We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location with stunning views & great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location with stunning views & great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in the Lochy suite which had a lovely decked balcony with fantastic views overlooking the loch & mountains.Spacious bedroom,lobby,lounge & bathroom with a great big flat screen T.V on the wall,all that anyone could ask for. Food was superb,both breakfast & evening meals.It was a real friendly hotel with lovely staff & a nice relaxed atmosphere. I just missed no local ale out of the barrel.

Location was superb,Nevis Range,Fort William,Loch Ness all within 30 minutes drive, Eilean Donan castle an hour away & surely an absolute must is to take the "Jacobite" steam train from Fort William to Mallaig,no words or pictures can do the trip justice. We'd be back tomorrow given half the chance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    262
    94
    31
    23
See reviews for
120
553
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We decided to take a driving trip from Edinburgh to Lewis and back. The weather was bad on the day we set out however that did not spoil our stay at this hotel. We arrived mid afternoon and the bar was full with a wedding party. However there was no delay checking in or getting a refreshment in the lounge. Our room (7) was really nice with a view of Loch Lochy from two windows. The grounds were interesting but it was too damp to linger. They provide CP shooting and fishing, will come back and give it a go but no time on this occassion. The only dissappointment was dinner. My starter was 4 very thin slices of what appeared to be dry cured venison buried under a pile of rocket with some parmesan shavings. The only memorable thing about it was to make sure I do not order it again. The main courses were also overcooked. However they did provide the best breakfast of the trip so are partially forgiven. On to Skeabost in Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your dinner with us. Food is an area that we normally excel on as you will see from our other reviews on Trip Advisor. I have had a meeting with my Kitchen brigade in relation to your comments to ensure we do not experience this again. We can not understand what went wrong as all other feedback on that evening was excellent however we hold our hands up and apologise profusely for getting it wrong with your meal and can assure you that you would not experience this again.

We are delighted that you thought your breakfast was excellent and enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London /Nice
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

we had the loch room at the end of the building and it was luxurious and huge; well kitted out and no room for complaint

we found the service excellent and friendly. I was slightly hesitant about how the food might be in this location but was more than pleasantly surprised- very good quality both at dinner and breakfast; you really notice the difference between hotel chains and this type of hotel-- would definitely return if in the area

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbyLondon_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Every so often you come across some unexpected fortunes in life. The Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel is one such occurrence. The hotel has some natural assets; location, views, tranquillity, peacefulness, spaciousness, etc. But also has some unnatural assets too; it’s staff! From the moment you arrive until the second you leave, the staff here care. With warm smiles and a graceful “nothing is too much” attitude you simply feel special.

Under normal circumstances I would comment, and subscribe, to the theory that you get what you pay for but in this hotel you simply don’t! You get far, far more! Both the hotel accommodation price and the superb restaurant prices are in-line with any other offer in the area – even though there really is very little competition here.

John Stape (character) of Coronation Street mentioned this hotel by name as a “beautiful place” and he wasn’t wrong. If you’re reading this trying to weigh the balance in favour of making a decision to stay here, then watch the scales drop heavily to the “yes” side! Don’t waste anymore time! Book it, live it, enjoy it and create a memory you’ll never forget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We loved staying here - the rooms were comfortable and clea, the food fantastic and the service really friendly. The only slight negatives were that, to our tastes, the coffee was a bit strong and the shower a bit weak!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am extremely sorry that you found your coffee to be to strong and that your shower pressure was a bit weak. Our coffee is made from the finest of freshly ground coffee beans of which are freshly ground to order. Our staff are all trained to use a measured amount per cup. I have retrained our Team on our coffee machine to ensure the correct strength is served. In relation to the shower pressure that you experienced we have just fitted a further pump to ensure better future pressure.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

The service was generally good but we had the misfortune to be shown to our room by an Assistant Manager who was leaving the hotel at the end of the week and she had a real moan about her treatment at the hotel and showed us the wrong room to begin with. This room was the new top of the range suite so anything after that was bound to be a let down!
Not a good start.
The room was beautifully finished but very small, as was the bathroom and. There was not even room for a chair!
The location was to die for, our room had outside decking right on the loch side and even in the mixed weather we experienced the views were absolutely superb. The amenities were all we wanted, a comfortable lounge area in the main hotel building, well stocked bar and a high quality restaurant serving very good food at reasonable prices.
Apart from our first encounter, as described above, the staff were friendly helpful and attentive and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.
We loved the location, friendliness of the staff and the food.
The only criticism is the size of the room and bathroom - not what we expected.
Overall a good experience and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Loch side room essential-ask about room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am extremely sorry that you had this experience on your first night with my previous Assistant Manager.

I now have a new Assistant Manager of which has been in place now for two months and she is proving to be extremely popular with our Customers as you will see from some of our most recent reviews.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is fabulous. The rooms are spotlessly clean and most have views to die for. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a lochside suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jandljeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
21.8 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing