We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhins of Galloway

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rhins of Galloway
Ranked #1 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Could not fault the B & B, they try to think of everything, fresh milk in a flask for tea and coffee in the room, scissors to cut the ends of the coffee satches, cloth napkins on the table and face cloth in bathroom. Breakfast cooked to order and excellent, evening meals cooked fresh, and plentiful at a very good price. All in all they beat the pants off some 4/5 star hotels and I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
92
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed at the B&B for several nights whilst working in Stranraer on business. The rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and spacious. Very tasteful decor, with tea / coffee, biscuits and fresh milk all catered for. The breakfast was cooked fresh when ordered and really set you up for the day. The owners of the B&B also provide light meals in the evening up to 7.30pm which was ideal to come back from work and relax at the venue for the evening. Customer service was excellent operating on a friendly and helpful basis. When working in the area again Rhins of Galloway B&B will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Great rooms, spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Would recommend this b&b to anyone travelling to this area, the owners are friendly and great hosts, their attention to detail is wonderful, fluffy white towels, ultra fresh bed linen, a packed complimentary tea/coffee tray their breakfasts must be legendary and if not then why not? Unlike some b&b's or small hotels their guests needs come first, free WiFi, no bar or evening restaurant but can bring in your own dinner and wine and sit in their lounge to eat it (with NO cork-age fees), plates and cutlery supplied if needed. Quite simply this place is fabulous and it has a pretty interesting history as we'll, if you are ferrying to and from Ireland then add on an extra day or two and visitthis lovely b&b while you explore this area.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms and you do get a super view., no pool or fitness room but couldn't' until th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indianoceanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here a night before catching the ferry to Ireland. The bed and breakfast was wonderful although we did not get a cooked breakfast they had made us a packed lunch for us leaving early the next day. The room had a jam packed hostess tray with different types of teas, coffees, hot chocolate even got "Border" biscuits. Fresh milk was given instead of the uht kind. The bedroom was lovely. The bed was sooo comfortable. Had a half bath and shower in the en~suite which was fine. The rooms were lovely and warm spotless clean. We got a nice friendly welcome. We were not expecting such a lovely place in the middle of nowhere. Please stay you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynseyCBathgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

What a pleasant surprise!! We actually thought it would be difficult to find a nice place to stay in such a rural area, but Wow!! The beautiful well thought out decor...lovely antiques throughout. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. So many extras!!...cookies, candies and even scissors to open the packets!! The bed was luxurious! Was also pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a beautiful suite. The setting was beautiful....pastures behind and the sea in the front...and flowers everywhere!! Gourmet breakfast cooked to order...wonderful! We actually only stayed one night to catch the ferry the next morning (which was about a mile away), but would love to stay for a week!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suehhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

“In an age when customer service is a secondary consideration, it is refreshing to stumble across a hotelier that has got it so right. I wish your team every success for the future. I have no hesitation in recommending your services not only to friends but to the wider business community"

Room Tip: go for the double, only a few pounds extra and loads of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Rawlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed Last night 29 th September 2012 ,Thank you very Much for a relaxing stay at your Hotel,I recommend anybody to stay , the B&B is Spotlessly clean, and the owners are very friendly and welcoming . I would Definitely stay again Thank you Ian Wexford

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
7.2 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
3.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhins of Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhins of Galloway

Property: Rhins of Galloway
Address: A77 Coastal Road | Nr Stranraer, Cairnryan DG9 8QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhins of Galloway 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhins of Galloway is perfectly located beside the A77 connecting Cairnryan and Stranraer, just 1 mile south of Cairnryan P&O ferry terminal and 2 miles south of the Stena Line Cairnryan ferry terminal. This special and unique historic building is set in lawned gardens overlooking Loch Ryan. The fact that neither a licensed bar nor evening meals are offered defines the building as a Guest House rather than a Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rhins of Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhins Of Galloway Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing