We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We were climbing Ben Nevis during the day and wanted a really special hotel around Fort William to rest out weary feet on our return. I looked at many hotels but decided on this one thanks to the reviews on trip advisor.
The hotel was just what we were looking for - a really beautiful hotel, with fab views, genuine staff eager to help, truly excellent food (could not fault it), the hotel had a calm and tranquil feel, and it had 5 star appeal without the airs or graces.
We had the Lochy suite which presented lovely views, and although the carpet needed a bit of a refit, it was clean, comfortable and the large bath was just what we needed for our achy legs!!
would definately come back and stay for longer

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto my Team.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

We arrived a wee bit early but that was not a bother for the staff. Once we were settled in to our room (with a wonderful view of Loch Lochy) we decided to explore the hotel grounds.
The gardens are laid out really well and the hotel has a private beach from which you are allowed to fish. The jewel in the crown is the deck from which there are splendid views of the loch and the mountains which yopu can enjoy while supping an ice cold beer.
The meal was excellent and the only small spoiler was the residents lounge did not have a bar. This meant we had to go back to the restaurant every time we wanted a drink. This only fault did not spoil our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto my Team.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We arrived at the Letterfinlay Lodge with our 2 best friends on Tuesday Afternoon 21st June for a 3 night stay. From the moment we arrived until we left, we were made to feel like Kings and Queens. Our greeting was friendly and the most friendly and accommodating staff waited us on.
The rooms were lovely. The service was excellent. The food was just amazing and the hotel and outlook was a dream.
Top marks to Donald and his staff for making our holiday perfect.
We can't wait to go back.
We are going to book back into the Lodge for the New Year celebrations. Unfortunately it won't be 2011-2012 because we have other arrangements.
I can thoroughly recommend the Letterfinlay Lodge to anybody who wants an enjoyable, relaxing, scenic, holiday or break.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulRoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto my Team.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Nice surroundings, lovely room first class food and service will be back.
Very attentive friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddy156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto my Team.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This hotel is all round FANTASTIC. Setting: overlooking the loch; staff: friendly and hellpful; food: out of this world; accommodation: very comfortable and clean, only downside was our room didn't look over the loch, would pay extra for the priviledge next visit.

Room Tip: if available choose room overlooking loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BessyB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto my Team.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

welcoming, smiling , helpful staff. Lovely large,rooms. situated in perfect location .wonderful views. Great food. don't miss this one its a gem !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kunepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments onto my Team.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hotel is located right on the banks of loch Lochy and offers up some AMAZING views and provides the ideal atmosphere to relax.

However, the hotel itself lacks the hospitality to make it a warm getaway. There seemed to be only 1 person attending to absolutely everything and you could tell that she was very very stressed. The rooms themselves were quite basic (lots of Ikea furniture) but comfortable enough. The breakfast was okay - nothing to write home about.

We had to wait a good 15-20 minutes for anyone to come around to the front desk so we could pick up our room keys. Not fun when you're soaked! It would have made our stay there better if the poor lady had some help!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reva28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldAllan, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you had the experience of our Hotel being short staffed. This is not a normal occurrence but we had staff call in sick at extremely short notice. As you will see from our other Trip Advisor reviews this is not a normal occurrence as we normally have a full compliment of staff.

In relation to our furniture being from ikea, I can assure you that this is not the case as we do not by any of our furniture from ikea. In hope to save some money I checked the ikea website and could not find any of our furniture.

We would be delighted if you were to come back and give us another chance with our normal full compliment of excellent Staff.

Best regards

Donald Allan

PS:- You should think about coming back for New Year, it will be an excellent night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
197 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
745 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
492 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
620 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing