We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster holiday but Burnbank great”
Review of Burnbank Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnbank Lodges
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just got back from our first holiday in the highlands and it was a nightmare but nothing to do with Burnbank Lodges. Rain first few days and in hospital last 4 days. When the sun comes out the scenery is absolutely stunning. Ria and Phil always helpful. Super setting but could do with trees thinning a little to let some sun through but that is just my opinion. Well placed for trips out. Information available in lodge and reception excellent. Only used for sleeping in anyway. The bird feeders helpful in attracting wildlife. Saw Mink, Various Tits, Chaffinches, Great Spotted Woodpecker and a Long Tailed Field Mouse which ran up the tree to eat out of the feeders. A couple of birds we could not identified. All in all a nice spot and yes would go back again. Very peaceful and relaxing we will be hoping for sunshine on our next visit. Many Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidjb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Been back a few days now from a 7 day stay with my Fiancé and we already can't wait to go back. The setting is perfect for relaxing but also close enough to local attractions and very easy to get to places further away. We we're never short of things to do. Phil and Ria and very friendly and welcoming and were happy to help with any questions or queries. The lodges are well proportioned and well stocked, with everything you'd need. The electricity is done by meter but we found it very reasonable, our bill was just under £10 for a week. Very clean and cosy with everything we could have thought of. We had perfect views of the river and the wildlife right on our doorstep, literally! We especially thought the info room was a very good idea, we found a lot of things to do and a lot of information about attractions in the surrounding areas through this facility. We had a fantastic and unforgettable holiday and will without a doubt be coming back! Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Our 6 night stay at Burnbank was lovely.A very peacefull setting, perfect for my dogs also. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed lots of lovely walks, recommended by Ria the owner. The only negative is that the lodges are a little dated, but are extremely clean and well equipped, and if you are after 5* accommodation, then expect to pay more! On a previous review the price of electricity had been addressed. I feel the 14 pence a unit was reasonable, as our bill was under 5 pound for 6 nights. You would only receive an expensive bill if you sat in all day with the tv on and the heating on constant! Overall a lovely holiday, thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emsyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just had our third fortnight at Burnbank Lodges.......wonderful place.....Ria and Phill made us very welcome as always and the lodge we stayed in was perfect ....well stocked with everything you could possibly need......the location is so peaceful and very relaxing yet within distant of many places such as Oban and Inverness and Kyle of Localsh.....you can sit by the river not far from your lodge which is great...we had a lovely holiday and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We are just back from a great weeks break at Burnbank. It was perfect for us. Quiet, beautifully kept lodge, and fantastic scenery. Our lodge was overlooking the river and it was lovely sitting outside watching the changing landscape. The owners, Paul and RIa, were attentive and unobtrusive.. We would thoroughly recommend these lodges for those who want a peaceful time in a wonderful part of Scotland. There is so much to do and see in the area, and would urge people to go to the Commando memorial at Spean Bridge, it was very moving and quite humbling. All in all a brilliant week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisoncgray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My partner and I had such a lovely time at Burnbank Lodges! The setting is beautiful overlooking the river Spean and woodland, it's a very tranquil place to stay. The owners Phil and Ria were so friendly and welcoming and very knowlegable about the the local area.
The lodge we had looked out to the woodland and was lovely to wake up to in the morning and have breakfast, the lodge was clean, warm and well presented, it had a lovely cosy feeling after coming back from long walks in the beautiful Scottish Highlands and amazing mountains!
Electricity is paid by meter and doesn't cost much at all. As a Self Catering lodge it was well stocked and with a local shop in Spean Bridge for anything else we needed! It also had Wi-fi and TV for the day where we couldn't walk anymore for that day (ie after walking up Ben Nevis!)
I'm glad Wi-fi was available as unfortunately I had to do a couple of reports and needed to send them off so found this Very useful and without any problems.
Drying room was also very handy to have for the one wet day we experienced.

We will definately be returning again!

I & J St Mawes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IandJstmawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at Burnbank Lodges for a short break during April and we have had a lovely time. Great location, owners were helpful and informative, the lodges had everything we needed.

I would recommend Burnbank and we will certainly be going back to explore more of the area.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
17.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
166 reviews
5.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
962 reviews
7.0 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#13 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbank Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbank Lodges

Address: | Roybridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Spean Bridge
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hideaway for two at any time of year. One-bedroomed lodges set in natuaral woodland on the banks of the River Spean. Tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished and well equipped, with double glazing, insulation and controllable heating throughout, they are ideal for copuples at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burnbank Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbank Lodges Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing