We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take away food at restaurant prices”
Review of Tao Tao

Tao Tao
Ranked #15 of 17 Restaurants in Coleshill
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take away food at restaurant prices”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Visited this cosy little restaurant as a couple on a Friday evening. The service was excellent, the staff very friendly. The meal came to £40 for the both of us for 2 starters, 2 mains, a rice and 2 beers which isn't unusual but sadly not very good value for money considering the quality of the food.
The chicken satay skewers were very dry and tough with not enough peanut sauce, however the prawn toast was actually very good and the hand crafted carrot very cute.
The lemon chicken main was ok but very sweet, which when you consider how large the portion size was, it was quite difficult to finish. The pork with cashews main however was very nice, the cashews nice and crunchy. We also decided to order the pineapple fried rice as it is one of their 'signature dishes' which was actually very nice but far too expensive at £8 and far too large a portion to finish even between the two of us.
We also asked for some table water which was served in a jug with two old, recycled and well worn half pint glasses which looked a bit out of place in a restaurant that serves food at fairly high prices.
Overall we were a bit disappointed with the quality of the food which was pretty average and poor value for money and, despite the wonderful service, unfortunately we won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Warwickshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a previous bad experience when name Dragon Vale we finally plucked up the courage to try Tao Tao. What an improvement, from the decor downstairs to the quality of the food. We had the shredded duck pancakes to start and the plum sauce was the tastiest we have ever tasted. Our main meals were well cooked, with plenty of tender meat n again good sauces, all nicely finished off with a good size portion of Vienetta ice cream. We will certainly be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJL1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved it. ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The wife and took the father in law for a early Father's Day treat. We just noticed the restaurant the other week by accident. It's small and really clean. Your not sitting on top of other people too. The staff are just lovely and helpful. Must say that the portions are big!!!!! The chicken satay is lush. The wife and FIL(father in law) had butterfly prawns. Was lush too. Then our mains were salt pepper prawns. Wow. Ok there is no sauce so ask for chilli but the prawns were just lovely. Wife had special fish birds nest. Massive. And FIL had a lovely curry. Can't beat a Chinese curry. Was just lush and loads. Staff were not pushing us out the door. It's not the cheapest but would pay it again. Can't fault it. Left full and happy. Go cause you guys will love it. They do take out too so defo using them again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I personally haven't eaten in here as sit down and use it as a restaurant - but always use for takeaway. (I must visit for sit down and eat though soon).

The main reason I thought I would write this was because I went last week as normally as every week on and off. But the last time I went in and got back home with my good order...oh my oh my!!! Literally some form of food magic was put on me. The food is always amazing but tonight...oh boy oh boy!!!

Really worth paying a visit to sit down or takeaway, great service as always and the owners are always super happy to see you and also the staff.

So worth a visit any time of the week for a re-fuel with amazing food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3rdeyezero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the area”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Would normally order a takeaway if we wanted chinese but we thought we would give Tao Tao a go after hearing good reviews.
The food was beautiful, we had duck to start and shared this between us, it was beautiful.
I would recommend to book a table as there is passing trade from the hotels in coleshill and not a lot of tables so they fill up quick.
The service is quick and food is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tao Tao also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Coleshill, Warwickshire
 
Coleshill, Warwickshire
Coleshill, Warwickshire
 
Coleshill, Warwickshire
Coleshill, Warwickshire
 

Been to Tao Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing