We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Merchants House
Ranked #3 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tour of Ireland”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had to make a late booking in order to deal with an adjusted ferry schedule. As a consequence we got the last available room, which is the only "non ensuite", although you get exclusive use of the bathroom across the hall.

First point of praise is the care and attention shown by Fiona and Alan. Fiona personally went to the P&O terminal to double check the revised sailing schedules in order to ensure no slip ups with departure times.

The hotel is small, petite perhaps, but surprising. Alan runs a hospitable bar, bringing his dry Castleford humour into play. The restaurant is excellent, top quality food in very generous portions.

The other guests praised the quality of their rooms, I have to say that ours was a bit of a tight fit, a combined weight of thirty stone doesn't fit easily in a three quarter bed, but we were a very late booking and all I can say is, book early so you are not disappointed.

Fiona runs a good operation and really cares about her guests.

The ferry terminals are minutes away, so as a practical proposition the Merchants House is ideal.

My only suggestion - add a hand rail in the non ensuite bathroom.

Room Tip: Book in good time in order to guarantee an en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
50
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dromore, Co Tyrone
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Visited scotland for a few days from NI and with the ferry arriving late in the evening decided to stay local and travel up to the highlands in daylight.

Booked two spotless rooms overlooking the sea at the merchants house. Arrived late had a few drinks in a nice cosey bar with open logged fire, what more could you want.Opened the bedroom curtains to a shimmering blue sea with the stenaline ferry drifting in towards port at around 7am. Had a full cooked quality breakfast, more than we could eat with the normal juices/cereals yogourts available to help ourselves. You will feel more like a family guest that a paying visitor in this establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are excellent, have no experience of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed for one night (02/12/12) in this fantastic House prior to a morning ferry to Belfast. We arrived about 6pm and sat with our hosts Fiona and Allan infront of a lovely log fire (enjoying a drink)while we decided what to have for dinner. Delicious home made soup with crusty bread and fantastic battered haddock ( Fiona admitted she puts some pollenta in the batter mix) with chips and peas followed. A lovely cheese board was for dessert. Our room was at the front of the house and very comfortable. Very clean, fresh and an excellent en-suit. Tea/coffe facilities and a hair dryer were provided. VERY comfy bed ensured an great nights sleep, although my wife did notice some road noise. Breakfast was huge and very filling... great start to the day. Our stay, including all food and drinks from the cozey bar was great value for money...... the down side...we only had one night. Great place to stay if travelling to or from Ireland as its on the Stenna Line and P&O doorsteps. Well done Fiona and Allan.

Room Tip: They are all good but rear may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We only spent one night here which was perfect, we were late getting there due to the weather and they were very accomodating. The room was basic but very nice and clean. Breakfast was perfect, huge. When we were leaving the battery on our bike was dead and they assisted us by giving us a jump start. Would we stay there again, definately

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eangiectr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The owners, Fiona and Alan were extremely great hosts. They take great care in taking care of their quests. They even packed breakfast for my two adult kids so they would have food on the ferry. Thanks.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know what you need and they will go the extra yard to help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Booked the hotel for a Saturday night stay to visit the Royal Botanic Gardens in Logan. We had a very nice drive from our home via Galloway Park and arrived a bit early and drove around a bit till the opening time of 4 PM. Parking is easy at the front and the hotel is at quite a busy road between the two ferry ports to Northern Ireland (P&O, Stenna Line).

The welcome was very relaxed and warming. We booked our table for the evening and it certainly is not a restaurant for a person on a diet as the portions were very healthy and the quality was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Lucky for us the evening was sunny and the views over the loch were fantastic.

During the evening and night (Stenna is 24/7 ferry) the road noise is considerable and keeping the windows closed is advised to get a good night sleep. Breakfast was served and again not for the person on a diet. Very good and filling.

This was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and certainly advised specially for ferry travellers.

Room Tip: Even though the front rooms are on the noisy road side the views from here are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMichorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Called up the day before to book as we were taking the ferry to Ireland. Arrived late but they still welcomed us with a toastie and fries,yummy. Also managed a couple of pints in the wee bar. Ideal location for the ferries. Also made us a packed brekky as we were up too early to catch ferry. Will defo stay again when next time there. Thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrfubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
4.6 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
363 reviews
7.9 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
289 reviews
17.9 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Auld Cairn
The Auld Cairn
#5 of 6 in Cairnryan
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rhins of Galloway
Rhins of Galloway
#1 of 6 in Cairnryan
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchants House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchants House

Property: The Merchants House
Address: The Merchants House Main Street, Cairnryan DG9 8QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merchants House is a traditional property built in 1701. Situated on the shore of Loch Ryan, approximately 1/2 mile from P&O ferry terminal, we are conveniently located for guests travelling to Ireland. On 1st floor we have 2 comfortable en-suite family rooms and a further double room with shared bathroom. All bedrooms have colour TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We also have a licensed restaurant and bar on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Merchants House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchants House Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing