We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Distant Hills Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed here three times over the past several years and each time have thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The hosts are so knowledgable and friendly, the rooms and grounds immaculate, the beds comfortable, and the food delicious. I hope to come back time and time again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
162
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Peter and Lesley are a super team providing top quality accommodation, service, and the highest attention to detail providing everything that an overnight guest might need. Breakfast is a 'fine dining' experience with top quality presentation and a variety of options to suit all tastes and requirements. It is also a 'hearty' meal providing plenty of fuel for those guests that may be walking the beautiful highlands that surround Distant Hills.

We stayed at many Guest Houses and B&B's during our 24 day tour of Britain and were pleased with the vast majority of them. However, Distant Hills was the most welcoming and the highest quality in every category.

Room Tip: Give Peter and Lesley a call to discuss what you would like. They are lovely people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely overnight stay on my way to Skye. Scottish Fine soap products in bath, great garden and fine breakfast. Fresh eggs from the hens and comfortable living too where we were serve tea/ coffee and delicious cake. Hope to return one day. Sweet innkeepers!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ozarklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This B&B does more than the average, providing a welcoming cup of tea after a long drive that was very hospitable when we arrived. Service, care and attention to detail is exceptional with all requirements catered for by the owners. The cleanliness and facilities in the room are of a high standard and the breakfast choice and quality are exceptional. Whilst having experienced nouvelle cuisine and michelin star food elsewhere I'd say the breakfasts at distant hills exceeded anything i'd had anywhere before. My walking buddy and I used this as a base for conquering Ben Nevis, although it could be used as a based for other walks, cycling and more. It's clear the owners have a strong belief in what they do and this comes out in the good service and high quality of all aspects of the B&B. Definitely deserving of the high praise here; Many thanks to Peter and Lesley.

Room Tip: If in any doubt, phone the owners for help on selection as i'm sure they will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great b&b with classy interiors, comfortable beds, does a delicious breakfast (foodies will love it!) and is well located for the many Munros and Corbetts in the area. Definitely a cut above the usual Highland b&b and totally worth the small amount extra charged compared to some. Lovely welcoming and helpful owners .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here whilst walking Great Glen way. It was a bit off the trail and I was exhausted when I arrived but it was worth the extra 4 miles as very welcoming and comfortable. I was grateful though for the run back to the Way in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If like me, you dislike butter in foil packets, sugar in paper sachets and thin towels the size of postage stamps then this is the place for you. Peter and Lesley obviously have an eye for detail and really understand what makes a B&B stand out from the ordinary. On arrival we were offered home bakes and tea which were excellent and the service throughout was attentive but not in your face. I personally steer away from small B&B's where you are pretty much sitting in someone else's living room and Distant Hills is small enough to be personal and yet big enough to not feel that you were in the owner's space. Great value, great food and great hosts.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the smaller ones because that's what we paid for but it still had everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobyloo130365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.0 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
327 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distant Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Hills Guest House

Property: Distant Hills Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distant Hills Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distant Hills Guest House, Spean Bridge near Fort William provides visitors to the Highlands with stylish accommodation in a spacious bungalow. This four star guest house offers modern Bed and Breakfast(B&B) facilities and delicious home cooked food in a quiet village location.The guest house is located in its own grounds on the edge of Spean Bridge but only five minutes walk from the village centre. Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are each a short drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Distant Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distant Hills Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing