We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy lunch...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Coleshill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have visited The Red Lion many times for drinks (very gorgeous cocktails ) but not food. My Mom and I decided to have lunch at The Red Lion and we weren't disappointed! We went for the set lunch menu, a starter and main meal for £10. It was excellent value as the food we had was really tasty and full of flavor. We had lovely service, timings were great a nice time had by all. We have family visiting from Ireland soon and as we enjoyed our visit so much we have booked to come again with them for a special occasion next Sunday. Looking forward to visiting again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia03smerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    43
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Falls short of the mark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited here numerous times for lunch with my business since it opened. At first everything was great, decent food, decent beer and nice atmosphere but since then it has slowly let itself down and having returned from lunch with my business today, it'll be the last time we visit.

The reason? The waiting time. As usual, our lunch order today or sandwiches has taken over 40 minutes to arrive from when our order was taken. On a Tuesday in a pretty empty venue (there wasn't a soul sat inside and only three tables outside of which we were one. The time before the wait for almost an hour and it has become a running joke in the office. It's such shame as the food is good but it's just ruined by such slow service.

The management would tell me it's because it's 'cooked from fresh'. Erm? 40 minutes to deliver two fish finger sandwiches, a steak sandwich and two chicken burgers during a quiet service? Thanks but no thanks, my business will eat elsewhere from now on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BraveSirRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickie C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear BraveSirRobin

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I would firstly like to apologies for the delay on Tuesday. We are a fresh food kitchen so our food will never be fast, however, i quite agree that 40 minutes for lunch is an excessive amount of time to wait.

We have met with Chef this morning to look at ways of improving this and ways that will enable us to speed up service, particularly at lunch times.

We are looking at implementing an idea we have and as a local business and valued customer we would appreciate your help with this, perhaps you would be willing to trial it for us?!

I would be very grateful if you would contact myself or Mark directly so we can discuss this with you further

Many Thanks
Nickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“still hungry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Me and my partner fancy a meal out so we opt to try the Red Lion at coleshill . We arrive and inside beautiful done but not many people in.The I assume the man in charge asked if he could help,i ask if he serve meals he promptly ask if we want to eat in the bar area or restaurant. We chose the second choice and.he showed us to it he was most helpful with a table of our choice.Not difficult as there was only us two,and getting us our drinks. But downhill from there as we looked at the menu which for us was to fancy, but heyho we give it a go.After we order our meals,there was quite a long wait ,why?only us two.When food finally arrive could not believe the lack of food on the plate.We both ordered rump steak well four fat chips,one tiny mushroom.tomatoes on a twig sort of cooked, what that all about and steak well the price we paid for it was not worth it .oh overpriced sauce as well.After eating still hungry we ordered desserts.My partner ordered the brownie with cream ,that came ,must admit that was really nice.I ordered white choc and raspberries brulee ,came in a CUP!!!!!!!!! WHAT was nice but really overpriced and need to add a wait for these two items as well .Waitress service ok ,need improvement the man who pop up and ask if all well he was good .We paid our overpriced bill for food that need to be looked at ,quantity as well as good food is important.So sorry will not be return there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned home from The Red Lion and feel compelled to write this review .We had
been out for the day and had travelled back to Coleshill purposely to eat at this pub? bistro
bar.? Well what a mistake that was .We arrived and went straight to the restaurant where we were the only customers so we had were able to choose any table. The waitress came straight away and was very pleasant. She took our drinks order and then gave us the menu. The waitress seemed to lack knowledge of the choice of food for the day, the specials that you have everyday were not available. We were then told there was a flier with a set menu which was lacking lustre, twelve pounds for two courses. We opted for the main menu, plenty of tapas choices but not ideal for our Mother who chose soup until the waitress told her it was potato and coconut. She decided to opt for the main meal and sweet. We ordered the meal and waited and waited. Another couple had arrived now and in fairness decided what they wanted before us and were served their meals. We finally got our tapas and was quite satisfied with the food. Then we had to wait again. Finally the meal arrived, however the waitress informed us the vegetables were not ready. Tell me why you serve the meal if the veg was not ready?. We again waited, in which time we repeatedly asked how long we were expected to wait. The waitress said there was a communication mistake and would go and get them ,with which we looked up and she was serving behind the bar. Another waitress came in and again we asked for the veg I will go and get them she said. The waitress actually recommended we order a veg side order because one of the main meals only came with mash potato, pretty poor considering the price of the meals[WHICH IS PUB GRUB] Why bother recommending them if you cannot cook them and produce them with the chosen meal. Talking about the meal it was a lamb shank cooked apparently to order ,really?, does anyone know how long it would take you to braise a lamb shank? not as long as it takes to cook veg, I guess. One of the other meals was posh fish and chips. After the wait for the veg the pea puree was stone cold, the chips stacks were hard and dry and the fish was greasy and slimey .Our other meal was from the light bites, very disappointing, again chip stacks a tiny piece of steak, onion rings without onion in two and two vine tomatos. we could have gone down the road and paid less for a full size steak of much better quality. This was going to be our Moms treat it turned out to be a disaster .We not only came home hungry we were upset by the whole experience. Sad that what should have been a happy family meal turned into a nightmare, when we asked to see the manager we were told there was no one there in charge. The waitresses were nice girls, however they were totally unprofessional when they were behind the bar discussing us and who and how they were going to deal with us, poor service. We will not be returning, I have to agree with a previous reviewer who suggested the Red Lion serves great quality alcohol, but definitely not Bistro quality food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We popped in after an evening walk and were impressed by the way we were immediately greeted and offered a choice of seating areas - and then a move to find somewhere not too busy.

There was a restaurant area which seemed quite small but there are several areas around the bar and a nice outside area. Over all the place is modern, well decorated and in excellent condition.

The food is 'pub grub' and nicely presented and tasty. Service was top notch and all staff very friendly.

We enjoyed our time there and will return when in the area again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SorefeetWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Coleshill, Warwickshire
Coleshill, Warwickshire
 
Coleshill, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing