We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
148
17
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
17
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peat fire place to stay climbing ben warm welcome ben hope mod cons home cooking home cooked meal soup and sandwiches lands end to john o groats home made wonderful hosts rhubarb crumble unique pub big dining table lovely garden toasties
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Arrived at hotel they couldnt find room key and procedded to break lock could see why they had it locked when got inside room stank of pish bed was like a coffin towels were grey cos of old age and dog hair all over room asked were tv was and was givin a book from 2008 to read then asked what menu was for dinner and got told youll get stew and tatties at haf 8 needles to say i made my excuse and sprinted away from this deer killing shed

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Zander1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Crask for two nights while across to walk Ben Hope. Dinner was superb both nights, breakfast equally as good both days (best cooked breakfast I've ever had). The bar with woodburning stove and sheepdogs running in and out is unique and cosy. We had two great nights in there drinking malts and black isle bottled ales.

Will be going back as soon as I can!

Room tip: The bothy is ideal for a group of walkers.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stephenkemp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The thing about charm is that you cannot manufacture it. This place is utterly charming. Basic, comfortable, remote, welcoming charmingly wonderful.

Date of stay: April 2012
6  Thank Craig051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed there for two nights when I came up from glasgow. £45 a night and I got my breakfast and 3 course dinner, which I loved. Mike and Kai the owners were fantastic and made my self very welcome. I loved the food. Also loved their sheep dogs who are very frendly.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank quinn_john70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I 've never stayed at the"Crask",but visited many times,in all seasons.
The setting is stunning,the owners are an example to all the "chains" who spend thousands on Customer care and yet miss the mark as it all comes across as contrived.
This is a place with a warm genuine welcome,which is maintained until you leave and not a "Have a nice day" mentioned!!!
The whole experience is magical,with the bar area,with the wonderful roaring fire,ornaments,pictures giving you the feeling of been in someones front-room.
It is almost unique---there is the "Drovers" at Loch Lomond,but that is on a larger scale,and does not have the personal touch.
Don't succumb to modernisation/TV/Wi-Fi---stay as you are and the visitors will continue to give such glowing reviews for such a fantastic experience.
Food---Excellent home fayre
I love calling in in winter--in such a remote area it is an oasis and your mood is lifted as you walk through the door.
Just LOVE IT.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northernroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews