished her shift so great service) and she immediately found us an alternative room and made sure everything was fine along with the manager which was dealt with very well. Rooms are ok size,clean and plenty of storage. Can get warm though as there is no aircon or fan so just had to have the window open all the time. Room could do with a refresh was looking a little tired e.g. the coving was all cracked, wooden window frames need repainting and some marks,dents on the wall really just general wear and tear but it wasn't an issue. Irons are available from reception and there is no safe. No gym facilities if you are looking for this type of additional service.

Restaurant is ok a bit tired looking but lots of room. Had the Carvery which was great value. Yes as some people have said in here the veg was probably from frozen but for what you pay and the amount you get it was very good so cant complain. Breakfast was good we had the continental (lots of choice) which was included in the room price and for a further £4 you can get cooked which was very good from what other people were saying with plenty of choice. The staff were brilliant during our stay hardly had to que at the bar even when it was busy, they couldn't do enough for us and all were very chatty and provided great service. They have a good team at The Swan. In summary for the price you pay and what you get it is good value with great staff that make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties there is a room on the ground floor, higher floors are warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    37
    24
    30
See reviews for
41
45
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Have eaten here several times over the years. Have never had a bad meal. Yes its cheap and the veg are frozen as well as the yorkshires but the roast spuds were delicious and the meats were very tasty. Yes its dated and the customers leave a loto to be desired at times but you get what you pay for. Always a great option for a nice carvery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieMoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights carvery very good, Staff very friendly especially Joyce at breakfast and the young chef in the evenings (think his name was Jerry). Needs a little refreshing decor wise but was good as a base for our break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepherdsHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My monster in law(she loves been called it)has been there for a carvery and suggested to try it.Wish i had not.We went to the bar to see that its quite limited to lots of pumps of larger.The restaurant is dated and needs a good tidy up with wonky lights on walls and slanted lamps.To my amazement a small lunch was £3.59 to a large £3.99.I went for my lunch and realised why it was cheap.Dried up meat of beef ham and an odd coloured turkey.With what looked like frozen yorkshire puddings the veg was next.peas,diced overcooked turnip,funny coloured mash sliced dry leeks frozen tasting cauliflower with a watery cheese sauce on.One saving grace were really good roast spuds.The one thing that makes a dinner is the gravey and all i could smell was flour.It did not taste of anything but flour.As you might guess i ate the spuds.this is really a dinner to good to be true so do not bother.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel was only £39 for a quadruple room including breakfast! You can't get better than that! It is situated a few miles drive from the LG arena, in the pleasant enough town of Coleshill. My husband and daughter had to check in two hours earlier, because my daughter was unwell. The stafff couldn't have been more friendly, caring and helpful - particularly the cleaner! The beds and room were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom also very clean. The room was slightly dated, as was the whole hotel, but for those prices it doesn't really matter. We didn't eat at the hotel but it looked nice, and the prices were very good. Breakfast in the morning was a continental, and had everything we wanted. Parking was plentiful and some undercover. It is easy to get Birmingham from here by car, and I believe the train connections are also very good. We will definitely be back because the staff were so nice and the prices so good.

Room Tip: We were in room 207 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryns review N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

An Inkeepers Lodge and everything you expect from this chain. Its cheap (especially at early booking room rate of £25pn inc breakfast).
Breakfast is good for basic room rate and an optional upgrade for cooked items is not really necessary. Pleany of cereals, fruit, bread, yogurt, juices etc.
Staff are friendly, rooms clean and although there are opportunities for a new lick of paint, it is ok.
Not the place for a 2 week holiday but very convenient for NEC/Airport.
Carvery was surprisingly good for £4 (more on Sundays) with hot food, fresh veg and a smallish portion of meat. Other carvery places are better but good for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore Middx
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We recently returned from yet another stay at The Swan in Coleshill. I am not sure why we keep coming back here every year but I think the only reason is that Rajrani is next door and that is definately the best Indian restaurant around and also for the close proximity to NEC. The rooms themselves are not bad and you do get Free Wi Fi which is a bonus. The pub has a rather unpleasant smell of urine which can be rather off putting especially when having breakfast. We did not have any other meals here so cannot comment on the food. Breakfast is complementary if you want continental. We did see an advert stating that you can now pay for a buffet style cooked breakfast, however this was not the case when we went down for breakfast we did not see any evidence of hot food. The price we paid for the room this year was not bad, however I have already looked to book for when we go to NEC next year and the price is over 100.00. I would most definately not pay that amount to stay in this hotel and cannot believe that anyone else would pay this as I said we only stay here because its cheap and near to NEC and not for any other reason!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.6 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,216 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill
The Swan Coleshill, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing