We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday.”
Review of Burnbank Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnbank Lodges
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Burnbank Lodges for at week at the end of February and had a fantastic holiday. The lodges are perfect for a quiet break and set in a beautiful location, overlooking the Spean river. The owners were lovely and very helpful and the lodges were very well equipped. Spean Bridge itself is fairly quiet but there are lots of woodland walks in the immediate area. It's also a short drive from Fort William, the Nevis Range, Glencoe and Fort Agustus, so anyone who enjoys the outdoors will find plenty to do. There are a few buses running through Spean Bridge and a train station, so it's possible to get out and leave the car behind. Yes, electricity is extra but this is made very clear from the offset, even before you book the holiday. Over all, I would highly recommend Burnbank if you're looking for a quiet break in beautiful countryside. We will certainly be going back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Burnbank's main selling point is the emphasis on peace and quiet and they certainly deliver this. The site is pleasant, particularly if you have one of the lodges directly overlooking the river. The tree cover does tend to make the lodges rather dark but we had no problems with the smell of dampness mentioned by a couple of other reviewers. The accommodation is decent but not exceptional. Although clean and well maintained the lodges are not in the first flush of youth nor are they particularly big and it isn't easy to see how the premium price is justified, especially with electricity being extra.

Supplies and equipment are not generous - we ran out of toilet paper (our usage was completely normal!) and had to supply our own replacement. When we mentioned this to the owner we were told - in slightly patronising terms - that this was the "essence of self catering". Sorry?? We've been regular self caterers for over 30 years and never before have we stayed somewhere which costs £385 a week and doesn't run to a spare loo roll !

Although free wi-fi is provided we had great difficulty getting a decent connection on my Macbook. If it connected at all (it usually didn't) it was so slow as to be virtually useless. It only worked adequately late at night and, weirdly, while standing beside the cooker. I can't say whether the difficulty was with the signal or the computer but we've never had problems anywhere else and the Mac reverted to normal when we got home. This was a nuisance rather than a major issue for us but it could be a real problem if you need to do important stuff while on holiday.

Finally, a heated towel rail would have been much more useful than the convector radiator in the bathroom.

If you're thinking of visiting the area, check the price and facilities of other self-catering accommodation (there's plenty) before committing yourself. If you want peace and quiet above everything else Burnbank is worth considering but don't forget to bring some spare toilet paper!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrSkodaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnbank_12, Owner at Burnbank Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

It is not our usual policy to respond to reviews on this site, preferring to rely on potential visitors to interpret what they read and make up their own minds. In your case Dr Griffiths, we have decided to make an exception.

When you booked, you made a point of telling us that you had recently sued a different self-catering establishment because their accommodation was “not up to the mark”, so it was possibly inevitable that you would find fault.

Two days after your arrival, we were made aware that you had initially logged onto our wifi system successfully but were no longer able to do so. I came to your lodge with some test apparatus and quickly established that there was a strong signal. The wifi device I had also brought, was able to log on with a four bar signal. You admitted that the fault probably lay with your Macbook, which possibly had locked you out of the existing setup. You seemed unwilling to delete the relevant files and start again. However, as you were also receiving a second signal from a different zone, I gave you that password and you were able to log on instantly, (incidentally, nowhere near the cooker). I explained that you were welcome to use the alternative signal but that being more distant it might be slower. Our system uses up to date technology and broadcasts a high speed, state of the art wireless ”n” signal, which was proven to you to be working. Perhaps you should have taken up the matter with Apple rather than trying to make an issue of it here.

If you felt that my attitude to your toilet roll issue was patronising, then it was in response to the 7 or 8 second blast of your car horn as you pulled up outside reception to check out, which I found utterly astonishing and frankly rude. Clearly you expected someone to come out to your car rather than coming into reception as other people would do. I happened to be outside already so I did come to your car, where you could barely bring yourself to speak other than to complain you’d had to buy your own loo roll. We always ensure a supply is in place for guest’s arrival. During your stay you did not mention at all that you had run out which made your attitude all the more surprising. Yes, perhaps it is an issue that we need to address.

We make no bones about the fact that electricity is charged separately. It was pointed out to you at the time of booking and is also stated on your invoice. It is a measure to create fairness for our guests, rather than the sensible users having to subsidise the inconsiderate users. It is charged at exactly the same rate as we are charged. Your bill came to £7.

As to equipment and price, we charge what we feel is a fair and reasonable price for what we offer and certainly you can find accommodation cheaper and more expensive when you search around. We always aim to exceed expectations where possible. We make no attempt to hide anything or mislead in any way, nor is it in our interest to do so. A plan of our lodges is on our website and in our brochure (a copy of which was sent to you), as are interior and exterior pictures. We are on the banks of the River Spean, amongst natural woodland of which trees are an inevitable part. Our equipment is maintained and/or replaced on an ongoing basis, so without specifics it is difficult to see where you are coming from or what else you thought should be present. More to the point, before you left I asked you directly if everything had been alright for you in the lodge, and instead of taking the opportunity to give any useful feedback, face to face, which we always welcome, you simply answered “yes” and without another word drove off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a great location set on the edge of the village. Ria and Phill made us feel very welcome. Pure peace and quiet no children running around a real away from it all place. The grounds are in immaculate order very neat and tidy and well kept. The lodge itself was adequate with everything that you would need for a quiet stay. We were disappointed after paying £435 for a week we had to pay extra for electricity? .There was a dehumidifier that was full and needed emptying. The white goods are well passed their use by date with the noisiest fridge and rusty microwave. It is an ideal base to visit Glen Nevis and Fort William, Spean bridge is a nice place with a small supermarket and a great takeaway. I think our lodge must have been empty for a few weeks as the smell of damp was quite overwhelming. Overall we had a good time here just let down by a few small details.

Pro's ...

Nice hosts, lovely setting in the woods, well kept grounds.

Con's...

Expensive for what you get, Damp smell, extra for electric, worn appliances, could be cleaner, web site shows flat screen tv and three seater settee.

Room Tip: If the cons don't bother you then its an awesome place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brummie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Beautiful lodges in the woods, very peaceful, lovely river frontage with fishing rights. They only take 2 people, so no noisy children, no dreaded football. We sat on the balcony, no midges, wonderful.Made very welcome by Ria and Phill.

Room Tip: no problems here, all rooms quiet. the biggest decision you have to make is single or double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillywigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a great place to stay, the owners are friendly and helpful. A good location for traveling to areas and only 7ish miles to Glen Nevis and ideal for climbing the Ben!!.
The log cabin itself does have everything you need plus an area near reception for washing/drying cloths which is handy and extra charge, it cost me £5. to do this but was a latge load!. Elec cost £6 ish so not to bad.The only thing i would change is the decor.....which didnt effect our weeks stay at all...really just a suggestion for the future!.
Overall great location, great stay,great price!! :) highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We came to the highlands for a fell running holiday in September 2011 and booked a lodge at Burnbank. Ria and Philip were welcoming and friendly, but not at all interfering. The lodges are clean and had everything we needed for self-catering. Having never been to Scotland before, we were pleased to see guides and leaflets in our lodge for things to do, as well as more books and brochures in the drying room. Electricity is paid for at the end of your stay (we paid £10 for the week). Our lodge was right by the river, which was lovely view, especially seeing the otters right outside our balcony. A major factor for us in booking these lodges is that they are for couples only and it is a really good stay for couples, whatever your reason for visiting the highlands. Would definitely recomend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathrynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This complex of small log cabins is very clean, quiet and close to the Ben Nevis area. The cabins are well equipped and clean. They do not have laundry facilities but there is a seperate area on site for washing and drying (charge applied). Electricity is additional and for the week we paid close to 10.00GBP. The view from the window is out on to the Spean River which is home to much wildlife.....very pretty. Occassionally, the only disturbance is from the freight train that runs along the other side of the river. Not ever having stayed at Burnbank before we were unsure of 'how' small these lodges were and consequently ended up having to leave our suitcases etc in the car. Storage space is absolutely minimal! The owners Ria and Phil are very pleasant people and provide lots of literature re places of interest etc. Spean Bridge does not have a huge range of places to eat and what is there seemed to be a bit over priced (compared to Hampshire). Fort Wiliam has loads of eateries and would recommend Morrisons for their Big Scottish Breakfast. They also do reasonably priced evening meals. Burnbank is around a 25 minute drive in to Fort William, about 30 minutes to Glen Nevis Visitors Centre (start of the Ben Nevis track) and about 2 hours to Loch Ness.

In a nutshell this place is picturesqe, clean and very quiet.....my only criticism is the lack of space and the small bed. Would otherwise recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
17.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
963 reviews
7.0 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#11 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbank Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbank Lodges

Address: | Roybridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Spean Bridge
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hideaway for two at any time of year. One-bedroomed lodges set in natuaral woodland on the banks of the River Spean. Tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished and well equipped, with double glazing, insulation and controllable heating throughout, they are ideal for copuples at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burnbank Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbank Lodges Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing