We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #6 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay for one night not too bad,bedding was clean, bathroom, seen worse, if it was given a thorough clean it would be ok but windows, behind bathroom door, shower cubicle and furniture were all very grubby. Food was ok but just basic pub grub, breakfast a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for ground floor it was quite a climb up to room 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    48
    36
    23
    30
See reviews for
39
44
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Clean, comfortable and very good value for money,
the evening carvery is well worth a visit.Breakfast is also very good,with a good choice of hot or cold..but if you want toast it will either be burnt or not 'toasted 'at all...dire need of new equipment!! little petty but true.

Room Tip: Room 100 is more or less in the car park !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

After a day at the NEC we checked in at the Swan.
First impression on arrival-what a scruffy place!
Firstly they couldn't find our room key, when they did we went to the room,opened the door to find the quilt turned back,the toilet then flushed and a man walked out of the bathroom.
We were given another key to a room right at the top - however this had n running water in the washbowl.
Returning to the we ordered a drink and told them to sort things out- to give the girl credit she gave us a bottle of wine and said we would be given a full refund on the room.
We changed rooms again and went for what was a pretty awful carvery,probably mainly due to the fact it was by now getting quite late and there was very little left- the computer was also playing up so we were to ask for the Manager next morning to deal with the refund- a note would be left for him.
Next morning no note could be found and the Manager was not due until after 3pm-he would phone us!
We sat down to a continental breakfast of cereals,un-edible croissants or toast your own bread,which we would have done except there was then a power cut!
After a phone call to HO the Manager rang us from his mobile and eventually we got our refund.
The whole place was shabby,there was thick dust along the skirting boards in the bedroom,the shower curtain was mouldy and the floor tiles needed a good scrub.In the dining room cabbage had been dropped on the carpet and the waitress just kept stepping over it
Never again!!!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Coleshill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Its been many years since I last visited the Swan but as a local resident we decided to go to there for a Friday night drink and to watch the world cup. First problen for me weas they had 2 pumps for cask ale both of which had run out, so had to drink what they had from the keg. At the end of the evening the bar staff rang the bell at 10.45 for last orders so I went to the bar to get a last drink there were 2 bar staff and 1 customer already being served the free bar person stood in front of me and chatted to a bystander for at least 2 minutes before acknowledging me took my order and money then shouted down the bar for her collegue to do the drinks. At 11.30 a previously unseen staff member entered the bar shouting at the customers remaining to get out of the bar now as they wanted to lock up and if necessary were to take the drinks outside and finish them on the high street. I told them I thought they were very rude with their attitude towards the customers and would advise the management to review there staffs skill levels and perhaps give them some training on how to deal with customers especialy if they want them to come back again, a journey I will most definatly not be making I now understand why there only a handful of customers. If you enjoy being insulted at the end of a pleasant evening then this is the place for you if not there a plenty of other pubs on the high street

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went a few years ago not happy gave it another try due to family being there had trouble finding a table that was clean food and tissue on floor no body even tried cleaning up while we were there kids were using it as a play ground food was terible we all left food and will never go again worst carvery ever had

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank peterguk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as we where going to the LG arena, it was a short taxi drive away. The room was just fine, the bathroom door did not shut is the only thing that was wrong but really did not matter. Had the pubs carvery which was very nice and very well priced, breakfast was just as good, I would recommend this logde to anyone its only a short to the bullring so great if you want to shop and stay, I would also advice you to walk round the village, a few shops and coffee house, very friendly place. Ideal logde for a few nights.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jama40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's not the best hotel I've stayed in but perfectly acceptable and at £55 per night including as much as you can eat breakfast, so close to NEC represents the best value for money in the area.
If you don't like carvery food there are lots of restaurants within walking distance and the cooked breakfast here was superb.
OK, the place is dated but everything in the room was clean and working; the bed was comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.... if you want more than that then you need to book in to a spa hotel at twice the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.6 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill
The Swan Coleshill, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing