We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley
Level Contributor
165 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Lodge is true Scottish hospitality steeped in Victorian history and sprinkled with great local knowledge. Our rooms were so comfortable and yet they retained an air of a time gone by. The guest living room was filled with all sorts of information - excerpts from a diary from 100 years ago, menus from local restaurants, tour guides etc.
A fantastic breakfast was served in the morning - definitely a place I would recommend and may even return to in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spean Lodge is a great starting point when exploring this part of the Scottish West coast. Lovely and very comfortable house in a beautiful garden and the hosts are most welcoming. Glen is a fount of knowledge about the area. He could answer all our questions and then some. And Suzanne spoiled us completely serving delicious breakfasts. You can skip lunch if you go for the full Scots one :-)
Nice restaurants at walking distance in the village.
We had a great time and hope to come back.

Room Tip: All three rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night with Glen and Suzanne and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a beautifully kept lovely little country house in a really convenient location. A warm welcome, comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean rooms with modern super large showers. Good restaurants are nearby for dinner and a most delicious breakfast awaits in the morning. This is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vransko, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

First time in Scotland and on our first day nothing better could happen than to meet Glen and Suzanne. They are most welcoming and charming hosts one can imagine. Glen is more than a tourist / historic encycoplaedia. If you need advice or information, he is THE one. And Suzanne - if she ever gives any cooking classes I am the first to join. Because her Scottish breakfast is simply unbeatable.
As for the lodge - you're taken back in time... you simply have to see and feel this special place (as I firmly believe it has an old soul).
When we come to Scotland again, we'll defenitely return to Spean Lodge!
Thank you for beinig who you are and for doing what you do. We are most grateful,
family PUHNER

Room Tip: Any room is a perfect room... Use the soap - it's excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataša p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed with Glen and Suzanne again last week and it was like coming home. We have stayed there several times over the last few years and they always remember us. The accomodation is perfection, the breakfast scrumptious and you just couldn't find two nicer hosts in the whole of Scotland. We'll be back.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Spean Lodge in the second week of July and it was an absolute pleasure to have been there...the place was very well appointed, breakfast was great and everything was just perfect...easy to recommend this one any time ! Glen and Suzanne were great hosts and looked after us very well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room which had two queen sized beds and the room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

In one word, Welcoming. From our first contact with Glen, he was so welcoming and helpful. Suggestions on great places to eat and explore in Spean Bridge. The lodge is beautifully decorated in the Victorian style with lots of great reading especially on the history of the lodge. It is a relaxing, lovely place with lots to see and enjoy. The food is excellent, Suzanne is a wonderful cook and a decadent Scottish breakfast is served here. The accomodations are immaculate and cozy, from the suites to the parlour, dining room and so much more. As soon as you put your suitcase down, you feel at home. We were travelling through while exploring the West Highland way. Thank you Glen for the recommendation on taking the Caledonian Canal as an alternate and for a spectacular lunch that we enjoyed by Neptune's staircase. Our only regret is that we didn't get to stay longer, next time for sure. If you're ever in Spean Bridge, this is the place to call home. Thank you for your hospitality! Beryl and Rod McFarlane

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Property: Spean Lodge
Address: Spean Lodge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spean Lodge Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing