We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and is better than the reviews suggest”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #6 of 9 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great value and is better than the reviews suggest”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's not the best hotel I've stayed in but perfectly acceptable and at £55 per night including as much as you can eat breakfast, so close to NEC represents the best value for money in the area.
If you don't like carvery food there are lots of restaurants within walking distance and the cooked breakfast here was superb.
OK, the place is dated but everything in the room was clean and working; the bed was comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.... if you want more than that then you need to book in to a spa hotel at twice the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    48
    36
    23
    30
See reviews for
39
44
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

on arrival my wife and daughter were insulted saying the computer was running slow as did not like checking in women!
Again Paul Boswell started shouting at my daughter when she refused to stay in hotel room with blood and urine stains on the bed and no protector. the hotel smelt very heavy and uncared for.
The saving grace here was a GENTLEMAN called James Grundy, here pulled James out of a situation shouting at my daughter and apologised to us all and said he should not have been that way, we want to say thank you James, you deserve a better job than this company can give you and we wish you well

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Disappointed, requested disabled room or low floor, but the D/R was occupied and there's no ground floor rooms. No lifts either, was told its a 'listed building'. I think they could have advised me before travelling, would have stayed somewhere else. Saturday night and the bar shuts at 11pm, no residents bar, so no choice but to go to bed. Room and bedding clean, shower ok but grout and sealant needs re-doing. Breakfast was good. Sadly won't be staying there again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here I didn't know what to make out of this trip I stayed here for three nights it just shows the people that have standards of 5* This is not that! It is classed as a budget hotel and I think the staff and the hotel strive to be more than that! Very enjoyable stay will recommend to friends and family the only problem I had was that you have to look for 'the swan' and not innkeepers lodge a bit unclear. Thank you :)

HANDY TIP!!
Don't listen to reviewers that can't spell, check a dictionary before posting your boring unhelpful reviews :)

Room Tip: Request a low floor if possible as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

tryed this hotel for breakfast it was the worsed breakfast you could get cold staff not bitherd buffet style with no choise every thing that was there was cold no beans hard cold eggs bacon un eat able will not go back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 213andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

disappointed as for same price could have stayed somewhere else, room was not that clean, bathroom dated and dirty, kettle dirty. Room overlooked alleyway so was nosiey. Bar staff unfriendly and favoured locals. Breakfast was not so good ran out of eggs and we were first in queue, the poor little waitress was great but had no support.would not use again,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend whilst visiting The Motorhome & Show. The room was tired, dated and not very clean, the bathroom had seen much better days as had the shower. (Broken shower head, cracked shower tray, mouldy grout)
Won't be staying here ever again, I'd much rather spend a little longer in the car and drive to a nicer hotel.
Quite disappointing, wish I'd read other reviews before booking! Lesson Learnt.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.6 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
0.8 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill
The Swan Coleshill, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing