We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

The George & Dragon in Coleshill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George & Dragon in Coleshill
Ranked #3 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for one night after a trip to a concert at the NEC and it was just what we needed. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They also made a real effort to make sure I was catered for at breakfast (I am vegan). Overall, excellent value for money and I will definitely stay there again next time I visit the NEC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKellyMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed the 1 night as all the Hotels around the NEC were pretty full or very expensive. Room was nice size and clean, bathroom was being redecorated which there was a sign saying that so wasnt a problem although a window blind would have been nice. A table/desk would also have been nice as i had work to do and ended up doing it on the bed with laptop wobbling. Evening meal was adequate but breakfast was great. Nice friendly staff and would probably stay here again. Couldnt really understand why they had Italian Sky dish either so had to watch italian football when premiership was on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Facts:
Room - recently redecorated, spotless, warm, beds clean and comfy
Noise - til late and from 6am, noise from staff downstairs - woke me up
Noise from some kind of vent outside window very loud indeed
Smell: Smells of fried food, could not get rid of smell (vent outside causes it maybe?)
Room was cheap - will bring earplugs next time and keep smart clothes in the car so they don't gather the food smell

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room IF they have one, get away from that damned vent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for one night in this pub/hotel. This is ideal for a 1 night/2 night stay. The room and en-suite were spotless, and the bed was comfortable. The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and beautifully cooked. Conveniently situated for Birmingham City Centre and its various attractions and the NEC for concerts or shows. It is convenient for a visit to Solihull and their shopping centre and also the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room on first floor as the rooms at the top "in the attic" have a slop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Never never never again just came back from there party of 7 , 3 adults 4 kids . First off , starter breaded mushrooms (deep fat fried dripping with oil) and garlic mayo . Except garlic mayo had gone off , complained and got excuse it's just were the mayo is mixed . I asked why the mayo at bottom was like curdled milk (answer) noooo it's fine . So I pushed the mushrooms and mayo aside and left them .kids burgers , deep fat fried slop overdone and staill buns . Adults 3 steaks , 1 Tbone over cooked to death , vains of fat . 1 fillet around £23 full of grissol (suspicion of mixed pieces of meat), that was swiftly sent back and a refund had . So that adult missed out on food completely because was put off. 1 18oz rump steak nice an yes it was nice. kids meals came out 20mins before adults so they finished there food before we had even started ours . So could not injoy food anyway because eyes on the youngsters getting board . Prices / food / beer ripoff , never again we visit the George often through the Sumer spending on average £50+ every time , well no more .we've had a couple of issue's in the past with food but we just never mentioned it but after today never again . Lastly the young lady waitress was rushing around red faced needed roller skates because they was working her like a dog , well understaffed and overworked .

!!!!! Never again!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent b&b,friendly staff,could not do enough for us.
food brilliant proper breakfast.we had a three bed room very clean,tidy and warm,
Only ten fifteen min drive from nec.
Staff ordered cab for us to go into town,20 min ride well worth a trip.
Definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I liked it here in this pub and its about ten minutes walk to the centre of Coleshill which you should do as it has more pubs and some restaurants (mainly Indian) and a chippy. Well worth the walk. The pub itself is welcoming and has a sports bar feel to it, I did not eat here but other guests said that it was good wholesome pub food and reasonably priced. The important thing is that it is clean and you are not trapped at the airport you can have a very pleasant walk and have a good night out in the town and retire for a few in the pub later on. The town apparently has 17 licenses premises. breakfast was good and plenty of it

Room Tip: I was in the triple but they all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleshill hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grimscote Manor Hotel
The Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coleshill Hotel
Coleshill Hotel
#4 of 10 in Coleshill
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
0.1 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#1 of 10 in Coleshill
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
James Guest House
James Guest House
#2 of 10 in Coleshill
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George & Dragon in Coleshill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon in Coleshill

Address: 154 Coventry Road, Coleshill B46 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George & Dragon in Coleshill 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George & Dragon in Coleshill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George & Dragon In Coleshill Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing