We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing house in a fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shore Croft

Shore Croft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shore Croft
Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Shore Croft
Sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom can be either King or twin
Wildlife viewing seat
Wildlife viewing seat
Garden
Winter at Shore Croft
Garden furniture on the decking
Fire pit
Wildlife viewing seat
Fire pit
Local beach
Hamish!
The sunset
Loch Ewe
Loch Ewe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mellon Charles, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mel R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing house in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Sometimes words simply are not enough !
We arrived at Shorecroft on a sunny afternoon to see the sun setting and watch a beautiful roaring fire in the most iliac location. I don't think we have ever stayed in such a well equipped house with amazing attention to detail. Hours can be spent just starring out out the lock and the surrounding scenery. I don't think I have ever seen so many stars in the sky, we hope to back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allisonfa...
Doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A stunning property!”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A stunning property in a stunning location. As soon as you walk through the front door, the view takes your breath away. We were so impressed with the quality of everything and the place was spotless. We were lucky enough to watch the sea otters playing in the cove and also had a barn owl sat on the gardens fence post during the day! We visited Mellon udrigle beach which has beautiful white sand and laide forest walk with a fantastic waterfall. The Chinese take away in gairloch was lovely, aultbea stores stocked just about everything you needed and were very welcoming. We returned home on Saturday and on Sunday booked for next year! Wow

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“another wonderful stay at Shorecroft”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at Shorecroft before I knew what to expect but even so, expectations were (as always) exceeded. It is a truly lovely cottage, so warm and inviting in chilly February weather, and superbly comfortable. There seems to be everything one could possibly want for a relaxed and at the same time luxurious stay. The kitchen is fabulously equipped and the sitting room so comfortable - evenings were spent lounging in front of the blazing log fire! A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMook...
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay at a beautiful house in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at ShoreCroft in a stunning location in the North West of Scotland during a wintery week in January. The house is as good as you hope and probably exceeded our expectations with those little touches that make a place feel that bit more 'special'. The owners were helpful and available if needed, but we really didn't need to bother them as everything worked out great.
The location is so quiet and peaceful with all manner of sights that nature can offer, literally outside the windows ( we were lucky to see otters just off the headland and the Northern Lights above it)..
Can't recommend this enough and aim to be back ourselves one day soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge was so relaxing for looking out at the nature all around.
Liked least: Honestly loved everything!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supercalu...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful remote winter retreat by the sea”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have not long returned home from a wonderful week staying on Loch Ewe at Shore Croft with my husband, daughter and several older family members. It is a wonderful home with excellent kitchen and everything you need to self cater perfectly. Many local attractions were closed for winter but we still managed to meet the locals at the village store, obtain some excellent smoked salmon from the Isle of Ewe Smokehouse, enjoy long walks along the coast, watch the otters play almost every day, light the wonderful fire place, bird watch and do jigsaw puzzles. Beautiful area, perfect holiday house and very relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful remote location on beautiful coast with fantastic sunsets over Loch Ewe
Liked least: Some local shops were closed for winter, but it didn't detract - I'd love to come back again anyway!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham L
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an even more beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Shore Croft Cottage is very well appointed cottage that sleeps 8.
It has a lovely open plan kitchen diner that has fantastic views out to sea, even the lounge and master bedroom all have great views out to sea.

If you are taking dogs there is the usual weekly surcharge, but this is more than made up by having a fully fenced garden that is secure for larger breed dogs and the property has a good size utility room and hallway where they can sleep at night.

We'll be going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesO_12
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in a Spectacular Location”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Shore croft is a beautiful house with stunning views across Loch Ewe
From the minute we arrived, after a long journey, everything was in place for a perfect rest, and enabled us all to have the escape from the daily hustle and bustle
The house is light, airy, with wonderful views from each room, immaculately clean, modern, homely but with luxury touches.
The kitchen has been installed to such a high standard, with every accessory you could need. There is nothing you couldn't prepare and cook. The local supermarket and butchers are well stocked (the Aultbea butchers home made pies are delicious!) and there are several food stores, some open on Sunday, in nearby Gairloch. If you didn't want to cook there are lots of pubs and restaurants within the area. Even a fish and chip shop and a Chinese takeaway in Gairloch.
The location is fabulous, added to this is the large secure garden and direct access to the pebble beach. Perfect for our two children (aged 12yrs and 13yrs) and Jack Russell. Many hours were spent rock pooling. One morning we were lucky enough to spot porpoises in the loch.
Sandy beaches can also be found within a short drive. Our favourite was Mellon Udrigle a lovely white sandy beach.
We were very lucky to have warm sunny days for most of our holiday. However the location, with its ever changing views across Loch Ewe and the very high standards that Shorecroft provides would ensure that you would have an excellent stay at any time of year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing