We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place from which to explore the Highlands!”
Review of Spean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place from which to explore the Highlands!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was in Spean Bridge on a mission. This was placing a plaque at the commando memorial to commemorate my father. Glen and Susan could not have been more helpful during our planning of the trip and during our stay in Spean Lodge. We rented Spean Lodge for a week and we even sampled their delicious Scottish breakfast. The quality and standard of the place are of the highest standards. The whole week was wonderful with good tips from Glen where to go, what to see and where to eat.
It is certain we will be back in Spean Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
142
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glencoe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, would love to stay longer, what a find a beautiful old lodge full of character. Glen was an excellent host very welcoming and friendly. The best nights sleep in a long time with extremely comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean and an excellent Tea Tray.
Breakfast was excellent, my husband had the full cooked and said it was amazing, 10/10 to Suzanne!
Hope to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Going by our room I think all rooms would be of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbost
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived very late due to a problem with our car, but this did not prevent our hosts from helping us to find something to eat in the village, besides a lot of other very helpful comments and hints. Running a guest house ourselves, we know what late guests mean...
The room was extremely comfortable and with a great view to the wonderful garden. There is nothing that hadn't been thought of and the attention to detail is stunning. The house is a beauty in its own right - tastefully complemented with artwork. If the weather had not been that nice, we could have stayed in all day...
Probably the best coffee in Scotland! This might be the result of a lucky "marriage" between Vienna coffee beans from Julius Meinl and a Swiss Jura coffee maker :-)
A pity we had to leave - but we shall be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was a pleasure to say at Spean Lodge. Comfortable, well located, great shower and breakfast. But the hosts made it particularly special making everyone welcome and giving detailed notes on local walks as well as providing backpack and map.

Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked this B&B as it was literally just around the corner from my son's house in Spean Bridge and we were flying up for the weekend to meet my brand new baby granddaughter for the first time so it was an added bonus to find that it was honestly the nicest place we had ever stayed in! I have racked my brains to think of a negative about this place but there just isn't one!.....everything from the beautiful decor, wonderful artwork, comfortable guest lounge, cleanliness, attention to detail, fantastic and imaginative choice of locally sourced breakfast items (real kippers such as I thought would have to remain a childhood memory!, fresh fruit salad with berries, porridge if you wanted it, full Scottish breakfast with haggis!! in fact anything your heart desires!), tasteful toiletries, bottled water, great hairdryer!, lovely soft duvet and towels, a very comfortable bed, lovely leafy outlook from our room...I could go on and on...but the best of all was our host Glen who amazed us by remembering not only our names and the purpose of our visit but the names of my son and his family and showed such a kindly interest in us all that it made us feel very special indeed.
Being around a new baby can be an exhausting (though wonderful) experience, so it was lovely to come back to the tranquil and relaxing atmosphere of Spean Lodge. Glen and Suzanne you deserve a medal!

Room Tip: The twin room was delightful with a very leafy outlook and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A wonderful charming country house B&B which was beautiful throughout. Fantastic array of choices for breakfast - delicious & spoilt for choice!
Nothing was too much trouble, to the point where Glen not only recommended some lovely local restaurants for dinner, but booked them and even gave us a lift to one of them.
Thank you so much to Glen & Suzanne for your kind hospitality - a very pleasant stay and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AboyneFyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornhill-on-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Okay,.... due to numerous disappointments in the past, I'd just about given up on booking Bed and Breakfast - based trips. Come on, everybody,..... I'm quite sure that many of us have booked a "Ye Olde Coaching Inn" sort of place, with that ubiquitous "Four Poster Suite" , only to find ourselves trying to get to sleep in a pretentious, over-priced hovel with a rickety 21st century flat- packed bed frame and hosts who care more for their star - rating than they do for the comfort of their guests....yes ?

Well, I'm delighted to report that Spean Lodge is NOT one of those places.
The owners, Glenn and Suzanne, clearly love what they do............and, boy, DOES IT SHOW !

The place is immaculate, steeped in history (it has firm connections with Chile, would you believe?) and is nicely situated for exploring the West Highlands and Islands (Skye is approximately 90 minutes leisurely drive away) . Glenn and Suzanne are highly respected in the community ("part of the landscape", as one Local informed me), and they have extensive knowledge of the area. They offer VERY comfortable accommodation, splendid breakfasts (DO try the local kippers... even if you don't particularly enjoy partaking of smoked fish with a hangover) but, above all, they exhibit genuine kindness........... a quality that, in my experience, is lacking in many hoteliers / proprietors today.

My wife and I celebrated my 54th birthday over a "wee" dram (actually, SEVERAL) with, and provided, gratis, by, Glenn in the Guest's Lounge of Spean Lodge and, I have to say, it was a special moment. Please note my previous comment regarding kippers and hangovers !

My Sister-In- Law, who is Colombian by birth, and now resides in Italy, had joined us on our trip. I was determined ( being a typical "Brit" ) to prove that Scotland's scenery and hospitality would equal, if not surpass, that of Italy's Lakes Garda and Como. I succeeded. She fell in love with the Highlands and enjoyed her stay at Spean lodge so much.... she did not want to leave. No, I'm not kidding !
Glenn and Suzanne treated her with exceptional kindness and respect and, how can I put this ???.............. they made MY life a LOT easier.

So, how good is this place ?
Everything you need to know is accurately outlined in previous reviews with similar ratings. This review is intended to give you a briefing as to what to expect from an "emotive" point of view.
Put it this way:...... I've used TripAdvisor to plan trips for many years but, being the selfish guy I am, I could never actually be bothered to place a review on the website. I've been lucky enough to have experienced some fabulous stays .....from the Four Seasons, Montreal to the incredibly quirky Langham Place in Hong Kong. I've also experienced some truly dreadful stays in some beautiful places that have forced me to the brink of taking legal action, BUT I've never posted a review regarding the properties concerned. This, then, is my first review.

How good is this place?

It does everything it says on the tin................ and a heck of a lot more.

GO !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquanaut999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
929 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
175 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
314 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Property: Spean Lodge
Address: Spean Lodge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spean Lodge Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing