We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well appointed”
Review of Highland House B&B

Highland House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lairg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland House B&B
Ranked #6 of 9 Lairg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were very glad to arrive in the warmth and tuck our bikes away in the outbuilding after a long, hard, wet day's cycling. Slightly 'reluctant' welcome - we were fairly late, but had kept in touch to advise arrival time as requested.
Really, really nice room with loads of space and lots of very thoughtful touches.
Ultra quiet night, so we were suprised to come down in the morning to find the other guests already sitting at the table. Very unusual to share one big table for breakfast, but it worked really well and we felt like firm friends with the others (all very interesting people) by the end of the meal. Very tasty food with loads of options.
Friendly and helpful departure.

Room Tip: Limited accomodation available in Lairg, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumpingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We decided to use Lairg as a base to explore the north of Scotland from and we are glad we did because that brought us to Highland House B&B. What a wonderful place to stay. June & Clive were perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel really welcome. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, the breakfasts almost too good. All in all, an excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJS-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Booked a double room at late notice due to a family funeral in the village. Warm friendly welcome from the owner and a super room just to the right of the main door. Had keys for both the main door and bedroom so we were free to come and go as we pleased. The B&B is about a mile outside of Lairg village along the main road, but it is a beautiful walk along the side of Loch Shin (past my favourite But n Ben!). Car parking is limited but enough for the small amount of guests staying there. Breakfast in the morning was superb!! Order the night before, before bedtime and it is cooked and ready waiting on you at 8.30am. We had the full cooked breakfast both mornings and it kept us going past lunch. Superb. Especially loved the homemade jams and bread. Overall it was exactly what we needed. Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeLezalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Fantastic B&B, nothing was too much trouble, ver clean and comfortable, the breakfast was lovely, homemade bread and jam, whart more can I say!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisemesquitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The rooms are nice and comfortable, lovely en suite bathroom. The house is situated outside Lairg so you'd probably have to drive in. We bought the homemade jam and second hand books on sale in the lounge which were a nice touch, as were the bottles of water, shower gel etc provided. Lovely breakfast with homemade bread. Lairg isn't the nicest town though!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnhutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

it is in a good location on the outskirts of lairg, only a 2 minute drive. the rooms have all the facilities you could want. the breakfast has a wide range of choice with locally produced food. there is storage for cyclists bikes and other sporting equipment. very welcoming owners and if we were to travel here again we would certainly stay another time! excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

One of the best bed and breakfasts Ive stayed in, with prices being th cheepest in lairg, The rooms have all the facilities you need with heating and hotwater all day and the breakfast was great with many options to choose from and plenty of it. Locoation was also great being not to far from the coast and the little towns as well as all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crtquicksilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lairg hotels
0 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
0 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#5 of 9 in Lairg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
0 mi away
Achmelvich Beach Youth Hostel
0 mi away
Invercassley Cottage B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House B&B

Address: 88 Lower Toroboll, Lairg IV27 4DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lairg
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highland House B&B Lairg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing