We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and pretty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Braes Guest House
Ranked #15 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The welcome from Philippe was very pleasant. The room and the bathroom were clean. The hosts were hearty and helpful. We felt to bee in good hands. The car-park were next to the house and the breakfast perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spent three nights here with my two sons (22 and 15) on a trip to climb Ben Nevis. We had a triple room which was very comfortable and had an excellent shower. The breakfasts were very good and our hosts were friendly and helpful, giving advice on Ben Nevis and suggestions for other things to do and places to eat. I stayed at several other B&B's across Scotland in the course of my trip and this was definitely the best.
Andy (although TripAdvisor seems to think I am Emily, who is my daughter!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Braes is a family run guest house and on arrival was greeted and welcomed by (Philippe) who was a very polite and informative person' who not only helped in settling me into my accommodation but was also able to give me sound and good advice on activities within the surrounding areas; my room was a single room situated at the rear of the premise overlooking a wooded area and was very clean and tidy and had recently been redecorated (perfect for the single traveller) all the services you would expect from a lager hotel were provided for " Tea, Coffee, Biscuits, Kettle, laundered bedclothes, towels and en-suite" which were cleaned changed and replaced on a daily basis.

The Braes is situated a short distance from the starting point to the climb of Ben Nevis (approximately a 10 – 15 minute drive) along a straight and single road which was perfect for me as I wanted to be close' but not too close to be affected by the likely increase in cost and influx of people who you would expect been too close to Ben Nevis.

So all I can say really is a big thank you to "Teresa & Philippe" for their hospitality and first class service and “The Braes is a first class Guest House ideally situated for access to Ben Nevis, the short trip to Loch-ness and Urquhart Castle and other great surrounding features and would most defiantly recommend and look forward to staying with them again”

Many Thanks

Paul

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was the second of our B & B stops on our 7 night tour around the Highlands. I changed the booking to 2 nights , glad I did and would love to stay longer! Stunning views from our large double ensuite and the guest lounge. Immaculate, well appointed rooms with extra touches of info ( the resident bats, places to go), lovely biscuits. On arrival we were welcomed with tea, coffee, cake and biscuits which was lovely after our long drive. The breakfasts were tasty, I especially liked the creamy yoghurt and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon. The hosts could not do enough for you, including driving us down to The Railway restaurant and offering tools to help my husband replace awkward bulbs in his motorbike after a long day taking in Skye. A peaceful stay set back from the road, perfect after a day of touring.

Room Tip: Large comfortable double, plenty of room, heater in shower room and although not front facing a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dentrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The host was delightful and offered to come and pick us up after we had telephoned asking for directions, this is very refreshing when some hosts just bluntly tell you, 'see you when you get here.' Freshly brewed Coffee on arrival with Biscuits. Clean room and facilities. Good Breakfast service.
Overall very good value for money..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you go onto their website this says it all, and its true. We stayed for 3 nights and wish it could have been longer. A very warm and friendly reception and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 which looks out onto the Nevis range. Whether cloudy or sunny a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrogate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were walking Scotland and had to walk a bit off our path to get here but it was so worth it. The room had great beds, the breakfast was excellent and our host was fantastic. He even took us back to the trail in the morning. Definitely in the top 3 of the 14 B&B's we stayed in during our walks in England and Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
5.7 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
965 reviews
6.8 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#12 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Achnabobane Farmhouse
Achnabobane Farmhouse
#20 of 23 in Spean Bridge
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braes Guest House

Address: Tirindrish | Tirindrish, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: £35 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to live for, food to die for at The Braes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Braes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Braes Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing