We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous location but little else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location but little else”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hotel is located right on the banks of loch Lochy and offers up some AMAZING views and provides the ideal atmosphere to relax.

However, the hotel itself lacks the hospitality to make it a warm getaway. There seemed to be only 1 person attending to absolutely everything and you could tell that she was very very stressed. The rooms themselves were quite basic (lots of Ikea furniture) but comfortable enough. The breakfast was okay - nothing to write home about.

We had to wait a good 15-20 minutes for anyone to come around to the front desk so we could pick up our room keys. Not fun when you're soaked! It would have made our stay there better if the poor lady had some help!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reva28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you had the experience of our Hotel being short staffed. This is not a normal occurrence but we had staff call in sick at extremely short notice. As you will see from our other Trip Advisor reviews this is not a normal occurrence as we normally have a full compliment of staff.

In relation to our furniture being from ikea, I can assure you that this is not the case as we do not by any of our furniture from ikea. In hope to save some money I checked the ikea website and could not find any of our furniture.

We would be delighted if you were to come back and give us another chance with our normal full compliment of excellent Staff.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    263
    97
    34
    27
See reviews for
126
562
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Cumnock UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Thank You,
to the staff at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel for a super break. The atmosphere is so relazing and all the staff make sure nothing is too much trouble.
mabe, a change to the menu for longer visitors could be fed up.
We would have liked to stay another night or two but they were fully booked.
The grounds there are beautiful and we were lucky to have good weather too.
I have asked to be sent information on other breaks there and Christmas in particular.
We have been singing there praised to all out friends.
Good luck with the marina and flats, we HAVE TO come back and see THEM.
Neville Norton and Elizabeth Hamilton. from East Ayrshire, we had room 3 which was super thanks. from 30th May - 3rd. June.

Room Tip: just ask, there is nothing too much trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you found our Hotel really relaxing and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2011 with our dog (in Room 14, the dog friendly room). The location was incredible, on the edge of Loch Lochy with great views from the restaurant and sun deck. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection available. We also ended up eating in the Restaurant every evening as the food was of such a high standard. Staff were friendly, helpful and very accommodating.

The dog friendly room was fairly basic..I guess it was designed to be easy to clean etc but it still represented good value for money. It was ideal for dog owners with easy access to go in and out as you pleased and a dog waste bin conveniently located. Also it is probably worth mentioning that there are no areas of the hotel that dogs are permitted in.

Overall, I would definitely recommend based on the excellent service, the beautiful location and the quality of food. We met Donald the Manager (the John Stape lookalike!) who was very friendly and runs a very well organised operation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in the Lochy suite which had a lovely decked balcony with fantastic views overlooking the loch & mountains.Spacious bedroom,lobby,lounge & bathroom with a great big flat screen T.V on the wall,all that anyone could ask for. Food was superb,both breakfast & evening meals.It was a real friendly hotel with lovely staff & a nice relaxed atmosphere. I just missed no local ale out of the barrel.

Location was superb,Nevis Range,Fort William,Loch Ness all within 30 minutes drive, Eilean Donan castle an hour away & surely an absolute must is to take the "Jacobite" steam train from Fort William to Mallaig,no words or pictures can do the trip justice. We'd be back tomorrow given half the chance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We decided to take a driving trip from Edinburgh to Lewis and back. The weather was bad on the day we set out however that did not spoil our stay at this hotel. We arrived mid afternoon and the bar was full with a wedding party. However there was no delay checking in or getting a refreshment in the lounge. Our room (7) was really nice with a view of Loch Lochy from two windows. The grounds were interesting but it was too damp to linger. They provide CP shooting and fishing, will come back and give it a go but no time on this occassion. The only dissappointment was dinner. My starter was 4 very thin slices of what appeared to be dry cured venison buried under a pile of rocket with some parmesan shavings. The only memorable thing about it was to make sure I do not order it again. The main courses were also overcooked. However they did provide the best breakfast of the trip so are partially forgiven. On to Skeabost in Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your dinner with us. Food is an area that we normally excel on as you will see from our other reviews on Trip Advisor. I have had a meeting with my Kitchen brigade in relation to your comments to ensure we do not experience this again. We can not understand what went wrong as all other feedback on that evening was excellent however we hold our hands up and apologise profusely for getting it wrong with your meal and can assure you that you would not experience this again.

We are delighted that you thought your breakfast was excellent and enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London /Nice
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

we had the loch room at the end of the building and it was luxurious and huge; well kitted out and no room for complaint

we found the service excellent and friendly. I was slightly hesitant about how the food might be in this location but was more than pleasantly surprised- very good quality both at dinner and breakfast; you really notice the difference between hotel chains and this type of hotel-- would definitely return if in the area

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbyLondon_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Every so often you come across some unexpected fortunes in life. The Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel is one such occurrence. The hotel has some natural assets; location, views, tranquillity, peacefulness, spaciousness, etc. But also has some unnatural assets too; it’s staff! From the moment you arrive until the second you leave, the staff here care. With warm smiles and a graceful “nothing is too much” attitude you simply feel special.

Under normal circumstances I would comment, and subscribe, to the theory that you get what you pay for but in this hotel you simply don’t! You get far, far more! Both the hotel accommodation price and the superb restaurant prices are in-line with any other offer in the area – even though there really is very little competition here.

John Stape (character) of Coronation Street mentioned this hotel by name as a “beautiful place” and he wasn’t wrong. If you’re reading this trying to weigh the balance in favour of making a decision to stay here, then watch the scales drop heavily to the “yes” side! Don’t waste anymore time! Book it, live it, enjoy it and create a memory you’ll never forget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto my Team .

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing