We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't get any closer! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Homestead Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
202 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Can't get any closer! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice warm greeting from the owner, told me all that I needed to know plus other stuff! Shown to the room was clean a little cramped in but okay for 1 night. Even had a sky box a first for me! The bed was very comfortable just worried that I would over sleep! There is a alarm next to the bed. Left to early for breakfast so did me a takeaway pack up.
A lovely B&B would recommend and will be back.
Oh and perfect for the Ireland ferry dead opp the driveway

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This B&B is about as close as it gets for the P&O ferry. On arrival we received a lovely warm welcome and were shown to our room. We had the smallest room available ( a double) and this may not be suitable to a less mobile couple as it is slightly tight around the far side of the bed. However the room lacked for nothing and was impeccably and tastefully decorated to a high standard. We were shown the other rooms which were much more spacious so next time we'll ring before we book. Next morning before our mid morning crossing we had a truly wonderful breakfast, cooked to order including fresh fruit and home made compote.
As good a Scottish B&B as we have stayed in

Room Tip: Ring beforehand if you have mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgnorth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

my wife and i were travelling to n ireland from the ferry at cairnryan and stayed again at the homestead b & b, this is probably the 4 or 5 time we have stayed here, and the quality and service has remained the same beautiful rooms, had the benefit of new beds in our room, we always ask for the room at the front good for a cup of tea and watch the world go by. the true judge of anywhere is to go several times and the high standards at the homestead have not changed from the rooms ,the excellent choose and quality of the breakfast or the lovely hosts it is great value for money

Room Tip: even the front facing rooms are quiet and we had a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Another great night's sleep! My husband and I always stay at the Homestead when catching the ferry to Ireland. The Homestead must be at the top of the list when selecting the best B & B. Very clean and comfortable rooms and house. You would travel the world to match Margaret's hospitality. She will do anything she can to make your visit A*. The delicious breakfast, served exactly as you like it, will set you up for the rest of the day and more!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnylovesbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent family-run B&B, you can clearly see great pride is taken in the cleanliness, service and quality of food served. Margaret is a very welcoming host and treated us as if we're part of the family and she couldn't do enough for us. We had travelled overnight from South Cerney and parked outside until check-in time but Margaret came and got us early and put on breakfast, can't ask better than that! Will definitely go back to Homestead when we're in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Credit where credit is due. I travelled up from Bristol and got a lovely reception.This B&B is truly excellent, spotless rooms and beds, excellent breakfast, lovely friendly host (Margaret) and great value for money.
You honestly could not ask for anything more, I had that lovely feeling of being fully satisfied with the service I received when I left the next morning, can't say that very often now days.

Brian McCann from Bristol

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Spent two nights on our way to and from Ireland. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Margaret was a very kind host and we had a delicious cooked breakfast which was prepared exactly as we wanted it. Margaret takes great pride in her establishment and ensures that you are happy. On our return journey she offered us the larger room upgrade, which was lovely. There are tasty snacks in the room, and the showers are warm and powerful. Margaret also recommended two places in Stranraer to have dinner. The one we tried was lovely. I would highly recommend staying at the Homestead, and it is our go-to place whenever we have to spend the night in Cairnryan for the ferry (it's exceptionally convenient for the P&O Ferry).

Room Tip: There are four rooms, two at the front (with a double and single bed) and two at the back (one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
8.0 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
4.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Rhins of Galloway
Rhins of Galloway
#1 of 6 in Cairnryan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead Guest House

Property: The Homestead Guest House
Address: Cairnryan, Cairnryan DG9 8QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Homestead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Guest House Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing