We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a family home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Distant Hills Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely overnight stay on my way to Skye. Scottish Fine soap products in bath, great garden and fine breakfast. Fresh eggs from the hens and comfortable living too where we were serve tea/ coffee and delicious cake. Hope to return one day. Sweet innkeepers!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ozarklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This B&B does more than the average, providing a welcoming cup of tea after a long drive that was very hospitable when we arrived. Service, care and attention to detail is exceptional with all requirements catered for by the owners. The cleanliness and facilities in the room are of a high standard and the breakfast choice and quality are exceptional. Whilst having experienced nouvelle cuisine and michelin star food elsewhere I'd say the breakfasts at distant hills exceeded anything i'd had anywhere before. My walking buddy and I used this as a base for conquering Ben Nevis, although it could be used as a based for other walks, cycling and more. It's clear the owners have a strong belief in what they do and this comes out in the good service and high quality of all aspects of the B&B. Definitely deserving of the high praise here; Many thanks to Peter and Lesley.

Room Tip: If in any doubt, phone the owners for help on selection as i'm sure they will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great b&b with classy interiors, comfortable beds, does a delicious breakfast (foodies will love it!) and is well located for the many Munros and Corbetts in the area. Definitely a cut above the usual Highland b&b and totally worth the small amount extra charged compared to some. Lovely welcoming and helpful owners .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliechili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here whilst walking Great Glen way. It was a bit off the trail and I was exhausted when I arrived but it was worth the extra 4 miles as very welcoming and comfortable. I was grateful though for the run back to the Way in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If like me, you dislike butter in foil packets, sugar in paper sachets and thin towels the size of postage stamps then this is the place for you. Peter and Lesley obviously have an eye for detail and really understand what makes a B&B stand out from the ordinary. On arrival we were offered home bakes and tea which were excellent and the service throughout was attentive but not in your face. I personally steer away from small B&B's where you are pretty much sitting in someone else's living room and Distant Hills is small enough to be personal and yet big enough to not feel that you were in the owner's space. Great value, great food and great hosts.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the smaller ones because that's what we paid for but it still had everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobyloo130365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Distant Hills b and b.
The owners were very helpful, printing off lots of information off the Internet for us.
The breakfast was lovely.
I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someone88561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We did stay in this guest house after a rainy day, walking the great glen way. Peter was really helpfull and friendly. A perfect host! Wet clothes were dried. We got all information we asked for, even more than that. The next day Peter brought us back to the start of our next walking stage, 7 kms from Spean Bridge. This service is included in the room price. Great concept, great breakfast, great service. Perfect stay!

Wesley

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#12 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Spean Bridge
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distant Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Hills Guest House

Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distant Hills Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distant Hills Guest House, Spean Bridge near Fort William provides visitors to the Highlands with stylish accommodation in a spacious bungalow. This four star guest house offers modern Bed and Breakfast(B&B) facilities and delicious home cooked food in a quiet village location.The guest house is located in its own grounds on the edge of Spean Bridge but only five minutes walk from the village centre. Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are each a short drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Distant Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distant Hills Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing