We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished friendly hotel in beautiful spot”
Review of Oykel Bridge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lairg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oykel Bridge Hotel
Argyll Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refurbished friendly hotel in beautiful spot”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I very much enjoyed my recent visit to The Oykel Bridge Hotel - extremely friendly staff and happy atmosphere. Although I didn't stay, I was given the chance to view some of the recently refurbished bedrooms - very impressed. Tastefully done and to a high standard. The hotel has new owners who have already done so much and I understand plan to do much more to make this a really comfortable hotel. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieArgyllScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were staying at the Oykel Bridge Hotel whilst fishing on the Upper Oykel. Fantastic new team running it, and nothing was too much trouble. Buffet style dinner was exceptional every night. We stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms. beautifully designed with wonderfully comfy beds, pillows and bed linen. Our son stayed in a room that hasn't been done up but it had had a lick of paint and was still really nice. Dogs welcome too. Definitely should be on anyone's list to stay there or eat if passing through. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel with a pub attached is the focal point for salmon fishermen who represent most of the hotel's guests. I have stayed here for several years and this year it has recently had a partial makeover and new management.

The bedrooms are now more modern and comfortable and every night a different roast meal is served to the guests. It is hearty honest fair and it is clear the new kitchen is seeking to raise standards and certainly achieving this.

Overall it is a welcoming hotel and very convivial. It is not the hight of luxury but that is not what I personally want when staying in the highlands. Much better an honest good value quality hotel where the guests all mix and talk together. A fine whisky selection behind the bar as you'd expect.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have been improved, some more than others. This is reflected by a small difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My second visit, as a fishing tenant on the Lower Oykel. Compared to last year, my room was much updated. Better bed, better lightning and so on. And as last year, the athmosphere, the quietness, the company and the surroundings is really something special.

It still looks dated on the outside, and also in the areas on first floor. But it really has a special feeling to it, and sitting in the bar or in the lounge and talking to fishing friends - old and new - is an experience of it's own. A lot has been done to improve the place, and if they continue this way it will gradually move from very good to excellent. The option of a generous, packed lunch is also just on spot for fishermen. And probably also for walkers.

And finally, fishing the Lower Oykel is soemthing very special. I've fish quite a lot of rivers in Norway and Scotland, but the Lower Oykel is among the very best for many reasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I visited the Oykel Bridge Hotel in June 2013 during a walking holiday. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a spotlessly clean recently refurbished room. The dinner that night and breakfast were outstanding and we also had an excellent choice of cooked meats and fruit from which to prepare our own packed lunch.
As many of their guests may have spent time outside the facilities include a spacious & warm drying room.
The hotel has been popular with fishermen and remains true to that tradition whilst welcoming guests with other hobbies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianfdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

the outside is unspectacular, the inside of groundfloor and restaurant looks still like twenty to forty years ago: it is about fishing, it is about gentlemen coming up from London with the wifes,
partners or older son and the food is delecious, homemade and great.
don is a perfect host and the value for money can't be better:
a four course meal with coffee and toffees for pounds:
prawncocktail with avocado, lentil and ham soup, homemade bread, sirloin roast with yorkshire puddings and roast vegetables and potatoes, sticky toffee pudding with fresh fruit-salad and vanilla icecream - everything was in portions as much as you like...
fantastic!

Room Tip: the first floor rooms are freshly renovated and upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julius3-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stopped here as part of my Cape Wrath Trail walk and received a very warm and friendly welcome. The room was lovely and my bar meal of fish and chips was outstanding. The new managers are doing a fantastic job.

Room Tip: Room overlooking river has very good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lairg
12.9 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
14.0 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
22.2 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#5 of 10 in Lairg
54 reviews
5.3 mi away
Invercassley Cottage B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykel Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykel Bridge Hotel

Property: Oykel Bridge Hotel
Address: Rosehall, Lairg IV27 4HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lairg
Also Known As:
Oykel Bridge Hotel Lairg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing