We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with considerate attentive hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Braes Guest House
Ranked #16 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2013

B&B situated on outskirts of Spean Bridge. Convenient if heading to or from Skye. We had a comfortable and spacious twin bed room. Our hosts were very attentive and helpful - even going to length of getting soya milk for breakfast. Unusually they do cater for vegetarians with a cooked breakfast incl veggie sausage - lots of places just miss out the bacon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Braes is an excellent choice when staying in the vicinity of the great and mighty Ben Nevis, and in fact there is an amazing view of some of the nearby peaks from the rooms at the front of the house. Quite breathtaking! The hosts go that extra mile which makes staying at such B&Bs a good, pleasant sociable experience. The amenities are of good standard and the drying room comes in useful after a day out in the elements if it has been damp (which it often is at the top of Ben Nevis!). Breakfast is ample and satisfying, with a good choice on offer. There is free WiFi in the rooms and a comfortable lounge from where to enjoy the views across to the mountains of this beautiful part of the Highlands. My husband and I would definitely stay at The Braes again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally_Newport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely room, excellent breakfast, coffee and cake when checking in and very helpful when one of us decided to end up in Casualty after a difference of opinion with Ben Nevis. Highly recommended. Easy to find in Spean Bridge and there's an excellent restaurant in the Old Station just 1 mile along the road. good selection of very relevant books to read while there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for a couple nights. Very clean, well organized, cozy rooms. Much information about the area in the "living room". The breakfast is very good (we had salmon and egg...=)). The hosts are very nice people, who made everything as comfotably as possible. I would definitly stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very basic B&B, but that is all you need. Lovely view over the Scottish mountain with lots of opportunities for great walks. It was our first B&B that served something different than the full English breakfast, we had some great salmon with eggs to start our days.
The couple running this B&B are one of the nicest people on our UK trip that we have met. They really know how to make you feel at home. We will definitely go to this B&B next time we visit Fort William.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as we passed through Fort William but said that we would have liked to stay for longer.

The room we stayed in was very spacious, clean and well furnished. The hosts were friendly and happy to point us in the right direction for a day out and the breakfast was first class. As an added bonus they were happy to accommodate a gluten free dietary requirement and brought bread in especially for us.

A lovely stay - thank you :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Or at least it was great when I visited in 2005, on my way to cycle up the Great Glen to Fort Augustus, following the old railway as far as possible. Philippe met me at Spean Bridge station and he delivered me next day to the Nevis Range outdoor sports place to collect my hired bike. They were great hosts and good cooks, the house itself was beautiful, and I met very agreeable guests. I hope it's doing well because it deserves to.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. I've had to give my date of stay as 2012 for the system to complete. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidblaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa d, Owner at The Braes Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello, and thank you so much for thinking of us after so long. The Braes has changed a lot since you were here in 2005 - we've refurbished throughout and knocked some of the smaller rooms together to make more spacious and comfortable accommodation. The only thing that hasn't changed is the hospitality and great breakfast ;-)

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#11 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
60 reviews
5.7 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braes Guest House

Address: Tirindrish | Tirindrish, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: £35 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to live for, food to die for at The Braes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Braes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Braes Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing