We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Burnbank Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spean Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnbank Lodges
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Been back a few days now from a 7 day stay with my Fiancé and we already can't wait to go back. The setting is perfect for relaxing but also close enough to local attractions and very easy to get to places further away. We we're never short of things to do. Phil and Ria and very friendly and welcoming and were happy to help with any questions or queries. The lodges are well proportioned and well stocked, with everything you'd need. The electricity is done by meter but we found it very reasonable, our bill was just under £10 for a week. Very clean and cosy with everything we could have thought of. We had perfect views of the river and the wildlife right on our doorstep, literally! We especially thought the info room was a very good idea, we found a lot of things to do and a lot of information about attractions in the surrounding areas through this facility. We had a fantastic and unforgettable holiday and will without a doubt be coming back! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Our 6 night stay at Burnbank was lovely.A very peacefull setting, perfect for my dogs also. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed lots of lovely walks, recommended by Ria the owner. The only negative is that the lodges are a little dated, but are extremely clean and well equipped, and if you are after 5* accommodation, then expect to pay more! On a previous review the price of electricity had been addressed. I feel the 14 pence a unit was reasonable, as our bill was under 5 pound for 6 nights. You would only receive an expensive bill if you sat in all day with the tv on and the heating on constant! Overall a lovely holiday, thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just had our third fortnight at Burnbank Lodges.......wonderful place.....Ria and Phill made us very welcome as always and the lodge we stayed in was perfect ....well stocked with everything you could possibly need......the location is so peaceful and very relaxing yet within distant of many places such as Oban and Inverness and Kyle of Localsh.....you can sit by the river not far from your lodge which is great...we had a lovely holiday and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We are just back from a great weeks break at Burnbank. It was perfect for us. Quiet, beautifully kept lodge, and fantastic scenery. Our lodge was overlooking the river and it was lovely sitting outside watching the changing landscape. The owners, Paul and RIa, were attentive and unobtrusive.. We would thoroughly recommend these lodges for those who want a peaceful time in a wonderful part of Scotland. There is so much to do and see in the area, and would urge people to go to the Commando memorial at Spean Bridge, it was very moving and quite humbling. All in all a brilliant week.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisoncgray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Mawes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My partner and I had such a lovely time at Burnbank Lodges! The setting is beautiful overlooking the river Spean and woodland, it's a very tranquil place to stay. The owners Phil and Ria were so friendly and welcoming and very knowlegable about the the local area.
The lodge we had looked out to the woodland and was lovely to wake up to in the morning and have breakfast, the lodge was clean, warm and well presented, it had a lovely cosy feeling after coming back from long walks in the beautiful Scottish Highlands and amazing mountains!
Electricity is paid by meter and doesn't cost much at all. As a Self Catering lodge it was well stocked and with a local shop in Spean Bridge for anything else we needed! It also had Wi-fi and TV for the day where we couldn't walk anymore for that day (ie after walking up Ben Nevis!)
I'm glad Wi-fi was available as unfortunately I had to do a couple of reports and needed to send them off so found this Very useful and without any problems.
Drying room was also very handy to have for the one wet day we experienced.

We will definately be returning again!

I & J St Mawes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IandJstmawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at Burnbank Lodges for a short break during April and we have had a lovely time. Great location, owners were helpful and informative, the lodges had everything we needed.

I would recommend Burnbank and we will certainly be going back to explore more of the area.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Burnbank Lodges for at week at the end of February and had a fantastic holiday. The lodges are perfect for a quiet break and set in a beautiful location, overlooking the Spean river. The owners were lovely and very helpful and the lodges were very well equipped. Spean Bridge itself is fairly quiet but there are lots of woodland walks in the immediate area. It's also a short drive from Fort William, the Nevis Range, Glencoe and Fort Agustus, so anyone who enjoys the outdoors will find plenty to do. There are a few buses running through Spean Bridge and a train station, so it's possible to get out and leave the car behind. Yes, electricity is extra but this is made very clear from the offset, even before you book the holiday. Over all, I would highly recommend Burnbank if you're looking for a quiet break in beautiful countryside. We will certainly be going back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
5.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
927 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
17.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbank Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbank Lodges

Property: Burnbank Lodges
Address: | Roybridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Spean Bridge
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hideaway for two at any time of year. One-bedroomed lodges set in natuaral woodland on the banks of the River Spean. Tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished and well equipped, with double glazing, insulation and controllable heating throughout, they are ideal for copuples at any time of year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burnbank Lodges Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing