We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Homestead” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Homestead Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Homestead Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from Homestead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

the Homestead is directly opposite the entrance to the Larne Ferry, which was one of the reasons we chose it. Our room was beautifully decorated and immaculate, the hospitality tray even had bottled water and hot chocolate. Next morning we were presented with freshly made fruit salad and honey greek yogurt. My Husband had the fried breakfast while I settled for cereal. There was fresh tea and coffee and lovely toast. We were a bit early for book in but enjoyed a latte at the small open all hours shop at the bottom of the garden. Parking was plentiful and off road, Margaret the Hostess is a wee gem and really made us feel welcomed and relaxed. We will stay there again

Room Tip: front rooms were surprisingly quiet and very light ...... no lift so possibly not suitable for disab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a b&b with friendly and very helpful hosts.our corner room was excellent with a lovely spacious bathroom with loads of toiletries. The breakfast was delicious really liked the fruit and yogurt to start .it is excellent for the ferries to Belfast and larne.i would definitely recommend the homestead Margaret does a lot of extra touches that makes all the difference.

Room Tip: I would choose the larger front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_and_norrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH COAST
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here before catching the ferry to Belfast.
Margaret is a friendly and helpful host and takes great pride in her B&B.
The room we stayed in was lovely with a large ensuite and excellent shower.
We did get caught out with the double bed (uk queen!) but it was comfortable.
We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVJ805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here the night before getting the early ferry over to Belfast. The host was fantastic. Very friendly. As we were leaving early the next morning, and could not have breakfast, she kindly left us a packed lunch, which was really appreciated. The rooms were clean, comfortable with excellent showers. And it was literally a couple of minutes to the ferry terminal. Would definitely stay here again if needing to get the ferry over to Belfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diannenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed one night as we caught the ferry to Ireland the next morning. The rooms were clean, comfortable, safe and secure. The host was lovely and welcoming settled us in and recommended a nice place for dinner at nearby Stranraer called the Bay House and they had lovely food and service. The next morning we left so early so she packed us all a little lunch which was so nice of her. Would recommend people to stay here if visiting cairnryan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Cannot fault this place. Wonderful reception and everything is amazing. Wonderful breakfast, bed, setting and location. The owner is very hospitable! Highly recommended to book through the guesthouse instead of any other booking company (ie. tripadvisor or booking.com).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keddy1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snodland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our second stay here as,it's so handy for the ferry to and,from Ireland.A very warm welcome from Margaret and,a lovely room with a super comfy bed after a week in the campervan.Very good nights sleep despite being next to the road,we didn't hear the traffic.
Breakfast was very generous especially the fresh fruit cocktail.You can also order a packed lunch etc.Thanks Margaret,hope to see you again soon.
p.s.We are now addicted to that yoghurt'...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NessaJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
6.2 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
8.0 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rhins of Galloway
Rhins of Galloway
#1 of 6 in Cairnryan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead Guest House

Property: The Homestead Guest House
Address: Cairnryan, Cairnryan DG9 8QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Homestead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Guest House Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing