We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream-house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shore Croft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mellon Charles, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sunflower...
Trier, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream-house”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Being there for the second time, we were surprised, why it took us 9 years to go back, next time won't take that long. The house is really a dream, the location, the furniture, the equipment - anything you could think of. We were travelling with 7 adults and there is plenty of space for all of them. We'll come back !!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieRuth...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious stay in beautiful Wester Ross”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Where do I start? It's been 10 years since we visited this beautiful part of Scotland and the area did not disappoint. There is something magical about Loch Ewe and surrounding beaches and villages and Shore Croft was an amazing place to stay. The house is beautifully decorated with everything you need for a comfortable stay with it's own private beach. Everything has been thought of at Shore Croft to make your stay as comfortable as possible even down to providing a bed for the dog. Fantastic week and the weather was great. We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonyFee...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, great house, wonderful amenities, good bike rides”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house is beautifully constructed, has all the facilities that you're likely to need, and is situated in a beautiful location with fantastic countryside and a beach right on the doorstep. The high-quality bikes available for hire at the house enable you easily to go biking in the stunning nearby mountains. There is shopping, cafe, pub, etc. in the nearby village and we never lacked anything. This is a wonderful, restful place to spend time chilling out.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJoHall0...
1 review
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Shore Croft is a very warm, welcoming (and well insulated) property, it offers 5 star accommodation in a stunning location.

The four spacious bedrooms have comfortable beds and are tastefully furnished and decorated. The bathrooms were spacious and modern and the underfloor heating was a treat!

The lounge felt very homely, again with very tasteful decorations and furnishings. The kitchen / dining area was bright and modern and spacious. The large utility room was also well used!

Outside is access to the pebbly beach, outdoor seating areas and fire pit, don't get too cosy inside, get wrapped up and go and watch the shooting stars.

The most refreshing thing about Shore Croft was the lack of signs, there's nothing worse than being told "don't touch this, don't touch that", everything was neatly provided in a welcome pack and instruction books.

Shore Croft provides everything you need, including spare light bulbs, picnic blankets, outdoor wine glasses, herbs and spices, the list is endless! Not once did we say "they haven't provided.....".

The cleanliness was immaculate, top marks to the housekeeper, she keeps the place looking brand new!

The quality of the towels, bedding, soaps, crockery, cutlery etc was brilliant (I'm now a big fan of The White Company)!

Shore Croft...we miss you already and can't wait to come back.

Thank you for a wonderful week.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue8353
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house in a great setting”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Shore Croft proved to be a wonderful home from home. Easy to live in - stylish spacious rooms with comfy places to sit and admire the view or just relax. Well-equipped with thoughtful and generous touches. Stress - free and restful. Just lovely.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica N
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wild weather in cosy comfort”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a fantastic wild and windy week cocooned in comfort in this delightful house, which is ​even ​better than the photos can convey. From the moment we walked through the front door we felt at home. Warm central heating​,​ with the added bonus of an open fire, ​was complemented by cosy sofas, comfortable beds and a very well-​equipped kitchen​​. The personal touches in every room mad​e it a joyful place to spend time.

During our week in early January we had wild winds, sleet and snow, but the weather is so changeable that we always managed to get out for a wonderfully invigorating walk each day.

The local fisherman delivered live langoustines he had caught that day - you can't get fresher than that! And the local store had ​all ​the basics ​we needed. We also had lunch at the Oran-na-mara cafe in Aultbea​, although m​ost ​of the ​other places were closed at that time of the year.

We really loved our winter holiday and hope to return ​at another time ​​to experience the mood of a different season.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suecal201...
Great Sankey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning perfect Christmas break!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Simply stunning were the only words I could think when I first entered Shorecroft! Even after spending a great deal of time gazing at it on the internet, those pictures could not do it enough justice and couldn't portray the instant feeling of welcoming warmth that you feel the minute you step inside. I first saw Shorecroft on an internet search six years ago, unfortunately I had to cancel our booking then due to an operation on a broken ankle. Six years later we've just spent our family Christmas there and it was worth every day of the wait!

Arriving on the day Storm Barbara was hitting Britain with 90mph winds, in particular NW Scotland, we were a little anxious what we were heading to. All I can say is those fears were soon cast aside and being cosy and safe inside watching the storm howling around us from every window view just made the holiday more enjoyable. Nothing like lighting a log fire sat tucked up in a snug warm living room, leisurely playing games and watching the ever changing Scottish skies across the beautiful landscapes. The views from the large kitchen diner windows were just as captivating. It was hard to believe how windy it was outside as the house is so wind /soundproof and cosy. I say cosy but Shorecroft isn't small, the house is deceivingly big with so much cleverly designed space inside, plenty of space for our family of six adults and two dogs to spread out. It's a beautiful home with attention to detail everywhere you look and all the facilities and comfort you could wish for and stunning views from every window. It’s not somewhere you want to leave in a hurry. Having to stay in during the storms was not a chore, it was a privilege.

From the moment I booked the house, owner Hilary kept in touch and was on hand helping with any queries. When we arrived champagne and salmon was waiting in the fridge, a little touch of thoughtful luxury much appreciated. Wendy the housekeeper is also a credit to Shorecroft being friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. She even helped us to get a Christmas tree from Laide Wood and had it put in place for us before we arrived, then to top that turned up in the midst of the storm on our first evening with a box of baubles. It was magical. Wendy’s also very knowledgeable about the local area and wildlife; it was reassuring to know a local friendly face was to hand if needed.

It was amazing waking up at Shorecroft Christmas morning, we even managed a quick blustery run down to the house’s own stoney beach in PJ’s, coats and Christmas hats for the compulsory family selfie! Opening Santa’s stockings in front of a crackling log fire looking out at Loch Ewe was truly memorable. After three days of Storm Barbara followed by Storm Conor we spent a lovely couple of days out sightseeing having a lovely stroll along the beautiful Mellon Udrigle beach then a drive along to Gairloch, Badachro, Red Point and Cove. The views everywhere are to die for even on the cloudiest windy days.

Determined not to be deterred by the winter weather and grabbing the opportunities when the wind ceased, we managed to light the outside fire pit one evening which was great fun and a proud achievement! On the last day we got to go on a short bike ride, the bikes being a new venture for 2016 and a fantastic idea. Seriously, Shorecroft’s lovely owners Hilary and Peter have thought about everything, from the new bikes to the telescope in the lounge for wildlife viewing, the heated flooring, beautiful seating areas outside, secure fencing for the dogs who enjoyed every minute, the list is endless! Being able to take the dogs with us was a massive bonus.

I could write all day about wonderful Shorecroft but having read the reviews myself prior to going, it still surpassed my expectations, you just can’t explain the warm feeling it gives you each and every time you enter the house or simply stand in its large garden on the headland with its amazing sea views.

We cannot wait to return, you do need to book early as so many people think the same as us and have been returning year after year. I really hope we won’t have to wait too long but I know it will be worth it!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.