We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but limited”

The Crofters Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Lairg
Cuisines: Scottish, British
Restaurant details
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK but limited”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Whilst staying at a B&B in Lairg this was a natural choice for an evening meal. Discovered however that for 3 nights of the week it was closed due to a local private booking and when it was open our reserved table was taken by someone else and we were put elsewhere. The food was OK but to be honest we discovered better at another nearby establishment. It was the end of the holiday season so perhaps we caught them off chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stopped here at 3 in afternoon and found it nice quiet and relaxing. I had a lovely chat with the girls. The food was delightful and plenty. Crofters pie very tasty and bigger than usual. Quaint touch by having puzzles on the table if you have the time, we never. Price I thought was on par with just about anywhere else you go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foster1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

tea and a bun £6 tells you something ok if everywhere else is closed and you are snowed in throughout August if not we will not return

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
204 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

More people should go to Lairg and be served by this excellent restaurant. Home baking a must

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In need of a rethink”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I had to go to this restaurant while work was being done to my kitchen at home. It was a while ago I went but my lasting memory is that not alot was available, the soup was made from a bag of frozen veg warmed up and the steak pie offended my nose without the need to taste it. The staff wasn't bother if I was there or not and laughed about the fact that everything was off on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dhstevoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crofters Restaurant also viewed

Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Crofters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing