We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traquility in the heart of Scotland”
Review of Burnbank Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spean Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnbank Lodges
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traquility in the heart of Scotland”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spean Bridge is located just 6 miles from the Nevis Range Mountain Resort and 10 miles from Fort William. It's great for travelling north to Loch Ness, east to the Cairngorms and west to Fort Wiliam, Skye, Glencoe, Oban, etc.

The lodges are cosy and clean and even offer wifi which is an added plus. For 2 people and a dog our lodge was perfect for a week's getaway. Ria was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Self catering is what it is. You cater for yourself which includes loo paper.
And if you forgot anything, there is a handy convenience store in Spean Bridge or a Morrisons in Fort Wiliam. The fish & chips at the hotel are very fresh and tasty.

We went at the height of the peak season and expected to pay a premium for this. Many other lodges charge over £140 more per week so the price is reasonable.

Definitely a place to remember.

Room Tip: 9 of the 12 chalets are south facing and great for the sunshine. The other 3 are west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a great week's stay at Burnbank Lodges. The lodge was very clean, well-equipped and had a lovely river view. The owners were welcoming, happy to chat and offer advice. The location is ideal - peaceful and private whilst still walking distance from Spean Bridge. We left feeling relaxed and would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 809kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Burnbank Lodges. Location was perfect for getting out and about exploring, setting secluded and peaceful and the accommodation had all you needed. We also took our dog who was more than welcome. Owners Ria and Phil who live on site are friendly and informative....so a great trip all round!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 8 days at Burnbank Lodges and had a wonderful time, the lodges are very comfortable and cosy with everything you need for self catering and were spotlessly clean.
The owners Phil and Ria were very friendly and helpful and we had several chats with them during our stay.
The woodland setting, with the River Spean running right by the lodges, is perfect and very tranquil, the location is also perfect being only a few hundred yards from the village with
a couple of Pubs, Restaurants a chip shop and very well stocked Spar Minimarket.
Fort William, Fort Augustus, Oban and a drive along the A82 following Loch Ness to Inverness,
stopping at Urquhart Castle on the way, were all easy daytrips from Spean Bridge.
Also worth a visit is the Nevis Range Activity Centre, 6 miles and Active Highs Watersports Centre, 15 miles from Spean Bridge.
We decided to have an action packed week, booking activities including River Kayaking, Whitewater Rafting, Hirewire assault course and the Gondola up Aonach Mor but our evenings were very relaxed in the Lodge sitting by the River with a few Beers.
We had a perfect week here and will be booking again soon.

Room Tip: Lodges 4, 5 and 6 are on River Bank, we stayed in 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandRachGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Had 5 nights at burnbank and loved it . Stayed in lodge overlooking river and views were superb. Lodges were spotless and had everything you need . Spean Bridge is a lovely , quiet little village but has resturants , pubs , a shop and post office . Transport links are excellent with a train station and frequent bus services . The lodges are an ideal touring base for all the activities round about but are also a haven of tranquility and the perfect place to chill !! Many thanks Phil and Rhia great break

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The lodge was perfect for us as a couple and were very impressed with the scenery from the lounge patio doors, the kitchen was kitted out with everything you could need and the lodge itself was cozy and comfy. The electric only cost us £9 for 3 nights and we thought this was very reasonable. Phil and Ria who own the lodges were lovely people and very welcoming. The lodges are in a great area only just down the road from Fort William and the Ben Nevis Skiing which was fantastic!
Will definately be going again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Nice lodges very dark due to location and unfortunately weather!! Spean bridge lacks atmosphere but we drove short distance every day and found blue skies and fabulous walks. The lodges are compact and I am sure the ones fronting the river have a view but we were in one that looked at other lodges so no real view. Quiet and peaceful. Main issue for us was the lecture and written in red regarding our dog....we are responsible dog owners who travel regularly with our very well behaved dog!! We felt he was not welcome and seeing and hearing the rules very deliberately did make us feel uncomfortable. We have been to several places that do not assume all dog owners are idiots......,unfortunately this isn't one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimothylowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnbank_12, Owner at Burnbank Lodges, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. It was unfortunate that the week you were here was extremely wet, dark and stormy, in common with the rest of Britain that week.

We are one of the few remaining establishments in the area which still accepts dogs. We allow up to a maximum of two dogs, by prior arrangement, into certain of our lodges. All other lodges are thereby kept entirely pet free.

In our experience, all dog owners believe they are responsible owners - we have never met anyone who admits to being a bad dog owner. And yet, in our time we have found dog hairs all over the furniture, including the beds, we have found chewed furniture, we have found lodges surrounded by fouling, we have found dogs running unsupervised around the grounds, and we have found stressed dogs barking their heads off alone in lodges whilst their owners are out enjoying a meal in a restaurant.

We are dog owners ourselves and so with respect, you are quite wrong in thinking your dog (which we do not believe we actually met) was unwelcome. However, time has taught us that it is prudent to remind guests of the simple conditions we attach to bringing dogs, which are no different to those you agreed to at the time you booked. Namely, they must be kept under control in the grounds, they are not permitted on the furniture, all fouling must be cleared up, and they cannot be left alone in the lodges.

We are sorry you perceived this as a lecture. It would have been mentioned to you when you checked in, at the same time as explaining to you such things as how the hot water and heating is operated, where to find leaflets for local attractions and sample menus for restaurants, that you are welcome to use the drying room for your outdoor clothes and boots, how to log on to our wifi system, and so on.

If there are dog owners who resent the fact that there are conditions associated with bringing a dog, or if they consider that those conditions are unreasonable, then we would politely suggest that this is not the right place for them to stay. On the other hand, if they are happy to accept that not everyone enjoys dogs, and a code of common decency and standards exists so that current and future guests can all enjoy their stay, then they and their dogs are very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
5.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
929 reviews
17.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distant Hills Guest House
Distant Hills Guest House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Lodge Gardens
Riverside Lodge Gardens
#11 of 23 in Spean Bridge
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbank Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbank Lodges

Property: Burnbank Lodges
Address: | Roybridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Spean Bridge
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hideaway for two at any time of year. One-bedroomed lodges set in natuaral woodland on the banks of the River Spean. Tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished and well equipped, with double glazing, insulation and controllable heating throughout, they are ideal for copuples at any time of year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burnbank Lodges Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing