We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the chains near NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the chains near NEC”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for a night whilst on business. Warm welcome and very happy with the room - clean, good size and well appointed. I even had a teapot on the tea/coffee tray, which is so civilized compared to dunking a teabag in a cup. My room had a balcony overlooking the field at the side of the hotel so I could watch horses and rabbits whilst sipping civilized tea. It's only a few minutes from the NEC but has a nice rural feel to it. The M42 is nearby and you can hear the noise form this if the windows are open, but no noise from the motorway with windows shut.

Good size car park with CCTV and coded barriers. I didn't have an evening meal here but the breakfast was good - cereal and full English -in a pleasant dining room.

I'll chose this hotel again when I'm next down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    52
    32
    17
    9
See reviews for
31
36
8
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigginton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a lunch to celebrate 'granny's' 95th birthday. Approx 30 people including children, in the garden room. The whole experience was EXCELLENT. From the initial arranging via Hilary (top class) to all the staff who were superb. Food (3 course, Soup, Lamb, Apple Pie and sausage beans and chips for the very young) was superb.
100% recommendation.
Thank you Grimstock.

Room Tip: Speak to Hilary !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4wba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brid Nr Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would like to place this review as we used this venue for my youngest Daughter, Naomi's Wedding last Saturday - 21-09-13.

Some of us were booked in the night before the big day, where we were greeted with a most warm welcome and shown to our rooms, which were spotless and well equipped.
The staff were kind, polite and friendly and 'nothing was too much trouble for them'.

We ate an evening meal which was both delicious and reasonable, and I strongly recommend that anyone seeking a Christmas party or works do book up here asap! as the food and service is excellent.

The big day arrived and the staff were just 'simply wonderful, taking care of us 'all' but especially the Bride and Groom.
Hilary - the manageress was 'superb, even lending her hand to assisting with the 'lacing up of my daughter's Wedding dress ( it took 3 of us to get it just so!!) - 'Thank you Hilary'.

Everything went perfectly smooth from start to finish, and thanks to 'Hilary and her staff team, who didn't just go 'the extra mile', but I would say the extra '100 miles' to ensure this was a beautiful day we could 'all look back upon with pride'- thank you all again! The staff were totally respectful, and no attention to detail was spared!

As the evening came to a close the service did 'not dwindle' , with the added bonus of staff offering to take people to a local accommodation who were not able to get rooms at the Grimstock Country House, again a 'huge thank you - you know who you are!!

I believe this is not the last time we will be visiting this venue , either individually for personal celebrations of Birthdays, Anniversary's and the like, or in group parties, rooms are 'superb, service second to 'none where other Hotels are concerned!

A fantastic day, which made 'All our Hearts sing', thanking you Hilary and 'all your staff team' for all the hard work and effort put into making this day -
'a Dream Come True' for us all, but especially for the Bride & Groom - from the bottom of our hearts.
We will 'definitely be recommending your services and venue, we look forward to seeing you for 'future occasions,

best regards 'Barbara & Jon xx ( Mother -Of- the Bride & her Partner)

Room Tip: All are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your comments! Our staff are really pleased to read that their efforts were appreciated so much. Every function held at Grimstock Country House Hotel is important to the guests and to us. Weddings do though require the utmost attention as it is such a unique occasion for all concerned. Our General Manager, Hilary, is always on hand - from the time of the original booking, through the planning process and then vitally at all times during the wedding day and the celebrations. We always strive to ensure that our staff sort out all matters, leaving the bride and groom to make the most of their very special day. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My daughters wedding was held here on 21st Sept. 2013, the service and attentiveness of Hilary and all the staff on duty over that weekend was second to none, nothing was too much trouble, they all turned a special weekend into a VERY special weekend, the food was excellent and so was the atmosphere, all made possible by the caring staff, especially Hilary, I would say it was all 1st class, but that would not do it justice, it wass far superior to that, thankyou all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decor1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are going to the NEC and want something a little more restful than a large impersonal chain hotel. It’s only a few minutes for the NEC and yet it provides a quiet relaxing environment with a good bar and restaurant with good English breakfast choices. Rooms are large and from the 1960s but furnishings and furniture are new and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. There’s ample parking and a gym.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and even though it was a hot humid weekend the hotel was very comfortable and our room was lovely as it had a nice shady balcony. We had dinner one night which was superb and the food was better than some top restaurants in London.

Great location as you are only 5 minutes from the station (easy to get into town), but you feel as though you are in the countryside. There is a well equipped gym in the grounds which you can access any time.

Our breakfast was lovely (had poached eggs both days) - nothing too much trouble for the staff and service is always with a smile which makes a nice change these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodrod1, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your experience of Grimstock Country House Hotel. As a regular guest with us, it is reassuring that we continue to deliver such a high quality service to you. We look forward to seeing here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

An unusual stop off for me in terms of business trips, its normally big chains, but this was closer to the office and cheaper.

The grounds are stunning and there is plenty of parking. The staff are friendly & efficient. Downstairs the hotel looks OK, wood panels and beams, disguising the fact its just a couple of decades old. The rooms have all the old fashioned features but they are looking a little tired. They are completely functional, but broken tiles in the bathrooms and showers that need to be run for some time before they are warm enough to stand in, and then in minutes it's scalding hot, just detract somewhat.

The biggest let down is the restaurant, very expensive and poor food. You have a choice of either 2 or 3 courses, costing you either £18 or around £23. That is only for the main food though, any side dishes including chips and vegetables are additionally chargeable. Also there are only 5 main dishes on the menu, and 4 starters so for a single night stay you are OK, any more than that and you are pushing it. On the plus side Coleshill high street is packed with various restaurants and there is a Harvester less than 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneChildInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodrod1, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Your comments are most helpful. The issue regarding the hot water has been resolved as soon as you advised us of a problem; the hot water system had become air blocked and was cleared in seconds once we were aware of the issue. It is unfortunate that your stay was spoiled and we do apologise. You mention a broken tile; we have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the rooms. At the time of your stay there was one bathroom with minor tiling problems and again we can only apologise that you were allocated that room. If you do visit us again then I am sure that you will have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.2 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
606 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
464 reviews
10.0 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grimstock Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimstock Country House Hotel

Property: Grimstock Country House Hotel
Address: Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimstock Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimstock Country House Hotel is privately owned and is situated in a rural setting and has its own beautiful grounds and gardens. It is ideally located for the National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham Airport, Birmingham Business Park and Hams Hall Distribution Park which are all only a 5 minute drive away. The main Midlands motorway links are also on the doorstep with quick access to the M6, M42 and the M6 Toll Road.As soon as you turn off the main road into Gilson Road, you can start to relax. From the moment that you see the tree lined entrance to the Grimstock Country House Hotel, you will realise that you have made the right choice as to where to stay. This independent Hotel provides its own unique mixture of professionalism and a personal service that ensures that its guests are looked after individually. The solid oak panelled reception is a perfect example of the high quality of décor and of the relaxed atmosphere provided. However it is the personal attention to guests that makes the real difference between the Grimstock Country House Hotel and other hotels in the area. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished and offer a wide range of facilities as well as a wonderful Full English Breakfast served in our splendid Garden Restaurant. We have a lovely bar open to residents along with the adjoining Warwick Lounge that provide an ideal comfortable place to relax before or after enjoying the perfect meal in our restaurant where you will enjoy freshly prepared locally grown produce. A wide range of choices are on offer all specially prepared by our award winning Chef. The Hotel offers a variety of conference and meeting rooms with up to 100 delegates comfortably accommodated. A free Broadband service is provided to all bedrooms and conference rooms. Wi-fi access is made available in all of the delegates areas. Conference facilities and meeting rooms are also serviced with full Wi-fi access. A wide range of visual and audio equipment is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grimstock Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimstock Country House Hotel Coleshill, Warwickshire
Grimstock Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing