We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly epic breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Distant Hills Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Truly epic breakfast!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Wow... the breakfast is completely OUT OF THIS WORLD. The best B&B of my entire Scotland trip. Just stellar. Way better than it would have been to stay in Fort William. Quaint and incredibly enjoyable. More details here: http://tinyurl.com/kkwqf4l

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
153
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you have a car and want to stay in/near Fort William consider Distant Hills in Spean Bridge. The town is small and great and the B&B is absolutely perfect. Beautiful rooms and lovely common areas. The owerns are amazing and friendly.

Most importantly though I've never had a breakfast as good as the one from Distant Hills. Local cheeses and meats, fresh fruit, pastured eggs, fresh squeezed juice and the most epic Scottish oatmeal ever.

Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Distant Hills was a real find - the owners have worked so hard at every aspect, and it shows! My sister and I stayed for 2 nights in July as part of a tour of the Highlands and Islands. Although we stayed in some lovely places, Distant Hills stood out as being exceptional. The welcome was very warm, Peter and Jackie were excellent hosts, very helpful and informative. The bedrooms were beautifully appointed, a comprehensive range of luxurious toiletries awaited in the en suite and the lounge and gardens (complete with chickens) were lovely. The setting is scenic and peaceful. We only had to mention that we were thinking of going somewhere and Peter would return with maps, recommendations, etc. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding and better than any I've sampled in 5* hotels around the world - home made jams/marmalade/rhubarb & ginger compote; a huge range of cooked options, including high quality local produce and eggs from their own chickens, all cooked to perfection; a wide range of fresh fruit, cereals and porridge; and the wonderful tasting platter, with local cheeses, pates, fish, berries, oatcakes - outstanding!
I would highly recommend Distant Hills if you're in the Fort William area - the hard-working owners deserve every award for maintaining such high standards in every area, and for such a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Distant Hills for one night and would certainly recommend it. Peter welcomed us with tea and the most gorgeous chocolate cake ever, in the spacious and comfortable guest lounge, so a good start!

The rooms are not spacious as explained on their website, but they are so beautiful and comfortable and equipped with everything that you could want. There is a wealth of information provided, with menus for several local restaurants for you to make a choice from, and Peter kindly phoned and booked a table for us.

The breakfast was really excellent, from traditional cooked breakfast, to porridge, pancakes and bacon and the Scottish platter which I had, several local cheeses, smoked salmon, home made pate and fruit, just delicious.

Distant Hills is a really lovely guest house, obviously Peter and Lesley's pride and joy, and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_F_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

on Friday, June 13th turned out that we had the wrong date for a reservation (day late) the receptionist has really helped us to find. a residence We were lucky! There was a nearby guesthouse have a room available. booked directly driven towards it. On arrival all a very good impression. The friendly owner helped directly to give. Motorcycle our good parking Then to our beautiful room, as well bathroom. a beautiful view, a great bed. The next morning a very surprising, very nice breakfast. In short, a great address what we can recommend. everyone (Absolute value) with a happy feeling, we continued our journey .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Distant Hills for one night while walking the Great Glen Way and turned up like drowned rats. Peter gave us a very friendly welcome and whisked our wet clothing away for drying which we really appreciated. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped but the little touches which made it special were nice big towels, good lighting and blinds at the windows so we could get a good night's sleep. A lot of other very good B&Bs can't manage these things. There was plenty of information about the local area available and the hosts seemed to have things very well organised. There was a spacious and comfortable guest lounge looking out to a garden. Breakfast was especially good with some unusual additions and I can recommend the pancakes. All the food seemed to be of high quality and beautifully presented. We had packed lunches prepared for us and these were very good and included homemade cake which was an unexpected treat. There was a relaxed atmosphere at Distant Hills and I would have felt comfortable asking for anything but of course we didn't have to as they have thought of everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill2001c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in may 2014 for 3 nights with a friend and can highly recommend it. Rooms lovely decorated, very clean and nice,huge lounge for the guests' use ! Very friendly service ( Peter picked us up at the bus stop) and simply fantastic breakfast ! Something out of the ordinary - pancakes, corn-fritters and cheese plates for choice ! (And, of course, tradional cooked breakfast, cereals, porridge, toast etc. and fresh fruit, too.) Simply wonderful, definitely will come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.0 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.1 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distant Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Hills Guest House

Property: Distant Hills Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distant Hills Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distant Hills Guest House, Spean Bridge near Fort William provides visitors to the Highlands with stylish accommodation in a spacious bungalow. This four star guest house offers modern Bed and Breakfast(B&B) facilities and delicious home cooked food in a quiet village location.The guest house is located in its own grounds on the edge of Spean Bridge but only five minutes walk from the village centre. Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are each a short drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Distant Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distant Hills Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing