We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinlocheil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Definitely one of the best B&Bs my wife and I have stayed in (and we've tried a few). The rooms are large, well equipped, spotlessly clean with views to die for. It's in an ideal spot for travel to some truly beautiful parts of Scotland including Glenfinnan and the mighty Ben Nevis.
Sadly we didn't get to meet the lady of the house,Ellie, but Barry, the host, was a pleasure and made a fabulous breakfast, even though we presented him with the challenge of one vegetarian and one vegan. He was more than willing to help and advise on our onward travel and a really interesting guy.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noremactreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at Ardarroch Cottage. If you are trying to choose a B&B in the Fort William area, pick this one, you will not be disappointed. Not only was this B&B one of the nicest B&B's we've stayed in, the hospitality was exceptional. Well worth the value. Barry was a gracious host and very helpful in his recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My girlfriend and i travelled to Fort William & we had a very pleasant stay in this B&B for 2 days. The place is comfortable and very clean.The ensuite room was lovely,cosy,with a beautiful view of the mountains and tea making facilities. Barry(the host) was very kind,friendly and extremely helpful..he gave a few tips about the area which were very useful. You are 15 mins from Glenfinnan Viaduct and less than 10 miles drive from Ben Nevis.
Breakfast was included in the cost of our room and we enjoyed our freshly cooked full breakfast...you can also have cereal,yogurt,cookies,tea,coffee,juices.
Overall a very nice place & great hospiptality. We would have liked to have stayed longer:-)
Thanks Barry...Kind regards from Ali & Anna

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Great place with the greatest hoster. Lovely rooms and perfect breakfast, with a nice view on the windows. The place is near mallaig, Fort Williams, Loch Ness. The owners have a great sense of hospitallity

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We, my girlfriend and I, stayed with Barry for 2 days. (His wife was out of town) We really couldn't wish for a better host. The rooms were wonderfull, the breakfast was the best way possible to start the day, the views were amazing but the hospitality was perfection. He's a allround great guy who does everything possible to make your stay feel like a real holliday.

If we're ever going back to Scotland, what we probably will, we're certainly staying with them again!

Highly Highly Highly recommended!

Ps: I have a bad back and the bed was really confortable and I woke up without any pain ( and this doesn't happen a lot)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Well where to start, from the second we stepped out of the car it was apparent we had found the jewel in the crown, Barry gave us such a lovely warm welcome, he showed us to the most beautiful room in their gorgeous Loch side house, the views are just breathtaking both of the surrounding mountains and Loch, we then met Ellie who was as warm and so welcoming as Barry had been earlier.
We asked for recommendations of where to eat that evening and were given plenty of choices, we chose The Moorings and in fact ate there both evenings, after the most peaceful sleep we ventured down for breakfast which was perfectly cooked by Barry and again your every need was catered for, nothing is too much trouble for these lovely people.
The second day of our stay we popped off to the Isle of Skye and had a glorious day over there returning by car on the ferry, again we ate and returned to the cottage, shortly after our return Ellie knocked on the door and presented us with a lovely bottle of bubbly and a tray of nibbles, how very thoughtful of them both, this was to celebrate our Silver Anniversary and was totally unexpected, there was also a wee card and some little silver wedding confetti type things on the table in the room along with a bowl of delicious grapes.
The room contains so many little luxurious extras and I have to state it is by far one of the best places we have stayed,all I can say is I wish we had stayed longer, you will never want to leave this beautiful house and it's absolutely fantastic hosts, well done Barry and Ellie there is absolutely NOTHING you could have done to make our stay anymore special, sending love to Cleo and the chickens, thank you girls for your delicious eggs xxx We would both recommend Ardarroch Cottage as first class, we will be back, but next time for much longer.
Thank you so much Barry and Ellie, we hope you read this. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: If you want a warm welcome a reasonable cost and some luxury STAY HERE, you will not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eloise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was a great place to stay. We were travelling with friends and so had the whole upstairs to ourselves. The rooms were beautifully furnished with everything you could possibly want. Barrie & Ellie were fantastic hosts and breakfast was excellent. This really was one of the best places we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwennyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlocheil
7.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
8.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
6.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
6.9 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#4 of 111 in Fort William
736 reviews
8.9 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardarroch Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardarroch Cottage B&B

Address: Kinlocheil, Kinlocheil, Fort William, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Kinlocheil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlocheil
Price Range: £87 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardarroch Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardarroch Cottage is a small friendly Bed & Breakfast that offers an exceptional standard of accommodation and service. We are situated only 8 miles from Fort William on the beautiful "Road to the Isles" with excellent transport links to all parts of the Highlands. The house has stunning views of Ben Nevis and Loch Eil and in the summer you can sit and watch the famous Steam Train pass twice daily. Accommodation is of a very high standard with full en-suite facilities. Tea and Coffee making facilities, Satellite TV and free Internet access (WIFI) in all rooms. Full Scottish Breakfast or Continental Style Breakfast is included and any special dietary requests can be catered for. Ardarroch Cottage is ideally located for those wanting to be ‘out of town’ yet require easy access to all the facilities offered in Lochaber - "The Outdoor Capital of UK." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ardarroch Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardarroch Cottage B&B Kinlocheil, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing