We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEC Elbow Concert” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Ranked #4 of 9 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NEC Elbow Concert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went to see one of the best bands around (Elbow) at the NEC. We spotted this near the venue and booked. Before setting off I looked at the previous review from (Simonsue) which just criticised the Inn Keepers Lodge and put me off before we even arrived. Anyway we booked in believing we would need to go somewhere else. However clean towels, bedding and a clean room soon put those criticisms to rest. We had a nice stay in a budget accommodation hotel. I would say it would have been nice to have a mattress protector but the mattress was very clean. We would stay again to see our favourite band on tour. Like (rantandravehc) states in there review "it does what it says on the tin".

Room Tip: We stayed in 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (NEC) Coleshill. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    32
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
12
36
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

arriving at the swan met with sense of grime and a place uncared for.
given keys to rooms and on entering the door to the lodge overcome with smells, not sure where or what it was coming from as everything was dirty.
dirty linen under the stair case, laundry rooms open and stacked high with smelling dirty laundry, carpets seen better days and fall of grime.
on entering bedrooms SHOCK ! very dirty bathrooms grime grime and more grime.
then on checking the bed, not protector and covered in blood and urine!!!!!!!!!!!
We went to the assistant manager Paul Boswell who started shouting at us and said it was ok to put children in these beds. James Grundy the team leader pull Paul to one side and told him he cannot shout at customers this way and that the customer was right not to accept these rooms.
After a lot of disagreement we were transferred to another sister hotel, but we were not told that we would loose our privilege of discounted pre payment as other hotel rooms were booked on that day, and we had paid in advance for the swan.
management have not come back to us yet to hear our side of the story, making us believe this is how this lodge operates.
STAY CLEAR !!!!!!

Room Tip: STAY CLEAR>>>> Paul Boswell is a disgrace to the hotel and catering industry. James Grun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We are sorry that your recent visit to The Swan, innkeeper's Lodge, Birmingham (NEC) Coleshill was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Look, this is one of those that does what is says on the tin. Do not come here if you are used to staying in full on service hotels. The Swan looks lovely from the high street, but I only saw this as I had to dash over the road to get some cash to pay for our cooked breakfast, no cards accepted for breakfast.

You book a room here as we did, because it is close to the NEC, we paid £52 for a double including continental breakfast. We could have traveled up and back in a day but wanted to be at the NEC by 9 am, and we would have to negotiate rush hour M25 to do so. £52, your on.

Lots of parking at the rear, this is not its greatest attribute, the rear that is, i thought we had pulled into a superstore delivery area by mistake.

Entering the building we followed the signs and found a very cheery young lady who checked us in. It is pay as you go, therefore no charging to your card for "extras" which means leaving in the morning is key in a box and go, works for me.

The room itself was ok,en suite, flat screen TV, and once you have been through the online registration process free wifi.

Housekeeping needs a bit of a hurry up, the grouting in our bathroom needed a proper clean, it was an uncomfortable red where I think many moons ago the handyman had drilled some holes above and of course being a trade, they tend to expect the clean up fairys to follow wherever they go.

No mattress protectors is a definite black mark, and would put me off booking again, particularly as the mattress was one with prominent raised toggles, the sort granny had on her mattress, but somehow still comfortable none the less.

The carvery, as with everything here is what you pay for, again very cheery staff, pile it high, its all cooked and hot, real mash potato so get on with it. I think it was £7.50 a head.

Now breakfast, just cannot fault it, we paid the tiny supplement £3.50 each and went for it. A very nice lady runs this show, and she does not raise a hint of an eyebrow if you return for more. Best value £3.50 I have spent on food ever.

So my view is, for what we paid we were very happy, however the mattress protector is a real issue for us, so for no other reason than that we will not be back, unless all other budget hotels are full, then we will bring our own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rantandravehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to The Swan is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Thirteen of the family stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel clean & tidy with a good variation of drinks & food. Price was very competitive and the staff excellent. We had a top floor room which was light and airy with an open view. All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDawsonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Single room at the top of the hotel which was a hike to get to, the room was reasonably spacious, it hadn't been clean properly in a long time from the wealth of cobwebs...bathroom was ok not pristine. The staff at breakfast were very welcoming and chatty although breakfast wasn't up to much. On a positive note only 5 mins from the NEC and parking behind the hotel was free and lots of spaces. Lots of options for restaurants in walking distance and several shops.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Swan, Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham(NEC), Coleshill .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here as the hotel we normally book was fully booked. It was not in the same league as the other hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. It has a carvery attached to the hotel which was very nice and value for money. The only downside for me was that one of the bar staff was juggling with the lemons to put in the drinks and he kept dropping them, no attempt to clean them was made. Also the restaurant was closing early as one of the senior managers was coming in to give the staff training on the new menu. That in itself was ok, but prior to the training he told the chef who was carving the meat that she was doing it wrong and took over from her. So not only did he embarrass her in front of the customers he did not wash his hands and he did not put on protective clothing, so just wore his normal clothes. Food hygiene springs to mind and health and safety. If he genuinely needed to teach the member of staff to carve properly that should have been done during the teaching session not in front of the customers and he obviously needs training himself in food hygiene. Other then that the staff were friendly and approachable. Would stay again if the other hotel is full.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjtBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Swan, Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (NEC) Coleshill .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

3 night stay for family gathering. The bedroom was small and grubby, my husband, myself, 2 year old son and 1 year old daughter with a double bed, double sofa bed and a cot with only a strip of floor visible less than a meter wide. The toilet rim was black, dirt on the walls the window ledge was covered in god knows what, the carpets were filthy and under the coffee stand obviously hadn't seen a hoover since it was put in the room. we found a milk carton dated 22/12/12 luckily noticed before i gave to my children. That was just the room. The restaurant and bar are old and shabby, toilets dirty with leaks coming through the ceiling which was not sorted even though i reported it. Carvery was closed early on Sunday as ran out of food even though we had booked tables, 15 min wait one day as they ran out of plates, tables were not being cleared after people had finished. One morning no English breakfast as chef just did not turn up even though this was included in our stay, oh and it said buffet English breakfast included but apparently this is only on a weekend. On our final morning the English breakfast was hideous a chef that cant even fry an egg and who says 'he knew they were crap but was to busy' the continental breakfast was limited and one morning the waitress Joyce who i must add was superb was running to the local co-op to buy bread and yogurts, we were given cooking spread for our toast served in little milk jugs. i have made a formal complaint for a refund and have photo evidence of the above acquisitions i would not recommend this hotel or restaurant to anyone. I have stayed in several inn-keepers lodges and eaten in other crown carveries and have only ever had praise for them so this has been a massive disappointment.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lloyds921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Birmingham, Coleshill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.5 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
3.5 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#18 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
0.3 mi away
Coleshill Hotel
Coleshill Hotel
#2 of 9 in Coleshill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Address: The Swan | 88 High Street, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This handsome Coleshill lodge gives you the best of both worlds. On one hand it's in the centre of a peaceful, historic market town. On the other, it provides convenient accommodation near the NEC and LG Arena. So whether you're looking to explore Shakespeare's County or do some business, it's an ideal place to stay.Alongside the comfy en-suite bedrooms you'll find a Crown Carvery, which offers a choice of hearty food all day, including cooked breakfasts and traditional roasts served with freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds.The area has plenty to keep you entertained, from busy Sutton Coldfield to the attractive riverside walks along the Water Orton. Try the popular Coleshill Circular Walk or venture into cosmopolitan Birmingham. Families are spoilt for choice with Drayton Manor Park and Kingsbury Water Park nearby, while golf enthusiasts will want to play a round at legendary golf course The Belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing