We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Overscaig House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lairg
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Picked this hotel as a touring base for Cape Wrath and the North Coast. A warm welcome and
the second night's dinner was superb. Dined in London ,New York ,Chicago but this hotel has the beating of them all. The lamb dish I suggested to the waitress should have been entered for the masterchef programme, to be informed that the chef -her husband- had reached the third round and was beaten only by the final winner!. A cracking place and to be throughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We have always worked hard to make our food something special and it helps that we are supplied with such great local produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Overscaig House for two nights, mid June. We were warmly welcomed by the owners, Jan & Martin, and were very happy to accept the kind offer of complimentary tea, coffee and homemade shortbread on arrival. We stayed in room three which has wonderful views to the front of the hotel, overlooking the Loch. The room was very spacious, well appointed and comfortable. We ate at the hotel on both nights, the first in the restaurant, also overlooking the Loch, the second night in the bar. Food on both nights was delicious, our compliments to the chef. Both Jan, Martin, and their staff, were really helpful with ideas on how to spend our time exploring the area surrounding Overscaig. The only downside to the good weather over the weekend were the ever present midges. Unfortunately, as Scots, we know this just cant be helped and is the fault of no-one. However, Jan & Martin provide spray repellent throughout the hotel that all are welcome to use, a welcome touch! Overall, a really enjoyable stay and we would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The views from room three are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review - yes the midges can be a pest but at least a slight breeze can keep them away and we can be a windy place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spent three lovely nights here. Martin and his staff made us very welcome. The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable, with good food and a selection of draught, bottled beers and wine. The restaurant, where breakfast is served, has lovely views to the loch. Bird feeders are very close by, allowing you to watch them without the need for binoculars. Siskins are everywhere! Crossbills to be found nearby in the fir trees. It is apparent Overscaig gets a lot of repeat business, says a lot about the hotel, Martin and its staff. Not to mention the good food. Yes, it is remote, 13 miles to Lairg but, isn't that why you are there in the first place? Thanks for your help during our stay Martin.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very spacious. Well equipped, lovely view over Loch Shin, two comfortable chairs to relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - hopefully next time you will get a chance to watch the Osprey diving for its supper while you eat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A return trip to Overscaig for us after a brief stay there in 2013. Unfortunately we could only get a room for 1 night as they were full the other nights.
We were met by Martin, the Owner, who remembered us from a year ago. We were slightly disappointed to be told it was the Chef's night off, and dinner would be in the bar. The disappointment didn't last long once we say the menu and specials board. Venison lasagne is not your average pub grub, and the other two courses were really good also.
If you like whisky, you are spoiled for choice and Martin will guide you if you can't decide.
The room was clean, in good order and a comfy bed, just what you need. Views from the dining room over Loch Shin are stunning, you can hire a boat to go fishing if that's your thing.
We will return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for returning to The Overscaig and for your lovely review. Next time you are here maybe you can try one of the boats and catch a trout for breakfast! We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the scenery and setting to the warmth of the welcome - a fantastic hotel experience.
The food was unbelievable - I have eaten in Michelin star restaurants and it is not as good as the Overscaig.
The rooms were beautifully decorated - a stunning view - and the beds really comfortable. I never sleep the first night in a hotel but did not have that problem here.
With guests in the hotel from Essex, Falkirk and Edinburgh people travel to stay in this hotel - having been there for 3 nights - I understand why!
Martin & Jan are the owners who provided a great welcome and hotel stay - Good Job guys!!

Room Tip: I am sure any room I this hotel is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for recognising the efforts that we, and our fantastic staff, go to to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent 3 very enjoyable nights here, The service was excellent and Martin was very helpful and knowledgeable.
The food was very good and we ate from both the Bar & restaurant menu's.
If you are planning to base yourself here for a tour of the north of Scotland be aware that it is at least 13 miles before you begin your tour.
The location on the loch side is very impressive and beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose a Loch view room, cost a bit more but worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review - hopefully the 13 miles is as enjoyable as the rest of the tour! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stopped for lunch and was very impressed by the warm welcome we got (there was nobody else there, which can sometimes be awkward). Service was attentive and efficient and the food was lovely too.

There was also nice view over the mountains from the dinining room.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overscaig, Owner at Overscaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lairg
14.8 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
19.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
13.8 mi away
Invercassley Cottage B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overscaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overscaig House Hotel

Address: Loch Shin | By Lairg, Lairg IV27 4NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lairg
Price Range: £1,535 - £2,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overscaig House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overscaig House Hotel sits at the heart of Sutherland in the Northern Highlands of Scotland and our guests enjoy the peace and tranquility of its wonderful location overlooking Loch Shin. We have 8 modern en-suite bedrooms, all of which have tea & coffee trays, Freesat TV & DVD and most have loch views. You can enjoy locally sourced cuisine in our loch view dining room, read a book in our comfortable lounge or simply have a drink in the bar. Within easy reach of the coast and the NC500 this is an ideal base from which to explore everything from Inverness to John O'Groats and Cape Wrath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Overscaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overscaig House Hotel Lairg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing