We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but there is room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice but there is room for improvement”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Strengths: Efficient booking system. Welcome was ok but a smile from hotel manager reception would have been good. The lounge and bar was comfortable. There were lots of interesting things in the lounge (good reading material etc). We dined at the hotel. The food was amazing - so well done for that. The view from the restaurant was fantastic. The waterfall at the back of the hotel is fab. The room was pleasantly decorated. The bed mattress was excellent. Good choices of coffee/tea supplied in the room. Room was clean. The breakfast was good. The waitress was very pleasant, warm and courteous. She smiled alot (perhaps a learning hint for hotel manager). Also location is fantastic.

Weaknesses: The room was a little cramped. Too much furniture for a small room. We had a twim room. The bedding was feather - so pillows were too soft for us. The shower was very weak. We are used to power showers. The grounds really need tidying up. The bins in the hotel entrance (near cottage) was unslightly and smelled. The hotel may want to consider screening the bins.Also not a pretty sight for old flower pots to be thrown near the back of the hotel. Infact anywhere where guests have access needs to be kept tidy/immaculate. Breakfast fruit could have been more ripe. Not sure why black pudding was crumbly? Guests had access to free internet but only in the lounge area. Would have liked internet access in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    47
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
47
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

went here for dinner last month with my family & canadian family. i am wheat & dairy intolerant and with only a few hours notice the chef made me a wonderful 4 course meal. this was the best meal of our trip and the best duck i have ever tasted!!
a truly wonerful experience lovely staff and surroundings can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What an utterly fantastic experience! This family run hotel is a superbly located hideaway set in some of the most spectacular scenery imaginable. Every detail was perfect. A warm welcome from extremely helpful, attentive and friendly staff set the tone for our stay which was faultless from start to finish. There is a real passion for service evident here.
The rooms are beautiful and the views breathtaking (the "loch view supplement" is definitely worthwhile). The food was absolutely divine and with the restaurant overlooking Loch Lochy as the sun goes down, dinner was truly memorable. Afterwards, retire to the lounge for coffee and a sampling of the bar's extensive collection of local whisky in front of a log fire - absolute bliss.
The hotel also benefits from its own private beach; perfect for a romantic stroll or simply to take in the fresh Highland air and stunning scenery. Really loved this place and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the small "loch view supplement" to get the most out of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I spent just two nights at Corriegour Lodge Hotel but would have stayed more if we could have. The staff - all of them - were so helpful and welcoming. James was just great and went out of his way to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. Ian, owner and chef, was also so friendly and welcoming and the food was simply amazing. Our room was a good size and well appointed with wardrobe and dresser and the bed firm but very comfortable.

The hotel is magical. It is in the most amazing location with an incredible view of Loch Lochy from the dining room. Our room didn't share that view but it really didn't matter. The furnishings are an eclectic mix of old world charm that really work to make the place so warm and inviting. We just felt so at home staying there. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will fondly remember our time there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The owners provide a warm and welcoming environment, from the log fire in the lounge to the comfortable and embracing beds and bedrooms. It overlooks Loch Lochy with beautiful scenic views from the dining room. It is family owned and it is evident from the calm and relaxed demeanor of the staff. The food provided for dinner is top quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel's food is lovely. The staff are so pleasant, kind and attentive. The rooms are tired but it is part of the ambiance. What is mainly needed is internet! For a place this price, despite its remote location, nowadays people expect better internet. The owner immediately reminds you when you arrive and multiple times thereafter not to download any video or what not. My advice: if you want to charge what you do, invest in satellite internet and better routers for your hotel to provide service to your guests.

Meal was fantastic and the views from the dining room are amazing. A real pleasant find and with some minor changes would be a real gem to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caboolture, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Set out of town but this place offers a room with dinner and breakfast. I would recommend you take up the dinner option as the food was amazing and one of the best meals we had during our 2 month world trip. Also had great loch views from the dining room. The room was comfortable and decorated in a colonial style which suited the hotel. This is a small, quiet hotel and the owner and staff were genuine and provided fabulous service. If we ever get back to Scotland we would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Good to get a room up the stairs and to the end of the hallway as was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,199 reviews
13.2 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
7.5 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
327 reviews
5.9 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corriegour Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corriegour Lodge Hotel

Property: Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | By Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Corriegour Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corriegour Lodge Hotel Accommodation, situated in one of the most beautiful sections of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland - between Spean Bridge and Loch Ness - is the Highland holiday retreat you've been looking for. Just a short drive from Fort William and an ideal place to stay. On the road to the island of Skye, Corriegour Lodge Hotel is the perfect central base for touring The Highlands. The hotel accommodation enjoys outstanding views over Loch Lochy and has its own jetty. In our Loch View Hotel Restaurant you will be served the finest produce from the Scottish Highlands' rich natural larder, King Scallops,Aberdeen Angus Beef, Mouthwatering Home made breads and puddings from our ever changing daily menu which has earned us the Scottish tourist boards "Eat Scotland" Silver award and Michelin Recommended.The Great Glen is a geological fault-line cutting right across Scotland from Inverness in the east to Fort William in the west, famed for its wild and dramatic scenery. Along its length runs the Caledonian Canal, which links east and west coasts via a sequence of lochs including the famous Loch Ness and our own Loch Lochy. It is an ideal place for walking, cycling, pony-trekking, climbing, fishing, sailing and other watersports. Explore the hotel grounds and accommodation and see Spean Bridge, Loch Lochy and the surrounding Highlands area for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corriegour Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corriegour Hotel Spean Bridge
Corriegour Hotel Fort William
Corriegour Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing