We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of my trip to Scotland!”
Review of Rhins of Galloway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rhins of Galloway
Ranked #1 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After traveling through Northren Ireland and Scotland for about a month, Rhins of Galloway was by far the best B&B I stayed at. The owners made me feel warm and welcomed, which means alot when you are traveling alone. They were even kind enough to book me a cost effective coach to Edinburgh, when I had planned on taking an expensive taxi. The room was sleek and stylist, comfortable and quiet. The garden they keep is extrodinary and the breakfast they serve is to die for! Top that off with an sea veiw and you have a little peice of heaven. It was everything I had imagined and more!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade_McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed here for one night recently while touring Dumfries and Galloway.

I agree with the complimentary comments of previous reviewers and have nothing much to add.

Because there were few other guests, we were given the choice of rooms and opted for the garden flat, a self contained, two-bedroomed unit for only £4 more than a standard double room.

The beach across the road isn't much to look at but is interesting for its seabirds.

Ample free parking and free wi-fi Internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

A real quality place. The hosts could not be friendlier. We could not find any fault - at all! Great value for money and five minutes drive from Stranraer. HIGHLY recommended!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

A little gem. Worth much more than the room rate. The hosts are extremely helpful and make your stay very comfortblw.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stay in a variety of B and B's as we travel around Scotland/Ireland frequently. We have stayed in 'Rhins of Galloway' on several occasions and the standard of care is unfailingly superb. Thanks guys for always making our stay so memorable. This is probably the best B and B we have encountered yet...great value for money, a warm welcome and fab food. A fussy eating child was given her favourite foods for breakfast...specially bought in for her by the proprieters. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Motel-like exterior hides this gem of a hotel. Spotlessly clean rooms, ensuite bathroom, and public areas, combined with an excellent, beautifully presented full Scottish breakfast, make this the overnight stop of choice in future on our way to visit family via Cairnryan port.
The owners could not have been more helpful. It is a strictly enforced non-smoking establishment (Hurrah!) and does not have a liquor licence (Hurrah!), but they recommended a number of restaurants nearby, one of which, the Lisi family's L'Aperitif, and Italian restaurant in Stranraer, provided a magnificent dinner.
Free Wi-fi is available, and there is a Resident's lounge you are welcome to use, after you vacate your room, if you are catching an early afternoon ferry, for instance.
The sunset from the beach across the road was a stunner!
WE will definitely be using this hotel again in future, and will recommend it unreservedly to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed one night on 29th December 2009, breaking a journey between Belfast and Edinburgh. We were the only guests that night and were offered a choice of rooms based on whether our preference was for a sea view or onto the fields behind the hotel where sheep were guaranteed but deer might also put in an apearance. The welcome we received was outstanding, we have stayed in some high grade hotels over the years and the Rhins could certainly show them a thing or two. The accommodation was lovely, our room was decorated and furnished to a high standard, and was absolutely spotless. The weather outside was freezing but our room was warm and cosy. All the bathroom plumbing worked without a problem and hot water was in good supply. When even a small pair of scissors are provided with the tea and coffee making sachets in the bedroom you get a very good idea of the attention to detail the proprietors give to their guests! Breakfast was excellent, and portions were very generous. We couldn't fault Rhins Of Galloway, the owners are doing everything right. We would have liked to have stayed longer but we had a house move to get on with. We would have no hesitation in stopping at Rhins again and it gets our strongest recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
3.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
390 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Homestead Guest House
The Homestead Guest House
#5 of 6 in Cairnryan
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
102 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhins of Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhins of Galloway

Address: A77 Coastal Road | Nr Stranraer, Cairnryan DG9 8QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range: £74 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhins of Galloway 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhins of Galloway is perfectly located beside the A77 connecting Cairnryan and Stranraer, just 1 mile south of Cairnryan P&O ferry terminal and 2 miles south of the Stena Line Cairnryan ferry terminal. This special and unique historic building is set in lawned gardens overlooking Loch Ryan. The fact that neither a licensed bar nor evening meals are offered defines the building as a Guest House rather than a Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Rhins of Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhins Of Galloway Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing