We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Braes Guest House
Ranked #9 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend over a weekend while hiking Ben Nevis. Teresa and Phillipe were friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - with the option of smoked salmon & eggs. The guest house is in a quiet area. Well situated if visiting Fort William (only a 10 mile / 15 minute drive). Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
47
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this friendly little guest house. Teresa and Philippe were excellent attentive hosts, nothing was too much trouble.

Good cooked breakfast, large guest lounge with plenty of reading material. Comfy bedroom and a drying room for my wet motorcycle gear - all at a very reasonable price.

I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerial_bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Great hosts. Local knowledge passed on thank you. Breakfast choice is plentiful, porridge lovely. Room spacious, bed very comfortable, view stunning! May be off the main road but this added to the needed quietness.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed two days at the end of August. Lovely quiet place, great hosts and really good breakfasts. The views from the room we had were to die for despite being a little overcast. We dined at the pub a mile or two down the road and the food was great. Our hosts were very knowledgeable and are seasoned travelers so really understand what is required and it shows.

Room Tip: Ours was a little small so maybe ask if a larger room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebirdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a friendly little guest house where you are treated royally,
The views are to die for
Although the property is outside the village boundaries, the roads are quiet and it takes no time to reach the heart of the village for an evening meal - one can recommend the Old Station for an excellent meal.
Getting back to the Braes you can be sure of a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day :-)
The rooms are spacious and well provisioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

B&B situated on outskirts of Spean Bridge. Convenient if heading to or from Skye. We had a comfortable and spacious twin bed room. Our hosts were very attentive and helpful - even going to length of getting soya milk for breakfast. Unusually they do cater for vegetarians with a cooked breakfast incl veggie sausage - lots of places just miss out the bacon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Braes is an excellent choice when staying in the vicinity of the great and mighty Ben Nevis, and in fact there is an amazing view of some of the nearby peaks from the rooms at the front of the house. Quite breathtaking! The hosts go that extra mile which makes staying at such B&Bs a good, pleasant sociable experience. The amenities are of good standard and the drying room comes in useful after a day out in the elements if it has been damp (which it often is at the top of Ben Nevis!). Breakfast is ample and satisfying, with a good choice on offer. There is free WiFi in the rooms and a comfortable lounge from where to enjoy the views across to the mountains of this beautiful part of the Highlands. My husband and I would definitely stay at The Braes again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_Newport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
5.7 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
6.8 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distant Hills Guest House
Distant Hills Guest House
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.7 mi away
Garadh Buidhe Bed and Breakfast
Garadh Buidhe Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braes Guest House

Property: The Braes Guest House
Address: Tirindrish | Tirindrish, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to live for, food to die for at The Braes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Braes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Braes Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing