We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spean Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
East Lodge Invergloy(Spean Bridge)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Factor's House(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
22
39
47
29
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
39
47
29
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscan't comment on the foodhomely feelingbath and showershort stayfollowing morninglounge areaben nevisjane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

En route to Inverness we decided to stop for lunch in the Spean Bridge Hotel. In order to get to the bar a warren of back rooms and empty restaurants had to be navigated. While the staff seemed friendly enough, the menu was very limited and when a turkey sandwich was ordered (it had been previously intimated it was available) we were later told it wasn't on that day.
One of the soups was fine, the other had a hair in it. The sandwiches were edible but nothing special. To their credit the tea did arrive in a nice big teapot, easily enough for two big cups each.

I wouldn't come back here, but it appeared they were preparing to feed a bunch of Royal Marine Commandos who arrived in shortly before we left, so perhaps that could be taken as a mitigating factor.

Didn't sleep here so you'll have to look elsewhere for room reviews, and the Commando exhibit beside the bar is a diverting (if a bit odd for a hotel to have) sideshow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dacr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Good things
-price was ok
- not far from fort Williams
- something different
-good parking
-some friendly staff

Not so good things
- rooms were terrible
-decor very dated
- rabbit warren
-some rude staff
-loud

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We wanted to stay in the Fort William area but as we were booking last minute, our choice was pretty limited.
We had a family room for 3 nights which was at the fron tof the hotel and pretty noisy (the hotel is on the main A82 West Coast route). As it was pretty hot during our stay, it was a case of a very hot room with the window & secondary glazing closed, to reduce the noise or try and sleep through it!
The room furnishings including beds was pretty poor, with a totally un-cordinated decoration and odd bits of furtniture, although to be fair, this is not unusual for this type of private hotel.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room rate did not include breakfast, which was served in a lage room, again with totally un-cordinated decoration - the waiter was actually quite helpful, but a little regimental in explaining what was available and where it all was, even on our third morning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in an annexe building, which is further back from the road and would be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnT-Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hoping for a decent pub meal and good local atmosphere, we chose this hotel while staying in the area. We dropped in for a drink and bite to eat on a Saturday night and were surprised at how quiet it was. Staff were friendly enough but the décor was a bit depressing and drab - old tables and chairs and plastic table covers, with the TV playing Saturday night programmes. The food was surprisingly nice and reasonably priced and we didn't have long to wait. The whole place felt like it was past its best and lacked any kind of atmosphere or buzz, even with all the commando connections. Sorry to say I don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kittykat178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Spean Bridge Hotel is the best in 1970s chic gone to seed. From the green floral print carpet, to the interior faux-stone accent walls, this place was perhaps, once, a destination. Now it is the hotel you settle for if everything in the vicinity has already been booked. And I mean everything. Together with the sludgy floral print curtains falling off their rods, rooms now come complete with mould, a strong mildewy smell, doors that won't latch until the lock is manually forced into place, and best of all, drains that back black slurry messes up into the shower when water is run through the sink. This, after the hot water faucet burps out so much air one wonders whether water will eventually find its way to the fore.

Mysteriously, if one arrives by car (which one most certainly will in Spean Bridge) the entrance is nowhere near reception. Unsuspecting travellers make their way, with sinking hearts, through a warren of guest rooms, breakfast room, restaurant, and unmarked hallways, to the desk, which may or may not be staffed. There, the actually quite friendly, if unschooled in hospitality trade-craft, reception desk worker sorts through a stack of papers to find your booking, which will likely be printed with the wrong pricing information, so check carefully. She then goes off to answer a phone and have a long conversation about a lost booking before returning to give you your keys and show you back through the maze to your rooms, phone in hand in case there should be a call along the way.

As mentioned, the rooms are lackluster to say the least. To their credit, the linens seemed quite clean. The bathrooms, however, are a disaster of mildew and bad plumbing.

As Spean Bridge itself is quite small, evening dining options are limited. This is good news for the on site restaurant, as there is no way it would survive without a captive audience. While the food is not actively inedible, it is also not good. There is only one server, who is responsible for all 15 or so tables as well as the bar. Clearly not a good business choice in most cases. The poor young man who was working was lovely, though visibly rattled and overworked. He tried his best, and it was his hard work that allowed me to get through the evening without causing a ruckus about our main concern.

When we first arrived in our room after a long day, we wished to wash our faces and get freshened up. The hot water took a long time to get warm, but that wasn't the main problem. The main problem was that when the water was drained from the sink a load of black sludge bubbled up from the drain in the shower. As there was no room phone we went back to the desk to tell them about the problem. The first response was that there hadn't been previous complaints. When that was not satisfactory to us, a person who appeared to be a rather messy resident was sent to the room with drano and a plunger. He then locked himself in the bathroom to do whatever he was doing while we discussed the possibility of a different room with the reception worker who had come along for the walk (with phone in hand). At first we were told that we couldn't possibly have another room as they were all booked. However, within a couple minutes she was back to tell us the room two doors down was available and we could move if we wanted.

Presumably the person scheduled for that room hadn't yet arrived and they were going to put them in the bad plumbing room once the clog was fixed. Sorry to those people.

We were not offered any compensation for our difficulties, and when we inquired about some form of rebate were told that she would have to check with the owner and get back to us. We never heard back.

Don't go. If you do, take shower shoes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JESt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews