We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burnbank Lodges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
East Lodge Invergloy(Spean Bridge)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    The Factor's House(Fort William)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (77)
    Filter reviews
    77 results
    Traveller rating
    47
    24
    5
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    47
    24
    5
    0
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsoverlooking the riverrestful holidaynevis rangewooded areafree wifipeaceful locationeasy accessshort noticebed was comfortableon arrivalfantastic stayfort augustusphilriaelectricityobandehumidifier
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    66 - 71 of 77 reviews
    Reviewed 31 May 2010

    The lodges are absolutely lovely, well equipped with everything you need for a break for just two. The views are great and the location very peaceful especially with the lodges set out in groups of 3. The lodge had everything we needed along with a friendly welcome from the owners and we thoroughly enjoyed our week. It's a perfect base for exploring the Highlands and the West, either by car or a short walk to Spean Bridge station where you can get the train along the famous West Highland railway. We will definitely be returning next year and will be booking soon, that's a measure of our satisfaction!

    • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mutley231
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 April 2010

    The lodges are situated in a wooded area on the north side of the river Spean. They are totally secluded and peaceful, in a river valley and surrounded by trees, on wet and overcast days they seemed a bit dismal, but it became a totally wonderful and tranquil place when the sun was out.

    Our lodge was next to the river, we had a lovely view through the large patio doors in the lounge, or from the small veranda with table and chairs. The lodges were warm, clean and comfortable, but it has to be said, quite basic. The owners were very pleasant and friendly; they greeted us and showed us around the lodge, and chatted when we met during the stay. They also post the detailed weather report for hill walkers in their office window which was helpful to us.

    Our only criticism would be the extras we had to pay. The electric is metered and paid for on departure, and use of the communal washing machines and tumble driers were also extra. A bit of a knit-pick perhaps, but we have stayed at places for the same money and these things were included.

    If its peace, quite and tranquillity your after this is a place for you.

    • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SaltashRamblers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2009

    This was a wonderful location, the lodges were just right for 2, the previous comments about about musty smell did not materialize for us. air fresheneners were in use as well as a dehumidifier which we found we needed to keep on almost constantly. however that was because we visited during the wettest August on Scottish record! Because of this we did infact spend quite a lot on electricity £40 for the 2 weeks, but we do not like to feel cold, because of the wet weather drying towels we'd used was a problem unless we left then hanging over shower cubicle and the heater on low during the day.
    Ria and Phil were exceptionally helpful, in passing I mentioned that i would not be able to use their wooden spoons ( because of contamination by previous users- gluten allergy ) and would buy my own, within 5mins Phil had returned with 2 new wooden spoons for me, so thoughtful. Also Ria lent us a walking guide book to use throughout our stay it was just so unfortunate that the weather was just so awful we couldnt make full use of it. Plenty of DVDs were provided, but we found we could only get 2 channels on the TV that were watchable again signal did vary according to the weather.
    The Resturant in the village- Station Resturant was superb, especially going out of their way to cater for my gluten free diet, i cant recommend this place highly enough.
    All in all a very good place for a holiday..........just be prepared for rain!

    • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank poppins_8
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 August 2009

    I have just come home from a lovely week with my fiance at Burnbank Lodge in Spean Bridge. The lodge was perfect for our needs with a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. Paul and Ria (the owners) were always friendly and helpful and provided excellent recommendations for places to visit and eat out. We also had a wonderful meal at the local restaurant called The Old Station Restaurant. We also had to pay extra for the electric but disagree with a previous poster who said it was expensive. We stayed for 7 nights and our final bill came to £6.30 which included cooking most nights and watching dvds and television in the evenings. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can!

    • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DaddyFat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 July 2009

    Just back from a lovely stay in Spean Bridge. The lodge was very quaint, a nice size for two in lovely surrounds. Great location for exploring the Scottish Highlands and close to Fort William to stock up on food and drink supplies. The owners, Phil and Ria were very helpful and cheery and bread seeking ducks made you feel right at home with their evening visits. Have to agree with one of the other reviews... there was a bit of a musty smell and dampness to the lodge but nothing serious that you didnt adjust to, lodges are just a bit of a different environment from a house. Unfortunatly I was unwell so didnt get to enjoy the lodge to its full potential but would cetainly return. Perfect for a lovely relaxing or active break... but dont forget to take your thermals if your heading up Ben Nevis... even in July there was snow at the top!

    • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank melisandcolin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews