We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Coleshill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coleshill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have stayed at The Coleshill Hotel on numerous occasions and have always found it very good. The rooms are lovely now that they have been re-furbished and the staff and management have always been very accommodating. Its ideally situated just off the M6 and really close to the NEC. The food is really well presented and excellent value for money. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lime222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor
We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about the hotel and that you liked the food rooms, and bar area.
We spend lots of time training and working hard with the team at the hotel to make your stay a great one.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    68
    34
    32
    33
See reviews for
63
100
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My daughter has recently moved to the area and thought we would all go out for Sunday lunch ! Very disappointed by our choice though, found a table quite well when we arrived at 4.30 went to the bar to order our food only to be told that half the starters weren't available nor some of the meats on the Sunday lunch !! Not a good start. Just after sitting down a waiter/bar member told us there was a wait of about 40 minuets even though the pub wasn't that busy ! Starters came after about 1/2 an hour which were ok but then the long wait for the main and my husbands Sunday lunch arrived on its own ( seems it was the next tables ) then my very over cooked lasagne, my daughter fish which completely fell apart it was so over cooked arrived and another dinner for my husband !!! Seems to be enough staff but they don't look like they are managed very well. Will give this pub a miss in the future as there are enough other pubs on the high street to try .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joannef15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your comments on your recent visit.
We are really sorry that on this ocassion, you did not have a great visit.
We have spoken to the team about your comments and all of your concerns have been addressed. We are really sorry that during your visit you did not speak to a team member, as we would have been able to correct all of your issues.
Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Kidderminster, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Valentines weekend for an Army Reunion. Room was very good and bar area great. Food on offer was plenty and the staff very helpful.
Breakfast was good and plenty on offer.
Recommend for short stays. Access to Birmingham good either by train and motorway

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GustyGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your kind commnets on your recent stay at The Coleshill Hotel.
We are really pleased you had a great time on your special weekend and that you chose to spend it in the hotel.
Thanks for your tips about commuting to the hotel, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a very pleasant two night stay at the Coleshill on a bargain b and b deal, and were entirely satisfied with the venue and the food. The staff were pleasant and efficient. A comment was made that the breakfast service was slow and on one occasion it was. We realised, however, that a combination of people arriving at the same time and breakfast cooked to order caused this, and was entirely acceptable .We have only started using hotels in England recently and are astonished at some of the adverse comments made. I'm sure that sometimes things go wrong but perhaps some of the unhappy souls should look in the mirror.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for a really great review on Trip Advisor.
We are really refreshed that you gave such an honest review and we are already looking at the way we serve breakfast at the weekend to speed service up. We really hope that you come to visit the hotel again in the future.
Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed over the spring fair. What a gem of a place. We ate here all of the 4 days and it was wonderful. Reading the commnets before this, i can only assume the others were eating somewhere else. The food was typical Pub Style grub but none the less it was tasty and fresh. The bar is really nice and clean and we stayed in room 21, beautiful sleigh bed and flat screen TV - It looks like it has just been refurbished. Staff were friendly and coud not do enough to make our stay a nice one. We cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Room 21 is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wethreerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor.
We are really pleased that you returned to the hotel again for the 4th year running. We are really happy that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant and that the food you had was all cooked to your liking.
Thanks for the tip about room 21 in the annex from the main hotel.
We have your reservation and 4 rooms booked again for next year an look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at the Coleshill on a great bargain b&b deal. The public areas are clean, pleasant and typically 'Old English Inn' style. It was a little cool in some places as the windows were single glazed and draughty and the doors out to the patio kept blowing open unless locked shut. There is plenty of seating, including settees, padded chairs with cushions, dining chairs and high tables with tall stools and padded benches so there should be something for everyone.
We had a room on the second floor which was not huge and fairly dark because of the small window, but was fine for a couple of nights. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath.
We ate in the hotel on both evenings, mainly because the weather was bad and it was easier to stay in than go out. The food was okay. It wasn't fantastic but, for the price, it was acceptable. It was quite annoying, however, that several things on the menu were unavailable. On the first evening they had run out of Yorkshire puddings to go with the Sunday lunches. There was no 1/2 chicken or 'mini grill' available. A couple of the puddings had also run out. On the second night when we asked if the mini grill was available we were given a written list of about 10 unavailable meals (including the mini grill). We ordered from the remaining choices and, after ordering puddings, were told that one of these was also unavailable. If things had sold out on the first night, why were they not replaced in time for the second night? Likewise at breakfast, there was no smoked salmon although it was listed on the menu. I realise February is probably not a particularly busy time for the hotel and it may be impractical to have all meals available at all times, but maybe a shorter menu for winter months would save the disappointment of guests ordering something and then being told it is unavailable?
Having said that, staff were friendly, we had a lovely couple of days with family members staying in other rooms (7 of us in total) and we would go back to the Coleshill particularly if the price was similar.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of the main building have smaller windows than those on the first floor. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindiloo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for your kind review.
We are really glad you enjoyed your visit. We are really sorry that certain food items were unavailable during your visit, this was due to the hotel being really busy. The hotels busisest month is in February with all the trade fairs and such at the NEC. We are happy to say all of the food items are now back in stock. We hope to see you again soon. Sorry about the windows, but the hotel is a listed building and we are not able to change them, but the heating is always on full, we do have portable heaters for our guests that like it extra toasty hot.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for several days for a annual business fair in Birmingham. Although the hotel seemed surprised and unprepared for the large number of business guests they had staying.


Pros: The hotel has obviously been refurbished recently and looks very nice, all of our rooms our had been done to a good standard and were clean. The bar and restaurant area are also very pleasant and comfortable. I'm afraid there are no positive points I can make about any of the service aspects of our stay.

Cons: The quality of food in the evening was poor, none of our meals good, because of this we only ate at the hotel one night during our stay.
Our young waiter had little knowledge of the menu or how to professionally serve guests. We had to ask for cutlery, some of which was dirty.

The food at breakfast was a better standard and was freshly cooked, although this meant an unacceptable wait every day, we've not encountered this kind of problem at other hotels. After complaining about the long wait we were told we could pre-order our breakfast for a certain time, but this turned out to untrue. You could pre-order but your food but it wasn't any quicker or correct.

As others have pointed, out the hotel is a lovely old building with several floors but no lifts. We were told there was no one to help with luggage. Which appeared to mean there was no one available who wanted to help. We were then advised we should have requested a ground floor room to avoid the situation in future.

This hotel seems to have widespread apathy about it's lack of service. When comments are made to staff excuses are made rather than resolving the issues, many of which could be easily corrected by better staff training, a hot buffet breakfast or more staff, and a change in attitude from the management. I've not stayed at a hotel with such a poor attitude to service before.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sazzle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will use your feedback for training, so that we are able to improve our service. It is a shame that you did not let any of the team members know, as we would have been able to correct the issues that you have mentioned.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.8 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coleshill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coleshill Hotel

Property: Coleshill Hotel
Address: 152-156 High Street, Coleshill B46 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coleshill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coleshill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coleshill Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing