We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great example of why the uk is in recession.”
Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #6 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great example of why the uk is in recession.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Featuring staff who have given up on work and perhaps even life, The Swan gives you a glimpse into how not to run a hotel.

The lampshades at the windows all stained and wonky should have been the first sign. If they weren't the. The myriad brands of cigarette butts all over the entrance floor would have bed the second.

Then the staff that declared we didn't have a reservation only for us to point them on the desk was the third.

Anyway, up to the room at the far away end of the hotel. En route I decided not to get drunk that night as I knew I would never find my way inebriated.

So the room was essentially fine. It had a bed and a paltry 2 coat hangers and even a mammy shower curtain. The windows were of special note having been due a replacement circa 1967 but obviously deemed worth keeping right into the autumn of 2013

The worst part of the room was that a duster had never been near the headboard or the side table lamps. Thick dust I have not seen the like of since being a student and possessing a similar neglect for domestic hygiene. Being an adult now and with a healthy regard for home cleanliness this amount of dust was beyond anyone's lowest expectation.

The breakfast deserves special mention. Quite how a hotel manages to encrust its plates with that much food remnant and not feel it might be time to wash them properly is beyond me. We really enjoyed the server who handed us 2 plates that we're swimming with cold water and crusty edges. I requested some dry ones and he appeared to be suprised that I didn't want a cold wet plate. I ended up in the continental breakfast plate area selecting a side plate that was clean to eat my breakfast off. To redeem them, the beans were good. The sausages were rank.

There were some interesting food samples on the walls too, I reckon they must have been a science experiment as there is no other reason to have food in walls that I can think of. Unless Ray Charles is employed in the cleaning dept of course.

Overall, with such low standards and a desire to never achieve 'acceptable', let alone 'excellence', The Swan is a great economic study in why the UK may never achieve the recovery it so needs.

It is cheap though... Feels it too if you like that also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    36
    23
    30
See reviews for
40
44
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Costa Adeje, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

While at a family wedding in another hotel was staying here and thought it was very lovely hotel and very friendly,would recommend this hotel to anyone who goes down this way,only thing they need to watch out for is the cost of a taxi to airport with the company they use,it says 9 pounds to get to airport but I was charged 12,next time I wont ask for any of taxi's that they advertise(they need to review this with the taxi company) and will do it differently,this was the only bad thing on an overall enjoyable time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodrum124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 27th July to celebrate a family birthday. Upon arrival got to our room however the toilet didn't refill after flushing and the tube into the shower head had a large split so water just gushed out of everywhere but the showerhead. Spoke to I think was Stacey (who had just finished her shift so great service) and she immediately found us an alternative room and made sure everything was fine along with the manager which was dealt with very well. Rooms are ok size,clean and plenty of storage. Can get warm though as there is no aircon or fan so just had to have the window open all the time. Room could do with a refresh was looking a little tired e.g. the coving was all cracked, wooden window frames need repainting and some marks,dents on the wall really just general wear and tear but it wasn't an issue. Irons are available from reception and there is no safe. No gym facilities if you are looking for this type of additional service.

Restaurant is ok a bit tired looking but lots of room. Had the Carvery which was great value. Yes as some people have said in here the veg was probably from frozen but for what you pay and the amount you get it was very good so cant complain. Breakfast was good we had the continental (lots of choice) which was included in the room price and for a further £4 you can get cooked which was very good from what other people were saying with plenty of choice. The staff were brilliant during our stay hardly had to que at the bar even when it was busy, they couldn't do enough for us and all were very chatty and provided great service. They have a good team at The Swan. In summary for the price you pay and what you get it is good value with great staff that make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties there is a room on the ground floor, higher floors are warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Have eaten here several times over the years. Have never had a bad meal. Yes its cheap and the veg are frozen as well as the yorkshires but the roast spuds were delicious and the meats were very tasty. Yes its dated and the customers leave a loto to be desired at times but you get what you pay for. Always a great option for a nice carvery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieMoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights carvery very good, Staff very friendly especially Joyce at breakfast and the young chef in the evenings (think his name was Jerry). Needs a little refreshing decor wise but was good as a base for our break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepherdsHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My monster in law(she loves been called it)has been there for a carvery and suggested to try it.Wish i had not.We went to the bar to see that its quite limited to lots of pumps of larger.The restaurant is dated and needs a good tidy up with wonky lights on walls and slanted lamps.To my amazement a small lunch was £3.59 to a large £3.99.I went for my lunch and realised why it was cheap.Dried up meat of beef ham and an odd coloured turkey.With what looked like frozen yorkshire puddings the veg was next.peas,diced overcooked turnip,funny coloured mash sliced dry leeks frozen tasting cauliflower with a watery cheese sauce on.One saving grace were really good roast spuds.The one thing that makes a dinner is the gravey and all i could smell was flour.It did not taste of anything but flour.As you might guess i ate the spuds.this is really a dinner to good to be true so do not bother.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel was only £39 for a quadruple room including breakfast! You can't get better than that! It is situated a few miles drive from the LG arena, in the pleasant enough town of Coleshill. My husband and daughter had to check in two hours earlier, because my daughter was unwell. The stafff couldn't have been more friendly, caring and helpful - particularly the cleaner! The beds and room were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom also very clean. The room was slightly dated, as was the whole hotel, but for those prices it doesn't really matter. We didn't eat at the hotel but it looked nice, and the prices were very good. Breakfast in the morning was a continental, and had everything we wanted. Parking was plentiful and some undercover. It is easy to get Birmingham from here by car, and I believe the train connections are also very good. We will definitely be back because the staff were so nice and the prices so good.

Room Tip: We were in room 207 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryns review N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.6 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
3.1 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill
The Swan Coleshill, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing