We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday at burnbank lodges.......again!”
Review of Burnbank Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnbank Lodges
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday at burnbank lodges.......again!”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

our second holiday at burnbank lodges.....the lodges are simply perfect.....very clean and homely and extremely well stocked with everything you need......the lodges are in such a lovely quiet setting yet close to every amenity needed.........Ria and Phill the owners are lovely helpful people.....nothing is too much trouble for them to either help you or advise you. Our dog Kara loved the place too! All in all simply a perfect place to spend a holiday.......we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

me and my partner went to burnbank lodges in feb was a great place lodges were really clean and cosy had everything u need in them , was so quiet and peaceful didnt want to leave, so we have booked up for april taking my mother in law and father in law to let them see what a gr8 place it is

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_campbell186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Used this as a base from which to enjoy trips to the mountains. The lodge had everything we required, was clean and very quiet. On site laundry and drying room proved valuable. Owners very friendly. It would have benefited from wifi on the site.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgershall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We found Burnside to be an ideal base for getting to the places that we wanted to visit during our stay including, Glencoe, Sky, Oban and even Tomintoul.

The setting is ideal for those looking for some peace and quiet. The lodges are well positioned within light woodland close to the River Spean; ours only about 8 feet from the river bank. The lodge was very well fitted out with plenty of space for two people. The lodge had large windows and a balcony which enabled uso watch the birds easily.

There is a car parking area for each group of three lodges with plenty of space for getting in and out of the car. Walkways from the car park are flat and reasonably level, the only steps were the two or three up to the front door of the lodge.

Clothes washing and drying facilities are available onsite and there is a large amount of information available on where to go, The owners, Ria and Philip, were very friendly and have a lot of local and regional knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyLudgershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The lodges are absolutely lovely, well equipped with everything you need for a break for just two. The views are great and the location very peaceful especially with the lodges set out in groups of 3. The lodge had everything we needed along with a friendly welcome from the owners and we thoroughly enjoyed our week. It's a perfect base for exploring the Highlands and the West, either by car or a short walk to Spean Bridge station where you can get the train along the famous West Highland railway. We will definitely be returning next year and will be booking soon, that's a measure of our satisfaction!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutley231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The lodges are situated in a wooded area on the north side of the river Spean. They are totally secluded and peaceful, in a river valley and surrounded by trees, on wet and overcast days they seemed a bit dismal, but it became a totally wonderful and tranquil place when the sun was out.

Our lodge was next to the river, we had a lovely view through the large patio doors in the lounge, or from the small veranda with table and chairs. The lodges were warm, clean and comfortable, but it has to be said, quite basic. The owners were very pleasant and friendly; they greeted us and showed us around the lodge, and chatted when we met during the stay. They also post the detailed weather report for hill walkers in their office window which was helpful to us.

Our only criticism would be the extras we had to pay. The electric is metered and paid for on departure, and use of the communal washing machines and tumble driers were also extra. A bit of a knit-pick perhaps, but we have stayed at places for the same money and these things were included.

If its peace, quite and tranquillity your after this is a place for you.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltashRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This was a wonderful location, the lodges were just right for 2, the previous comments about about musty smell did not materialize for us. air fresheneners were in use as well as a dehumidifier which we found we needed to keep on almost constantly. however that was because we visited during the wettest August on Scottish record! Because of this we did infact spend quite a lot on electricity £40 for the 2 weeks, but we do not like to feel cold, because of the wet weather drying towels we'd used was a problem unless we left then hanging over shower cubicle and the heater on low during the day.
Ria and Phil were exceptionally helpful, in passing I mentioned that i would not be able to use their wooden spoons ( because of contamination by previous users- gluten allergy ) and would buy my own, within 5mins Phil had returned with 2 new wooden spoons for me, so thoughtful. Also Ria lent us a walking guide book to use throughout our stay it was just so unfortunate that the weather was just so awful we couldnt make full use of it. Plenty of DVDs were provided, but we found we could only get 2 channels on the TV that were watchable again signal did vary according to the weather.
The Resturant in the village- Station Resturant was superb, especially going out of their way to cater for my gluten free diet, i cant recommend this place highly enough.
All in all a very good place for a holiday..........just be prepared for rain!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppins_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
17.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
5.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Lodge Gardens
Riverside Lodge Gardens
#11 of 23 in Spean Bridge
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbank Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbank Lodges

Property: Burnbank Lodges
Address: | Roybridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hideaway for two at any time of year. One-bedroomed lodges set in natuaral woodland on the banks of the River Spean. Tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished and well equipped, with double glazing, insulation and controllable heating throughout, they are ideal for copuples at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Burnbank Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbank Lodges Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing