We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reverse of a warm welcome” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhins of Galloway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhins of Galloway
Ranked #1 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The reverse of a warm welcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was given such a chilly welcome that I preferred not to stay at all. The cost for the room was high considering I was catching an early ferry the next day and there was no flexibility shown at all. And being treated with hostility did not encourage me to spend the money. 'Hospitality' is not what I encountered here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinsofGalloway, Owner at Rhins of Galloway, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
This solo traveller seems a bit confused, having been very willing to stay (inside or outside) as long as she did not have to pay the going rate.

Weeks before, a couple had booked our Churchill Suite for 1 night. The booking was for 2 persons. They had requested 2 'breakfast to go' bags since they were leaving early for the 07:30 ferry, one being for a gluten free diet, which we were pleased to accommodate.

These guests arrived at 20:30, but with another lady (the solo traveller reviewer) in tow. The reviewer wanted to sleep on the floor of the guests room, in a sleeping bag. We advised that we have a maximum occupancy of 2 in any room, but that we had an adjacent single room which she could book, the rate being £54. She advised that she had travelled all around the world and never had a problem sleeping on a friends floor before, and announced that she would sleep in the car outside, rather than pay that amount, particularly since she was leaving before cooked breakfast began. It was made clear by us that she would not then be allowed to use our facilities, and to our surprise, the guests then asked if we had won awards for our welcomes. At this point, we made it unarguably clear that we had an extra room on offer, if that was not acceptable, we were not a truck stop and would not allow people to sleep in a car in our grounds overnight instead.

The guests offered to pay for a room for the reviewer, but she advised she would just spend the night in the ferry terminal instead. The guests asked if they would be charged if they decided not to stay, and were told yes, unless we were able to relet the room, when there would be no charge. This seemed incredibly fair to us, particularly in light of the fact that we had specially shopped and prepared for the two breakfasts. They chose to stay alone, and paid, to the huge surprise of the reviewer that they had booked a £96 room.

The guests left with the reviewer to return sometime later without her, and spend the night.

This is similar to the other negative review we have recently received - we cannot make our policies clearer regarding number of people in a room, and we are not going to repeat that here. We had an additional room on offer at our normal price of £54. We charge the same rates everywhere, whether at the door, or through one of the booking agencies that charge us 15% commission, and we were not prepared to change this to give this woman the 'flexibility' that she wanted purely to avoid bad feeling and a bad review.

This reviewer confuses price with value and experienced nothing more than standing in the reception area with her requests for free/discounted accommodation not being met, so we hope that the ferry terminal, portaloo or wherever she found to sleep within her price range offered her the service and value for money that she sought. Perhaps lack of sleep helps explain her poor recollection of the evening before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
92
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I travel to Stranraer on business fairly regularly and discovered the Rhins of Galloway about 4 months ago. I've since stayed here on 5 or 6 occasions, and as the title states, I wouldn't choose to stay elsewhere. A lovely,welcoming stay with spotlessly clean rooms and little touches that make a difference.
I have to agree with previous reviews too - the breakfasts are worth the visit alone.A warm welcome awaits you. Heartily recommemded

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place on the way to the ferry but that not why we were there just chose it off the net, the rooms are exceptional and the toasts just as exceptional, all the small details are there and done to perfection, it's a 6 star premises and 6 star service without the costs.
Directions to go find a small village on the coast were great and a huge selection of places to eat with seafood being the best choice as it all local. I would recommend you don't miss this wonderful experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanfield Lea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great welcome , everything you could want and more in warm quiet room . Ideal for a journey including ferry to N Ireland .
Even a flask of cold , fresh milk for tea and coffee . For the price this is very good value .
Recommended !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikennikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We had been touring the Lake District and travelling home to the west coast of Scotland ,breaking our journey for the night .The Rhins of Galloway was a wonderful find . We were made very welcome and shown to our room , this turned out to be a complete self contained suite called the Churchill Suite . What a beautiful place it is . Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the decor is very tastefully done . The Churchill Suite has its own little fully furnished sitting room with a wine cooling cabinet ,TV , coffee table and lots of little extras . The dining room is very impressive with an equally impressive breakfast . Altogether this is a very very nice place to stay just sorry it was just for one night .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VW2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I am always wary of choosing accommodation from the internet, but as this was just a one night stay on the way to Northern Ireland I thought it would be OK. It was far more than OK, the room was one of the most comfortable and well-appointed that I have ever stayed in. The host were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Pillows are always an issue with us and we were very pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the bed and pillows were. Although we had a room facing the main road (and the sea) and we had the window open, the traffic noise did not disturb us at all. There was absolutely everything you would need in the en-suite shower, a very well-thought out hospitality tray (right down to the blunt ended scissors for opening the sachets!), iron and ironing board, hairdryer etc. Breakfast was piping hot and there was a good choice. Suffice to say, next time we go to Northern Ireland we will be booking in at The Rhins of Galloway.

Room Tip: Only know about room 9 and for us it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewdiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Rhins of Galloway for 1 night.
As soon as we walked in to the foyer/reception you could tell that this was a nice place to be.
We had a superior double at the front of the property and it certainly was superior.
It was a large room with a leather settee, FreeSky TV, a smaller room off to one side with a fireplace, dressing table/bureau all spotless and high quality furnishings.
The windows were double glazed with an extra glazing on the inside to stop the traffic noise.
Everywhere we went inside this B&B, was spotless and high quality
The breakfast room was also a joy to have breakfast in. There were binoculars, a spotting scope for bird spotting in the gardens. The breakfast was one of, if not the best selection I have seen.
They even have a Gluten Free menu which pleased my wife. there were even GF snacks in our room for my wife. I had the Full Breakfast (well it's tradition!) and it beat me!!
I found the owners a pleasure to talk to and nothing was too much trouble.
It is only 5 minutes away from the Stena ferry terminal and Stranraer.
I could go on about what a pleasure it was to stay at this B&B.
We even gave them a £10 tip on top of room price as it was well worth it.
We paid more for a room on Skye the night before and that was an absolutely shocking place to stay.
I hope we find ourselves in this area again as we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe less road noise in rear facing room? Superior Large double is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
7.2 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
3.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhins of Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhins of Galloway

Property: Rhins of Galloway
Address: A77 Coastal Road | Nr Stranraer, Cairnryan DG9 8QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhins of Galloway 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhins of Galloway is perfectly located beside the A77 connecting Cairnryan and Stranraer, just 1 mile south of Cairnryan P&O ferry terminal and 2 miles south of the Stena Line Cairnryan ferry terminal. This special and unique historic building is set in lawned gardens overlooking Loch Ryan. The fact that neither a licensed bar nor evening meals are offered defines the building as a Guest House rather than a Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rhins of Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhins Of Galloway Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing