We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, friendly,lovely!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Certificate of Excellence
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant, friendly,lovely!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked quite late for a concert at the NEC we got a double en suit for £89 on laterooms.co.uk the first impressions were amazing, it looks like a country house hotel, the service of the two at reception was brilliant!! A young woman and a young gentleman, both went above and beyond for customer service, we had booked in and gone to our lovely clean room, great size lovely view (really hot bath room suffercating hot) a few moments later a phone call from reception to say another couple were of the the Nec for the same concert would we like to taxi share to spread the cost ? What a lovely thought!!! When we got back we had a nice drink in the bar a lovely chat with those on reception again. ! The night sleep was lovely ( with a 20 month at home it was peaceful) comfy quiet and not to hot. Breakfast was yummy, you could pick what you wanted more coffee and tea, lovely food . The lady on the Saturday when we checked out wasn't as nice or friendly but the two from the Friday night didn't alter my views! I will definitely stay there again if ever in Birmingham :) lovely grounds and my friend loves the horses we could see from our bedroom window! Lovely hotel that keeps the country in it :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    52
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
35
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

£190 For two nights way out of the city is expensive, especially so when the hotel feels old and in need of a refurb and modernisation. The hotel is clean and tidy but you do feel like you've stepped back to the late eighties. The room I booked was big enough, but the bed sheets had a nasty smell to them and the headboard banged against the wall with every move, god help the people next door.

The food here is well below par, and extremely expensive for what you get, poor menu, few options small portions, cheap french fries and sauces (you can tell by the taste). I got the feeling they are trying to achieve something that is beyond their ability. Breakfast is limited to say the least, cheap coffee, minimal continental selection and non self service cooked breakfast which, again, is a bit of a con considering the cost of staying here.

The staff are friendly enough, but don't seem to have defined roles, so you end up with the receptionist taking you to your table and taking your order while the three waiting staff stand in the corner, generally a bit disjointed.

One last thing that I found annoying was the fact you have to enter a code to get out of the car park. Said code is at reception and I had to do several trips around the car park and go back to reception to get it. Really not sure what the point of that is.

Thankfully this room was on the client I was working for, I certainly wouldn't pay out of my own pocket to stay here.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. There are a few choices near the airport about 7 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Your comments are noted. The Hotel does not consider the feedback to be fair or reasonable given the circumstances. The booking was made via a booking agency and was at a time when there was a major exhibition at the NEC. Unlike the chain hotels, we never increase our prices at exhibition times. Therefore we are quite sure that our room rate would have appeared as very competitive to other hotels of an equivalent standard. Indeed, if our rates were not extremely competitive then we would not be as successful as we are.
The linen we use is white Egyptian Cotton and we have never ever had any adverse comments regarding the well known brand washing powders used. Cleanliness of the Hotel is an absolute priority to us.
Our restaurant has consistent high rating throughout the year. Our full English breakfasts are frequently complimented by our guests.
There is a large sign at reception showing the exit code to the safe secure free car park. This exit number is advised to each resident upon check-out. We have never had a criticism of the system previously, indeed most guests appreciate that their vehicle and contents are safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Would I go back again Yes!
Whilst the Grimstock (should change the name) is slightly old in terms of bathroom and bedroom fittings it is very clean and very tidy.
Very helpful on a night before booking with a promise to upgrade from a single (late booking) to a double if possible and how many times have we heard that?
Check in, a cheerful welcome and yes the double room. which was very clean with laptop space with free and fast Wi-Fi and plenty of hot water and towels etc.
The menu looked good but I wanted a good basic "indulge" snack of sausage and bacon sandwich with chips! It had been a hard day and was cooked very well!
Breakfast, good choice of cereals, mixed fruit, yogurt and brilliant poached eggs.

This is a very cost effective, comfortable and clean hotel and yes I would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back away from the main road, but I was in the front and no real problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to provide feedback. We do aim to provide a memorable visit to all of our guests; it is reassuring when we read comments such as yours. As an independent hotel, we cannot compete with the advertising budgets of the chain hotels. Customer feedback is therefore essential to our ongoing success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked our wedding at this hotel but due to lack of help or support we decided to cancel and find another venue, Although we gave over six months notice of the cancellation we were very distressed they would not give us any of our deposit back. We had paid more than the necessary deposit and would have been happy if they had given us even half back but they wouldnt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgoodtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We have hosted weddings at our Hotel for in excess of 25 years. Civil weddings have been conducted on the premises for 15 years. Our reputation for delivering the most wonderful wedding day for couples is evident through significant written feedback. When a non-refundable deposit is paid then it is clear that that is the contractual agreement. In exceptional circumstances such as dates changing or severe illness etc. then we do our best to accommodate such times with no cost to the couple.

The comments made on this occasion do not provide any detail which enables us to identify the situation and comment specifically. It is therefore considered an unjustified complaint when not even the date of the proposed wedding is provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Very impresses with Sunday lunch with traditional surroundings and tasty Sunday lunch. Service was excellent and very polite and friendly service. Would definitely return and recommend . It reminded me of how lunches used to be served a waiter who was very smart and friendly

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happyzzz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We do pride ourselves on our return to delivering the traditional Sunday Lunch. Service and a relaxed atmosphere is the feature that differentiates us from a typical carvery. From having your order taken in the lounge, through to your bill being delivered to your table, the whole experience is designed to provide an unhurried but attentive occasion. We do not re-book tables - this ensures that after dinner drinks are also taken at leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

On arrival the Hotel is very impressive set in it's own grounds with plenty of parking. Electric gates protect the area with codes necessary to exit. The greeting from the receptionist was very welcoming and informing ( faultless ). We arrived at approx. 5pm and the bar was open and attended. Having looked at the menu we reserved a table for dinner and went to our room to change. The room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of supplies. Minor points were noted on the hotel survey.
The evening meal was rather expensive for what was served and the vegetables and side dishes were charged extra.
Breakfast on the first day Friday was very good with eggs cooked fresh and served to the table. Plenty of choice and service great.
Saturday breakfast was a disaster. Only one member of staff to carry out all the necessary tasks including, taking orders for tea/coffee, delivering to tables, cooking eggs individual and preparing toast. No co ordination but other staff were preparing for another event .
Overall a very nice hotel but lacking the finer points.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It is disappointing indeed that the Hotel did not live up to its excellent reputation for delivering a superb full English breakfast on the second morning. Given that there were indeed ample staff on the premises, it is embarrassing that you were left relatively unattended. Our customer feedback regarding the quality of our service is indeed highly rated which makes it all the more annoying that we failed you on this occasion. We can but apologise and hope that we will have the chance to make amends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business and had a great time. Yes the hotel needs some work but everything was clean. The friendliness of the staff make up for any lack of decor. The wifi works well although you do need to keep logging is a it disconnects so what it still works all over the hotel. The dinner was great and as I said the staff were cheery and an absolute delight to talk to. I only had porridge for breakfast but what I had was nice and again found staff friendly. Would stay here again if around the area on holiday. Free parking and while may not live up to other country house hotels you certainly don't have the price tag.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for your custom and for providing feedback to us. recommendations from guests are an essential ingredient to our ongoing success. We do always aim to deliver excellent service whilst maintaining competitive pricing of all of our products. Your comments reassure us that we are continuing to deliver satisfaction to our guests and we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.2 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
4.8 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grimstock Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimstock Country House Hotel

Property: Grimstock Country House Hotel
Address: Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimstock Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimstock Country House Hotel is privately owned and is situated in a rural setting and has its own beautiful grounds and gardens. It is ideally located for the National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham Airport, Birmingham Business Park and Hams Hall Distribution Park which are all only a 5 minute drive away. The main Midlands motorway links are also on the doorstep with quick access to the M6, M42 and the M6 Toll Road.As soon as you turn off the main road into Gilson Road, you can start to relax. From the moment that you see the tree lined entrance to the Grimstock Country House Hotel, you will realise that you have made the right choice as to where to stay. This independent Hotel provides its own unique mixture of professionalism and a personal service that ensures that its guests are looked after individually. The solid oak panelled reception is a perfect example of the high quality of décor and of the relaxed atmosphere provided. However it is the personal attention to guests that makes the real difference between the Grimstock Country House Hotel and other hotels in the area. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished and offer a wide range of facilities as well as a wonderful Full English Breakfast served in our splendid Garden Restaurant. We have a lovely bar open to residents along with the adjoining Warwick Lounge that provide an ideal comfortable place to relax before or after enjoying the perfect meal in our restaurant where you will enjoy freshly prepared locally grown produce. A wide range of choices are on offer all specially prepared by our award winning Chef. The Hotel offers a variety of conference and meeting rooms with up to 100 delegates comfortably accommodated. A free Broadband service is provided to all bedrooms and conference rooms. Wi-fi access is made available in all of the delegates areas. Conference facilities and meeting rooms are also serviced with full Wi-fi access. A wide range of visual and audio equipment is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grimstock Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimstock Country House Hotel Coleshill, Warwickshire
Grimstock Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing