We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such attention to detail...”
Review of Rhins of Galloway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhins of Galloway
Ranked #1 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I stayed at the Rhins of Galloway for the 2nd time recently and it was just as great as my first visit. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, has everything you'll need in your room including Sky Tv. The attention to detail in this place is better than in any 4 or 5 star Hotel I've stayed in before, they even have scissors in your room to cut open the coffee, tea or sugar sachets! It's not often you're asked if you'd like a small flask of cold milk for your tea or coffee is it? Well you do here.
Just when you think you've had a fantastic stay you then sample the breakfast!! This is made to order and is one of the best Scottish breakfasts I've had, none of the normal grease trails around the plates here.
Seeing is believing. If you're staying in this area as a base for touring or an overnight for the Ferry I'd book into this Hotel every time.
My last visit was in the junior suite, this had an entrance hall, living room, bedroom and a bathroom that seemed to have been transported from a showroom, fantastic!
The staff are so polite and cheerful, such a pleasant change to some large chained Hotels.
The only downside is that there is no bar, but hey, that won't do me no harm for one night!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purely4pleasre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

We would like to thank both Paul & John for their extremely warm welcome and friendliness. The rooms are spacious, very clean and decorated to a high standard with a lovely en-suite. The huge breakfast was cooked to perfection with plenty of variety. We would highly recommend The Rhins to family and friends and look forward to staying again in the future. Overall an excellent B&B to stay for comfort, scenery and location to the ferry ports.
Thanks again for everything you done to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Rod & Karen Rowe

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaggymun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I have stayed in quite a few hotels over the last 20 years and this motel/bed and breakfast would put a lot of them to shame. I have never seen a place so clean, I honestly thought I was the first person to stay there. The service was outstanding with thoughtfulness given on how I would be feeling with a late arrival. If you have reason to stay near Stranraer or Cairnryan then make this this your first call. Only criticism would be the gravel acess to the fron for anyone with wheeled luggage but as the owners are in the process of continuing improvements I am sure this will eventually be addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwilson1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After traveling through Northren Ireland and Scotland for about a month, Rhins of Galloway was by far the best B&B I stayed at. The owners made me feel warm and welcomed, which means alot when you are traveling alone. They were even kind enough to book me a cost effective coach to Edinburgh, when I had planned on taking an expensive taxi. The room was sleek and stylist, comfortable and quiet. The garden they keep is extrodinary and the breakfast they serve is to die for! Top that off with an sea veiw and you have a little peice of heaven. It was everything I had imagined and more!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade_McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed here for one night recently while touring Dumfries and Galloway.

I agree with the complimentary comments of previous reviewers and have nothing much to add.

Because there were few other guests, we were given the choice of rooms and opted for the garden flat, a self contained, two-bedroomed unit for only £4 more than a standard double room.

The beach across the road isn't much to look at but is interesting for its seabirds.

Ample free parking and free wi-fi Internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

A real quality place. The hosts could not be friendlier. We could not find any fault - at all! Great value for money and five minutes drive from Stranraer. HIGHLY recommended!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

A little gem. Worth much more than the room rate. The hosts are extremely helpful and make your stay very comfortblw.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
3.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
390 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0 mi away
The Homestead Guest House
The Homestead Guest House
#5 of 6 in Cairnryan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
102 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhins of Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhins of Galloway

Address: A77 Coastal Road | Nr Stranraer, Cairnryan DG9 8QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range: £75 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhins of Galloway 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhins of Galloway is perfectly located beside the A77 connecting Cairnryan and Stranraer, just 1 mile south of Cairnryan P&O ferry terminal and 2 miles south of the Stena Line Cairnryan ferry terminal. This special and unique historic building is set in lawned gardens overlooking Loch Ryan. The fact that neither a licensed bar nor evening meals are offered defines the building as a Guest House rather than a Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhins of Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhins Of Galloway Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing