We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”
Review of Coleshill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coleshill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed over the spring fair. What a gem of a place. We ate here all of the 4 days and it was wonderful. Reading the commnets before this, i can only assume the others were eating somewhere else. The food was typical Pub Style grub but none the less it was tasty and fresh. The bar is really nice and clean and we stayed in room 21, beautiful sleigh bed and flat screen TV - It looks like it has just been refurbished. Staff were friendly and coud not do enough to make our stay a nice one. We cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Room 21 is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wethreerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor.
We are really pleased that you returned to the hotel again for the 4th year running. We are really happy that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant and that the food you had was all cooked to your liking.
Thanks for the tip about room 21 in the annex from the main hotel.
We have your reservation and 4 rooms booked again for next year an look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at the Coleshill on a great bargain b&b deal. The public areas are clean, pleasant and typically 'Old English Inn' style. It was a little cool in some places as the windows were single glazed and draughty and the doors out to the patio kept blowing open unless locked shut. There is plenty of seating, including settees, padded chairs with cushions, dining chairs and high tables with tall stools and padded benches so there should be something for everyone.
We had a room on the second floor which was not huge and fairly dark because of the small window, but was fine for a couple of nights. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath.
We ate in the hotel on both evenings, mainly because the weather was bad and it was easier to stay in than go out. The food was okay. It wasn't fantastic but, for the price, it was acceptable. It was quite annoying, however, that several things on the menu were unavailable. On the first evening they had run out of Yorkshire puddings to go with the Sunday lunches. There was no 1/2 chicken or 'mini grill' available. A couple of the puddings had also run out. On the second night when we asked if the mini grill was available we were given a written list of about 10 unavailable meals (including the mini grill). We ordered from the remaining choices and, after ordering puddings, were told that one of these was also unavailable. If things had sold out on the first night, why were they not replaced in time for the second night? Likewise at breakfast, there was no smoked salmon although it was listed on the menu. I realise February is probably not a particularly busy time for the hotel and it may be impractical to have all meals available at all times, but maybe a shorter menu for winter months would save the disappointment of guests ordering something and then being told it is unavailable?
Having said that, staff were friendly, we had a lovely couple of days with family members staying in other rooms (7 of us in total) and we would go back to the Coleshill particularly if the price was similar.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of the main building have smaller windows than those on the first floor. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindiloo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thanks for your kind review.
We are really glad you enjoyed your visit. We are really sorry that certain food items were unavailable during your visit, this was due to the hotel being really busy. The hotels busisest month is in February with all the trade fairs and such at the NEC. We are happy to say all of the food items are now back in stock. We hope to see you again soon. Sorry about the windows, but the hotel is a listed building and we are not able to change them, but the heating is always on full, we do have portable heaters for our guests that like it extra toasty hot.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for several days for a annual business fair in Birmingham. Although the hotel seemed surprised and unprepared for the large number of business guests they had staying.


Pros: The hotel has obviously been refurbished recently and looks very nice, all of our rooms our had been done to a good standard and were clean. The bar and restaurant area are also very pleasant and comfortable. I'm afraid there are no positive points I can make about any of the service aspects of our stay.

Cons: The quality of food in the evening was poor, none of our meals good, because of this we only ate at the hotel one night during our stay.
Our young waiter had little knowledge of the menu or how to professionally serve guests. We had to ask for cutlery, some of which was dirty.

The food at breakfast was a better standard and was freshly cooked, although this meant an unacceptable wait every day, we've not encountered this kind of problem at other hotels. After complaining about the long wait we were told we could pre-order our breakfast for a certain time, but this turned out to untrue. You could pre-order but your food but it wasn't any quicker or correct.

As others have pointed, out the hotel is a lovely old building with several floors but no lifts. We were told there was no one to help with luggage. Which appeared to mean there was no one available who wanted to help. We were then advised we should have requested a ground floor room to avoid the situation in future.

This hotel seems to have widespread apathy about it's lack of service. When comments are made to staff excuses are made rather than resolving the issues, many of which could be easily corrected by better staff training, a hot buffet breakfast or more staff, and a change in attitude from the management. I've not stayed at a hotel with such a poor attitude to service before.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank sazzle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We will use your feedback for training, so that we are able to improve our service. It is a shame that you did not let any of the team members know, as we would have been able to correct the issues that you have mentioned.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel room was clean and nicely decorated, however, throughout my stay the service went from bad to worse!
I was fooled into thinking by the lively atmosphere and full dining area the food would be good.
Unfortunately, When it eventually arrived my plate of food was shunttered down the table like I was in a old western movie.
Food not cooked properly, very dry and partly unrecognisable from what we ordered.
Looked like a car crash!! Breakfast sllloooooowwwwww! and then only half the order came through. Items from the small menu where never available (porridge), pre ordered breakfast as service is very slow but when I got down there they had not even made it yet. When it did arrive order was completely wrong, pots of tea that we ordered never arrived, slow, slow, slow.
Please note that hotel does not have lift, five floors and no assistance with baggage. When I asked for some assistance manager fobbed me off! BEWARE - Pink Henry Hoover left booby trapped in front of stairs for people to fall over and break neck - while struggling with your luggage. Manager informed but seemed to welcome thought of a liable case as he couldn't be bothered and advised me there was a cupboard on the landing for me to stow the Hoover back in :) - Classic.
The manager complained to my colleague when paying the bill that I was rude because I had mentioned about the poor service I had received.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.
We are really sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel restaurant. The hotel serves lots of meals all of the time and we can get very busy. Sometimes our guests will wait slightly longer than normal, but we always keep our guests informed. Thank you for the nice comments about the room decor.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Only visited for an evening meal with 14 others in our party. Very poor food and expensive wine. We ordered white wine which was served at above room temperature and just put into an ice-bucket. Staff were young inexperienced and seemed to be untrained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDawsonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for your feedback on your recent visit.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the restaurant at tthe hotel. We work hard to get it right and when our customers tell us on their visit we do our up-most to make it right, sorry that you did not inform any of the team on your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The coleshill hotel has been recently refurbished. It looks nice, however i would highly recommend not eating here. I have visited a few times, only to find the food is uncooked and staff are not very helpful.
We decided to have our christmas meal at the coleshill hotel, and although we booked well in advance, we were told there wasn't a table big enough to seat my family, so had to sit on tables pushed together, which were at different levels. We waited longer than expected for our christmas dinner, (gave them the benefit of the doubt as it was busy) and when it did finally come out, the vegetable were hardly cooked and the meat was mediocre. It seemed to us that the chefs just didn't have the motivation to cook a nice meal. The manager was unhelpful when we spoke to him about our complaints, claiming it was busy. Not impressed.

If you would like a nice meal i would discourage this place.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank RachelGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for your review on your vist to the hotel.
We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas meal with us. We would really like you to contact us at the hotel, as we are not able to find a copy of your dinner reservation in our log. We are surprised that you claim to have visited the restaurant on several occassions and never made us aware of any issues.
We hope you contct us soon with your booking reservation number and time and the day you visited, so that we are able to discuss the matter with you further.
Over the Christmas period we served lots of Christmas meals. This is one of the busiest times of year, and we never use any excuses that it is 'Busy' as we have lots of extra team members working.
We hope to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My partner and i booked a late deal, and it really surpassed our expectations.
On arrival the receptionist, who turned out to also be the duty manager, was very helpful and friendly.
Our room was beautiful, we stayed in rm. 22. It was definitely one of the nicest i've ever stayed in.
We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night, we'd arrived late but it was no hassle for the staff to serve in the restaurant even though it had closed. We ate off the 3 course set menu; an absolute bargain! The food wasn't exceptional, but for the price it was pretty tasty.
All the staff were helpful, very cheerful and genuinely put you in a good mood just being around them.
The same manager served us in the restaurant, then at breakfast and check out which was nice as we always dealt the with same member of staff so it made it feel very personal.
I would definitely return. Great atmosphere, food, room and staff!

Room Tip: Rm. 22 was lovely over the road in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for your great review.
We work really hard to make your stay a 'Special' one. We are pleased that you found the
restaurant and staff to be great and that you enjoyed the 3 course menu.
Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.8 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
628 reviews
1 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
0.5 mi away
The George & Dragon in Coleshill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coleshill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coleshill Hotel

Address: 152-156 High Street, Coleshill B46 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coleshill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Coleshill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coleshill Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing