We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
178
23
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
23
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ben klibreck ben hope toasties other guests porridge real character very special place tongue evening meals are great host steak pie cake scones remote location douglas denise cyclists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Crask for two nights while across to walk Ben Hope. Dinner was superb both nights, breakfast equally as good both days (best cooked breakfast I've ever had). The bar with woodburning stove and sheepdogs running in and out is unique and cosy. We had two great nights in there drinking malts and black isle bottled ales.

Will be going back as soon as I can!

Room tip: The bothy is ideal for a group of walkers.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stephenkemp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The thing about charm is that you cannot manufacture it. This place is utterly charming. Basic, comfortable, remote, welcoming charmingly wonderful.

Date of stay: April 2012
6  Thank Craig051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed there for two nights when I came up from glasgow. £45 a night and I got my breakfast and 3 course dinner, which I loved. Mike and Kai the owners were fantastic and made my self very welcome. I loved the food. Also loved their sheep dogs who are very frendly.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank quinn_john70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I 've never stayed at the"Crask",but visited many times,in all seasons.
The setting is stunning,the owners are an example to all the "chains" who spend thousands on Customer care and yet miss the mark as it all comes across as contrived.
This is a place with a warm genuine welcome,which is maintained until you leave and not a "Have a nice day" mentioned!!!
The whole experience is magical,with the bar area,with the wonderful roaring fire,ornaments,pictures giving you the feeling of been in someones front-room.
It is almost unique---there is the "Drovers" at Loch Lomond,but that is on a larger scale,and does not have the personal touch.
Don't succumb to modernisation/TV/Wi-Fi---stay as you are and the visitors will continue to give such glowing reviews for such a fantastic experience.
Food---Excellent home fayre
I love calling in in winter--in such a remote area it is an oasis and your mood is lifted as you walk through the door.
Just LOVE IT.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Crask is one of the most special places in which I have ever stayed.

The location is sensational - remote but not hemmed in by the hills - so it enjoys a huge sky and spectacular stargazing. Our viewing of the stars was disturbed only by the northern lights!

What defines The Crask is Mike and Kai and together they create a perfect environment in which to stay. The food is great - you will be eating their beasts and their vegetables and not only will it be the highest quality produce, it will be beautifully cooked. Mike is modest about his cooking (he claims Kai is far better) but his lamb chops with leek sauce was one of my top meals of all time.

It goes without saying that the breakfast is magnificent - it is tempting to visit the Crask just for its food alone!

The practicalities are very good; comfortable bed, en-suite facilities etc., the fire will always be going in the bar area and considering the local environment, the house is actually very warm!

There really are very few places that I have a burning desire to go back to but the Crask is one of those few. Mike and Kai are those 'one in a million' people that you wish to revisit just to have a chat and listen to some more of their stories. The fact that the Crask lies in a most remarkably beautiful land and they serve you the most remarkably great food is just a bonus.

Date of stay: February 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank microcuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews